Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 10:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Black screen: Asus nvida card
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
moogman

Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2005, 21:59    Post_subject:  Black screen: Asus nvida card  

I just tried Puppy for the first time and everything went great without any interaction from me while it loaded. However after it has loaded I have no picture on the monitor, it is just black. I have a Asus nvida card in my computer. How do I try to fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2005, 22:26    Post_subject:  

Hi,

Nvidia-cards do not support the Vesa-modes properly.

Try this:
Exit X with CTRL-ALT-BACKSPACE.

Edit the resolution:
mp /etc/videomode

enter this line (delete the old line)
0x0117 1024x768x16

Now try to start X with the comand "xwin".

If it still fails, you might have to install another Xserver with the free Nvidia-driver:
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=2303

The message describes too, how to do it on the comandline.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
moogman

Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2005, 23:38    Post_subject:  

How do I do that since the disk is booting up on its on?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2005, 23:56    Post_subject:  

I don't understand what you mean.
Do you mean you can't go online?

If yes, can you download the file with Windows or Linux to your harddrive?
Can you exit X in Puppy with the keys CTRL and ALT and BACKSPACE?

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
moogman

Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 07 Oct 2005, 11:34    Post_subject: video help  

MU wrote:
I don't understand what you mean.
Do you mean you can't go online?

If yes, can you download the file with Windows or Linux to your harddrive?
Can you exit X in Puppy with the keys CTRL and ALT and BACKSPACE?

Mark


No the ctrl alt and backspace does nothing it stays a black screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 07 Oct 2005, 12:29    Post_subject:  

Ok, try this:

Download this file (15 MB):
http://noforum.de/dotpups/pup001-puppy105-xorg.zip

It includes Xorg, the reboot-patch, and will not start X when Puppy boots.


Extract it to where Puppy created the "pup001"-file (this overwrites the existing one).
You will need 256 MB free space.

Then boot your computer with Puppy.

Now you will see a message "xwin" not found, and nothing happens.

Hit "CTRL-C" to see the prompt.
Type
mp /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Search for
Driver "vesa"
(at the end of the file), and replace it with
Driver "nv"

Save and exit, then type "xwin2" to start X.
If it works, you can rename xwin2 to xwin, so that X will automatically start when you boot Puppy.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
darnitall

Joined: 07 Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Location: Brandon, MB

PostPosted: Fri 07 Oct 2005, 14:11    Post_subject: Another NVIDIA card  

I'm trying to get Chubby Puppy running. I get to the desktop but the resolution is way low and the icons on the task bar are not completely built Sad . I have the following card; NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X.
Would the 'vesa' problem apply to this card too?
And would the posted solution be the cure?
Thanks, Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 07 Oct 2005, 16:08    Post_subject:  

yes, might work.

The free nvidia-driver is told to be very stable, it just has no 3D-hardware-accelleration.

You can try it: make a backup of your old pup001 (pup001.backup) and install the Xorg-server with a new pup001.

If something goes wrong, delete the new pup001, and rename pup001.backup to pup001.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
moogman

Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 07 Oct 2005, 16:50    Post_subject:  

MU wrote:
Ok, try this:

Download this file (15 MB):
http://noforum.de/dotpups/pup001-puppy105-xorg.zip

It includes Xorg, the reboot-patch, and will not start X when Puppy boots.


Extract it to where Puppy created the "pup001"-file (this overwrites the existing one).
You will need 256 MB free space.

Then boot your computer with Puppy.

Now you will see a message "xwin" not found, and nothing happens.

Hit "CTRL-C" to see the prompt.
Type
mp /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Search for
Driver "vesa"
(at the end of the file), and replace it with
Driver "nv"

Save and exit, then type "xwin2" to start X.
If it works, you can rename xwin2 to xwin, so that X will automatically start when you boot Puppy.

Mark


Mark,
I did this exactly as you said and when I type in the mp /etc/x11/xorg.conf it brings up the editer and there is nothing in there to edit. I search for vesa and nothing is there I go to end of the file and nothing is in there at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 07 Oct 2005, 16:53    Post_subject:  

mp /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Big X, Linux is case-sensitive.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
moogman

Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 07 Oct 2005, 16:54    Post_subject: video help  

Gottcha I will try it now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
moogman

Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 07 Oct 2005, 17:14    Post_subject: video help  

That worked! Thanks now however my mouse will only go up and down. Is there a way to edit the file again to select a different type of mouse?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 07 Oct 2005, 17:18    Post_subject:  

Great Smile

Yes, hit CTRL-ALT-BACKSPACE to exit X.
This should work now?
Then edit xorg.conf again in mp.

What for a mouse do you have, usb or ps2?

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
moogman

Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 07 Oct 2005, 17:24    Post_subject: mouse  

It is a logitech wireless that has wireless key board. I had to unhook the keyboard and hook up a regular one. The mouse receiver has a usb connection to computer and a cord to the mouse connector on the computer. It was seeing it but I could only move it up and down. I may have not picked that I have a scroll wheel on it as well, I do not know if that would make it do that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 07 Oct 2005, 17:36    Post_subject:  

I think, by default, I uncommented the mouse-entry, so a minimalistic driver is used.

Search for
### Identifier "Mouse1"

In this and the following lines, delete the "###" in the beginning.

This should activate a typical USB-Mouse.

Also try this:

Code:

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier   "Mouse1"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option      "Protocol"      "ImPS/2"
   Option      "ZAxisMapping"   "4 5"
   Option      "Device"         "/dev/input/mice"
EndSection



If it does not work, google for "xorg.conf logitech wireless", and try out some configurations you find.

I have a "normal" logitech (non-wireless) attached with an Cable to USB, so I can't check it.

Maybe you also have to sync the mouse again, if it is a new computer?
I think these wireless mice have a button to syncronice the receiver, and if you don't syncronize, you get the effect you described.

Or does it work on the same Computer with Windows?

Mark.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0777s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0112s) ][ GZIP on ]