Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 00:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Frostwire 4.18.5
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Wolf Pup

Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Tue 18 Mar 2008, 19:42    Post_subject:  Frostwire 4.18.5
Sub_title: P2P File Sharing
 

Note: Needs java

frostwire-4.18.5.pet
md5sum

_________________

Visit The Repository - Helpful and hard-to-find treats for Puppy 3.
Click Here for Puppy Support Chat, + Helpful Links.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bevg1971@gmail.com

Joined: 15 Jul 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jul 2008, 23:23    Post_subject: frostwire  

Hi there,


I tried to install frostwire however I am getting a list of files that are missing. e.g.
usr/lib/frostwire/libmozembed-linux-gtk1.2
ilbgtksuperwin...etc. etc.

any suggestion or instructions

thanks,

Bevg
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
hayagix

Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 10:31    Post_subject:  

Does Frostwire work? Do you have Java installed? I installed it in Dingo with no problems.

The dependancies are included in the pet but the installer often still lists them. Not to worry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Wolf Pup

Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 16:29    Post_subject:  

Install java first then frostwire, both work with puppy 3 and 4. Smile
_________________

Visit The Repository - Helpful and hard-to-find treats for Puppy 3.
Click Here for Puppy Support Chat, + Helpful Links.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Wolf Pup

Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jul 2008, 18:02    Post_subject:  

Frostwire updated to 4.17.0
_________________

Visit The Repository - Helpful and hard-to-find treats for Puppy 3.
Click Here for Puppy Support Chat, + Helpful Links.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
hayagix

Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Sat 26 Jul 2008, 11:02    Post_subject:  

Awesome!

Thankyou so much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sat 02 Aug 2008, 12:11    Post_subject:  

@bevg1971

Quote:
any suggestion or instructions


yes unregister your membership with visible gmail address!!!

re-register as made up nickname please

this [email visible] attracts spambots to the forum

Aitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
hladik

Joined: 19 Jun 2008
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Mon 25 Aug 2008, 16:00    Post_subject: Re: Frostwire 4.17.0
Sub_title: P2P File Sharing
 

Wolf Pup wrote:
Note: Needs java

frostwire-4.17.0.pet
md5sum


Does anyone have a version of Frostwire or another P2P that will run in Puppy 2.15CE? Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
blacktulipgirl


Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2008, 06:14    Post_subject:  

I installed Frostwire from this thread. Wolf Pup's frostwire-4.17.0.pet link.

Worked well for about 10 minutes... then I made the mistake of closing it lol, and tried to open it today. It didn't work.

It freezes up,I can't type anything in the search boxes to find files and won't close. I have to kill it to make it close.

I have java installed... so I know its not that...

What am I doing wrong, maybe my pc just can't handle it?

Its Acer Laptop with 256MB RAM and 40Gig HD, Puppy 4.0, EzPup, Icewm... don't know what else to let you know.

I did a search but didn't find anything about my problem.

B

_________________
"I'm shiny, Captain." Kaylee on Firefly (my fave show of all time!)

Acer Aspire 3623 Laptop w/256MB RAM, 40G HD, Atheros AR5005G Wireless, Intel Celeron M, Running Puppy 4.0 Full Install!!!

I LOVE PUPPY!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10847
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2008, 07:11    Post_subject:  

blacktulipgirl wrote:
I installed Frostwire from this thread. Wolf Pup's frostwire-4.17.0.pet link.

Worked well for about 10 minutes... then I made the mistake of closing it lol, and tried to open it today. It didn't work.

It freezes up,I can't type anything in the search boxes to find files and won't close. I have to kill it to make it close.

I have java installed... so I know its not that...

What am I doing wrong, maybe my pc just can't handle it?

Its Acer Laptop with 256MB RAM and 40Gig HD, Puppy 4.0, EzPup, Icewm... don't know what else to let you know.

I did a search but didn't find anything about my problem.

B


First thing
Uninstall it via the puppy package manager and reinstall it
does that fix it?
If not then
run it from command line, probably
frostwire
and give the error that it displays when it crashes
also which java package are you using?
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
blacktulipgirl


Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue 02 Sep 2008, 17:39    Post_subject:  

Hi sorry I'm in school right now so I couldn't answer your question sooner...



Quote:
First thing
Uninstall it via the puppy package manager and reinstall it
does that fix it?
If not then
run it from command line, probably
frostwire
and give the error that it displays when it crashes
also which java package are you using?
ttuuxxx


I actually had to reinstall puppy, because my whole pc was freezing up- also it said that almost 2 gigs of space were taken up on the hda1 where I had puppy.... which didn't seem possible, I hadn't installed much- puppy 4, ezpup, frostwire, java.

So I reinstalled and am now installing Frostwire again. The java I used was Java 1.6u7 from this link: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=27341

Was that the right Java?

Once it is installed I will let you know how it went Smile

Thanks a lot!

B

_________________
"I'm shiny, Captain." Kaylee on Firefly (my fave show of all time!)

Acer Aspire 3623 Laptop w/256MB RAM, 40G HD, Atheros AR5005G Wireless, Intel Celeron M, Running Puppy 4.0 Full Install!!!

I LOVE PUPPY!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Tue 02 Sep 2008, 20:13    Post_subject:  

blacktulipgirl,

I don't know if this is the cause of your disappearing space, but Mu did post a thread, here, where he reported that the latest firefox was eating up space.

Also, if your running from a pup_save.2fs file, it's sometimes useful to create a default download directory in /mnt/home, and also symlink /root/.mozilla to /mnt/home, so that a lot of stuff isn't saved within the pup_save.2fs file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
blacktulipgirl


Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2008, 01:17    Post_subject:  

muggins wrote:
blacktulipgirl,

I don't know if this is the cause of your disappearing space, but Mu did post a thread, here, where he reported that the latest firefox was eating up space.

Also, if your running from a pup_save.2fs file, it's sometimes useful to create a default download directory in /mnt/home, and also symlink /root/.mozilla to /mnt/home, so that a lot of stuff isn't saved within the pup_save.2fs file.


I had a feeling it was firefox, even w/o reading the thread, becaus my lappy kept freezing when I would use Firefox.. so on this install I decided to install Opera instead, which is working perfectly Smile Hopefully I will be able to access my online courses in school through it as the only list internet explorer and firefox...

But I'll cross that bridge when I come to it.

So I just wanted to answer that but have to install Frostwire right now...

Smiles, B

_________________
"I'm shiny, Captain." Kaylee on Firefly (my fave show of all time!)

Acer Aspire 3623 Laptop w/256MB RAM, 40G HD, Atheros AR5005G Wireless, Intel Celeron M, Running Puppy 4.0 Full Install!!!

I LOVE PUPPY!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10847
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2008, 01:35    Post_subject:  

If you want you can install my Firefox+flash+Java all-in-one package, Its based on series 2 which was stable and auto-updates to 2.16 . when it ask you to update to 3.0.1 just click never:)
ttuuxxx
http://www.puppylinux.ca/tpp/ttuuxxx/programs/Firefox-JRE-FL/firefox.pet
ps uninstall your other Java and Firefox first.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 336
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jan 2009, 14:11    Post_subject:  

I have Java 6 Update 11 installed but when I installed Frostwire I am told I am missing library file "libgnome-2.so.0" for "/usr/lib/frostwire/libjdic.so"
_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0846s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]