Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 27 May 2018, 17:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Macpup 2.17.1 Alpha 1
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 10 [147 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2711
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Apr 2008, 06:00    Post subject:  

prit1 wrote:
@smokey01: Wbar does magnify the icon when the cursor is over that icon. I dont know if this is what you are referring to as wave motion. Try Macpup and you can see the wbar in action. You can download Macpup (latest version) from the first post. Try the first link (sendspace.com) as this is a fast download location. I have this account for another 7 or 8 more days. The other links will keep working.


Hi prit1, I downloaded the iso from sendspace.com and it is quite fast compared to some others.

When I tried to boot off the cd it stopped when it tried to find puppy on a HDD. Why would it be looking there. It tried both menu items and both failed at the same spot.

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 538
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Sun 06 Apr 2008, 13:25    Post subject:  

@smokey01: Sorry to hear that. Has any version of Puppy worked on this PC of yours? Macpup is based on the most stable (IMHO) of Puppy (2.17.1). What is the last message that you see on the screen?

Was the md5 correct after the download? Did you check that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2711
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Apr 2008, 16:43    Post subject:  

prit1 wrote:
@smokey01: Sorry to hear that. Has any version of Puppy worked on this PC of yours? Macpup is based on the most stable (IMHO) of Puppy (2.17.1). What is the last message that you see on the screen?

Was the md5 correct after the download? Did you check that?


I only run Puppy on this machine, current version is 3.01. I have run just about every version of Puppy since about 1.09. This also includes many of the variants such as Teenpup, Dingo, Pupeee etc.

I did check the md5 and it matched.

I will take a photo of the screen and post it so you can see the exact problem and send it in a different message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2711
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Apr 2008, 16:58    Post subject:  

prit1, The screen shot as promised.
macpup.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  macpup.jpg 
Filesize  45.6 KB 
Downloaded  841 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 538
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Sun 06 Apr 2008, 17:32    Post subject:  

@smokey01: At the boot options, can you try typing pmedia=idecd (i guess you are booting from a internal cd drive)? Noone else reported such a problem. I dont have this problem on both my machines.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2711
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Mon 07 Apr 2008, 16:43    Post subject:  

prit1 wrote:
@smokey01: At the boot options, can you try typing pmedia=idecd (i guess you are booting from a internal cd drive)? Noone else reported such a problem. I dont have this problem on both my machines.


prit1, Typing pmedia=idecd did the trick.

Thanks for your help. I like it.

It does do the wave thing I mentioned. As you place the cursor over the icon the icon enlarges. It you move the mouse horizontally the icons all enlarge and look like they are forming a wave, impressive.

For a moment there I thought it automatically connected to the network card and wireless card too. I become very exited then I noticed it had loaded a previous save file.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 538
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Mon 07 Apr 2008, 17:38    Post subject:  

@smokey01: Am glad it worked for you. Maybe in my next remaster I should add the pmedia in the grub. Without this it might cause problems on some machines.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Meshica7


Joined: 30 Mar 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sat 12 Apr 2008, 19:36    Post subject:  MacPup network problem  

Hello folks!'
This is a great lookin Pup!
I was running the latest v of Puppy Linux and O love it.I am having a bit of a problem with getting online.I ran the Wizard Wizard to set-up my
eth 0 for DSL and all seemed to check out fine but I am not able to connect to the we.When I run the Wizard in Puppy Linux it works without a hitch.
Any ideas?

Thanx!

Juan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 538
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Sat 12 Apr 2008, 20:13    Post subject:  

@Meshica7: If network works in Puppy 2.17.1, it should work on Macpup also. Macpup does not change any wizards or network capabilities.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Meshica7


Joined: 30 Mar 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sun 13 Apr 2008, 14:48    Post subject:  

Well,that's what I thought would be the case.Makes sense to me!However,that is not the case.I am posting this via Puppy on my 1st partition (SimplePup works as well).If I boot up in my 2nd part or to the Macpup CD,I am not able to make a connection.I just don't get it! This also happened to me with Dreamlinux 2.2 and 3.0. Dreamlinux 2.2 connected just fine bot no go in 3.0.
I really would rather run Macpup.Dig the great looks and the Wbar.
I am clueless and befuddled!

Juan

Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 538
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Mon 14 Apr 2008, 20:02    Post subject:
Subject description: Any Puppy networking experts to help ?
 

Any Puppy networking experts to help Meshica7?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Meshica7


Joined: 30 Mar 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2008, 13:13    Post subject: Got network working on live disc,but  

OK...got the netowrk working last night so I did an install.Grub loaded fine but I now get a kernel panic when I try to boot Macpup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 538
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2008, 14:08    Post subject:  

@Meshica7: Can you please explain:
1 - What kind of install? Frugal or Full?
2 - Did you already have the grub?
3 - What is your grub entry and the directory structure?
4 - Where are the Puppy files located? Drive, Partition and Directory?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Meshica7


Joined: 30 Mar 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2008, 18:20    Post subject:  

Prit,

1. It was a "full" install.

2. Had GRUB previously but I tried an install of Debian recently and it kept hanging on the final steps so I do not know what it installed/got rid of.I had Macpup install Grub when I was prompted.

3. Here is what the Grub menu states:

Linux (on /dev/hdc1)
Linux intrid/tmp/boot/intrid.img-2.6.18-6-686 (on /dev/hdc1)
Install GRUB to floppy disc (on /dev/fd0)
Install GRUB to Linux partition (on /dev/hdc1)


4. How do I find out where the Puppy file locations are? I am kinda new to Linux!

Here is the text I get after I try to boot with GRUB

Booting Linux (on /dev/hdc1)

root (hd0,0)
Filsystem typ is ext2fs,partition type 0x03
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hdc1 ro vga=normal
[Linux-bxImage, setup=0x1c00, size=0x1af0c8]

Uncompressing Linux...Ok, booting the kernel.
init:applet not found
Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!
_



Hope that gives ya a clue as to what I did wrong.Thanx for your help!

Juan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 538
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2008, 19:09    Post subject:  

Can you boot using a livecd and get the contents of your grub menu.lst file. This must be located in the /boot/grub directory in the partition where you installed your grub in.

When you get this info, can you please post it here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 10 [147 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0654s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0232s) ][ GZIP on ]