Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Jul 2014, 06:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
[Howto] Install Opera (FLASH works!!!)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
Th3_uN1Qu3

Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 142
Location: Bucharest, Romania

PostPosted: Tue 04 Mar 2008, 15:07    Post subject:  [Howto] Install Opera (FLASH works!!!)
Subject description: Simple as 1 2 3!
 

The Opera PET package is outdated, not to mention that the Flash player doesn't work. Here's how to install the latest version enjoying all the new functions such as Speed Dial (a thing i can't live without), and Flash functionality out of the box.

First step: Download this package (direct link for your convenience). Updated to 9.51!

Second step: Navigate to the directory you saved the package in, and unpack it with pupzip or with " tar -xvzf opera-9.51-2061.gcc4-static-qt3.i386.tar.gz " (long-ass name, i know, but blaim Opera Software for that). Then change into the newly created folder with " cd opera-9.51-2061.gcc4-static-qt3.i386 ".

Third step: Run the Opera installer by typing " ./install.sh ", and confirm any selections with " y ".

All done. You can find the script for running Opera in " /usr/bin " (enable viewing of all files in ROX to get there or just use the command line). From here on you know what to do. Wink

The default fonts are kinda small and ugly, i'll mess around with them and post back when i get something nice.

Happy browsing! Very Happy

_________________
Toshi Portege 4010 | PIII Tualatin 933MHz | 512MB RAM | Cyberblade 16MB | 30GB | WiFi, IrDA | ~5 hrs runtime | WinMe Sad |



Last edited by Th3_uN1Qu3 on Sun 27 Jul 2008, 07:11; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
106498

Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 250
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Sat 29 Mar 2008, 01:55    Post subject:  

Of course pressing <tab> saves you having to type the whole long name. If you're lazy like me Smile
_________________
An expert is just a beginner with experience.
Shamelessly representing TdeM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 29 Mar 2008, 13:56    Post subject:  

Please read here how to get nice fonts in the menu using the version for shared libraries:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=27637

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
6tr6tr

Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jun 2008, 14:18    Post subject:  

I've never installed opera on Puppy before, so I have some questions:

Can I download Opera 9.5 and make it work?
Do I still need those extra steps?
Which version of 9.5 do I download? (It asks you to choose a distribution like Debian, Ubuntu, etc)
* Do I choose "other/static rpm"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
6tr6tr

Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jun 2008, 14:44    Post subject:  

OK, I got it to install by choosing "other/static rpm" and selecting "donwload as a tar.gz format." Then I ran "./install.sh". There's only one small problem:

It said towards the end that it was unable to do part of the install because a folder in usr/share did not exist. I tried reinstalling as super user and this made no difference. I can run Opera fine but in the menu (e.g. File, Edit, View, etc) items, there are open square symbols after some of the items (like after Bookmarks->Bookmark Page). Any idea what's causing this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kayan


Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Posts: 90
Location: India

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2008, 15:07    Post subject: opera 9.5 pet  

you can download the new opera.pet here
http://puppylinux.ca/tpp/bugs/opera-9.50.pet Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Polish Rifle

Joined: 19 Jul 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2008, 02:17    Post subject:  

I downloaded the Opera from that website and the flash still didn't work...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Polish Rifle

Joined: 19 Jul 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2008, 15:19    Post subject:  

Sorry for the double post.

After I restarted my computer serveral times since yesterday, Flash started working magically. I hate accepting this theory but I don't know what changed. I clicked on a youtube link forgetting that my flash didn't work but then the video started playing.

My recommendation....just download Opera 9.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
KF6SNJ

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 698
Location: Distressed States of Amerika

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jul 2008, 15:35    Post subject:  

I have been using opera on linux for years. I have always downloaded and installed from the tar.gz file. I have never had a problem with flash not working either and I did not need to install the Puppy QT library (maybe I will eventually install it, just not today). I am presently using Opera 9.51 as my primary web browser. It works and works perfectly.
_________________
The only windows I have are those on my home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
106498

Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 250
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Sat 26 Jul 2008, 20:56    Post subject:  

When I made my own .PET by doing new2dir ./install and installed that on my full hard drive install the qt menus (I think) look funny. When I hover over menu items in the File menu (Eg File | Sessions) it doesn't turn blue and the submenu isn't opened untill I click on it. Very annoying.
_________________
An expert is just a beginner with experience.
Shamelessly representing TdeM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
106498

Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 250
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jul 2008, 04:52    Post subject:  

Changing qt version fixed it Smile

While searching for my little qt problem I found out some new info and have made a new .PET package for opera. Why? Because this one has static qt libraries which means there is no need to install qt!! The one available from PETget has dynamic libraries which is why you need to install qt seperately. This is probably what KF6SNJ has.

Available at http://tdem.net63.net/files

_________________
An expert is just a beginner with experience.
Shamelessly representing TdeM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Th3_uN1Qu3

Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 142
Location: Bucharest, Romania

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jul 2008, 07:12    Post subject:  

I'm back! Updated to 9.51, and indeed, you do not need QT, it's already installed in Puppy. Also fonts seem to be prettier in this version. Smile
_________________
Toshi Portege 4010 | PIII Tualatin 933MHz | 512MB RAM | Cyberblade 16MB | 30GB | WiFi, IrDA | ~5 hrs runtime | WinMe Sad |


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyuser99

Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jul 2008, 12:50    Post subject: warnings, etc
Subject description: OPERA 9.51
 

I also get the same as 6tr6tr:
cp: cannot stat `usr/share/opera/pixmaps/opera.xpm': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `usr/share/opera/pixmaps/opera.xpm': No such file or directory
and when I run OPERA 9.51 it givs me warnings like:
Flash Player: Warning: environment variable G_FILENAME_ENCODING is set and is not UTF-8
plugins:
opera: Plug-in 8327 is not responding. It will be closed.
opera: Define environment variable OPERA_KEEP_BLOCKED_PLUGIN to keep blocked plug-ins.
etc.......
Anyone have a clean working OPERA?

BTW, after 10 mins it closes itself....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
106498

Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 250
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jul 2008, 21:11    Post subject:  

Well I have used http://tdem.net63.net/files/opera-9.51-static-qt3.pet And never had any problems on Dingo. Also you do not need qt installed. The only error messages are
ERROR: ld.so: object 'libjvm.so' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded: ignored.
ERROR: ld.so: object 'libawt.so' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded: ignored.
which are ofcourse because puppy has no java.

Oh by the way if you get it from the opera website get the slackware 12 package, not the one you got. Remember puppy is slackware 12 compatible.

_________________
An expert is just a beginner with experience.
Shamelessly representing TdeM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
renlac

Joined: 19 Oct 2008
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Wed 17 Dec 2008, 21:42    Post subject:  

Please, after having installed opera, how to call it? I see no icon or menu entry even after reload puppy. I understood there is come line command, but which one? No way for an icon or entry?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0720s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]