Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Dec 2014, 21:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Security/Privacy
Truecrypt 6.3a and Truecrypt 4.3a
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
Wolf Pup

Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Sat 20 Sep 2008, 14:43    Post_subject:  

Truecrypt updated to 6.0a.
_________________

Visit The Repository - Helpful and hard-to-find treats for Puppy 3.
Click Here for Puppy Support Chat, + Helpful Links.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Wolf Pup

Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Sat 31 Jan 2009, 03:30    Post_subject:  

Truecrypt updated to 6.1a
_________________

Visit The Repository - Helpful and hard-to-find treats for Puppy 3.
Click Here for Puppy Support Chat, + Helpful Links.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puplix

Joined: 29 Sep 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2009, 18:49    Post_subject: truecrypterror: no such file or directory  

hello Wolf Pup (or so else),
maybe you have a solution for my prob. I installed truecrypt 6.1a and created a volume successfully. Then when i tried to mount this volume i got the message:
Quote:
no such file or directory: dmsetup

btw: I work with puppy 4.1

thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
colintl

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 04:53    Post_subject: no such file or directory: dmsetup  

hello puplix
I have been using Truecrypt for a number of years and when I upgraded to the latest version (6.1a) I got the same problem as you did. However was able to find a solution that was submitted to the forum (but can't find it again!).
The solution was to run Truecrypt; click Settings; Preferences; System Integration; then click the box in Kernel Services ("do not use kernel cryptographic services").
This worked for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puplix

Joined: 29 Sep 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 07:48    Post_subject:  

@ colintl
Thank you for your tip. I did as you told so it helps me to go 1 step further to a probably solution.

Perhaps now it mounts the volume. I'm not sure because at the same time while it mounts i got a new error message:

Quote:
no such file or directory: nautilus


After clicking the OK button of the error message the error message disappears so now I can see the "mounted" volume in the truecrypt window. A dobble click at the highlighted volume in the truecrypt windows brings the above told error message again. I made a screenshot that shows you the situation.

Any further idea or suggestion?
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   72.31 KB
 Viewed   3764 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
colintl

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2009, 22:55    Post_subject: no such file or directory: nautilus  

@ puplix

If I doubleclick my mounted volumes in the truecrypt window I too get the same popup message as you do ... but as far as I know, to use your "datasafe" volume you just use a file manager (such as rox, thunar, xfe, ...) to view contents (I expect it to be empty) and from then on, start saving/moving your selected files to this mounted volume - treating it as a normal directory but which one can encrypt/decrypt at will.

Hope this helps

Colin
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puplix

Joined: 29 Sep 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri 13 Feb 2009, 20:41    Post_subject: @colin  

Thank you for your last reply.. I could't response earlier because I was out for work. Now I have a little bit more time ...

I tried to do everyting that you told me in your last postings Now, the only thing I could't do is to open the successful created volume. Using the filemanager I tried to open the before created volume and I got the following error:

No run actionNo run action specified for files of this type (application/octet-stream) - you can set a run action by choosing `Set Run Action' from the File menu, or you can just drag the file to an application. specified for files of this type (application/octet-stream) - you can set a run action by choosing `Set Run Action' from the File menu, or you can just drag the file to an application.

Then I tried to put an normal text file in that volume by drag and drop but this also failed. At least I made a double click on the highlighted row in the truecrypt window (the mounted file) but I got annother error message:

No such file or directory:
nautilus

So maybe you have annother idea?

Thank you for reading and your comment.
Bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
colintl

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 14 Feb 2009, 05:23    Post_subject: @puplix  

In Windows, Truecrypt mounts the created file to any drive of your choice; and so to view the decrypted volume you view that particular drive.
In Linux, Truecrypt usually mounts your volume to the first available 'drive/directory', which in your case (as you can see in the Truecrypt window) the "Mount Directory" is "/mnt/truecrypt1".
Thus to view; use the filemanager to go to the top folder, click on "mnt", then you should see sub folders such as cdrom, data, flash, home, swap etc as well as truecrypt1. Clicking on truecrypt1 would show an empty folder to which you can copy/move files to.
That's my understanding of how it works...
Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puplix

Joined: 29 Sep 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sat 14 Feb 2009, 18:08    Post_subject: @colintl  

hi colin,
thank you very much for your always quick response. Your last posting brings me the solution to my problem. (Very easy when you know how to) Smile
bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
fred12345

Joined: 06 Jan 2009
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 17:51    Post_subject:
Sub_title: error message
 

Just installed the .pet Truecrypt and tried to create a volume & got this when I tried to format it:


No such file or directory:
dmsetup
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Turpin


Joined: 16 May 2007
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Wed 04 Mar 2009, 19:03    Post_subject:  no such file or directory dmsetup HOMER ANGRY!!!  

Edited this post to reflect what I just learned. Firstly and foremostly, thanks so much for posting this pet.
Running Puppy Barebones 4.12 on USB flash using the Truecrypt 6.1a pet package above. When I manually tell the gui what volume, click ok etc., it does fine. It should be noted that when I didn't make the above mentioned change, the gui also was having the "dmsetup" message and after telling truecrypt not to use the OS cryptographic innards, it did fine.
But running truecrypt at the command line, (example: truecrypt --mount /root/tcvolume) telling it to mount the same volume on the same folder I mounted it on in the gui (after unmounting it first) , I get the "no such file or directory, dmsetup" What's going on here? I so don't want to have to guide the gui to the right volume and folder every time. I guess this means the command line doesn't follow the rules of the gui, so how do we set that option at the command line?

As usual, I make a huge long-ars post and then find my answer was just a couple thoughts and googles away. Not only that, it was staring me in the face when I was running truecrypt --help . I'm so embarrassed. The setting at the command line is -m nokernelcrypto , so in my above example it's truecrypt -m nokernelcrypto --mount /root/tcvolume . This problem is thoroughly solved folks! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppytbot

Joined: 22 Mar 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2009, 05:50    Post_subject: how to download? user/pw?  

Hi everyone,

it may sound pretty dumb, but... tried to download the .pet but have no idea how to do it? puppyasia asks me for a user/pw and I have no idea which one to use.

I hope someone can help me out.

Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Wolf Pup

Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 13:11    Post_subject: Re: how to download? user/pw?  

puppytbot wrote:
Hi everyone,

it may sound pretty dumb, but... tried to download the .pet but have no idea how to do it? puppyasia asks me for a user/pw and I have no idea which one to use.

I hope someone can help me out.

Thanks in advance


username: puppy
password: linux

_________________

Visit The Repository - Helpful and hard-to-find treats for Puppy 3.
Click Here for Puppy Support Chat, + Helpful Links.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Turpin


Joined: 16 May 2007
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Tue 12 May 2009, 21:55    Post_subject:  

Oh, my problems with Truecrypt have returned it seems.. Okay, I explained above that -m nokernelcrypto had to be added to the command line. Okay, now I've been using that in all my bash scripts that call on truecrypt. BUT, now I have the old "no such file or directory" AGAIN, whenever I try to mount a pre-boot authentication volume.
Update: (before I even finished typing the problem out!) GRRRRRR!!!! I'm angry that this isn't documented, but happy I figured it out. Despite all the manuals I read on the subject which gave outdated information, HERE is the correct syntax for combining mount options on the command line. You have to use "truecrypt -m system,nokernelcrypto,[whatever other mount options you may need] [source file or device] [mount point]"
That's it! That's what I've been racking my brain about for hours! A %#^^%& comma! Yet according to everything I could find on Truecrypt's site, the only ways to have multiple options were to have "--mount-options=[mount option]|[second mount option]" or simply "-m [first mount option] -m [second mount option]", yet NEITHER OF THOSE WORKS. Documentation, folks! Where the @#@# is it? This is aimed at the people at Truecrypt and I should mention that my appreciation for the great free product far exceeds my anger that some documentation is missing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
yxtbi

Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2009, 05:04    Post_subject:  

hello ! this truecrypt 6.1a package works, but i have very short filenames in my puppy 3.01. like "test˜1.mp3 , if i mount the same under windows or puppys 4.0 4.1 4.2- all ok!
the filesystem is VFAT-Fat32

what i do wrong?

thx for answers
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Security/Privacy
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0818s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]