Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 08:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How (not) to set the time and date :)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [31 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2005, 20:20    Post subject:  How (not) to set the time and date :)  

Ok, just when through regular daylight savings changeover and realised there wasn't an easy way to change the computers clock...

open up a start -> Run -> RXVT terminal emulator

type in to look like this:

# date --s "12:50:00 2005/10/3"

change the numbers to suit you, 12:50pm, 3rd day of October 2005.

Note that if you change the time to a "future time" you may activate the screen saver, just wiggle the mouse.

Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Mon 03 Oct 2005, 19:13    Post subject:  

that actually didn't work so well, when I rebooted the change went away, so I changed the time in bios...

Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 03 Oct 2005, 22:48    Post subject:  

Doesn't "Control panel -> Set date and time" do it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
hyper


Joined: 07 Nov 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon 07 Nov 2005, 15:00    Post subject: bad time  

Set time zone doesnt work for me , doesnt change anything Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2005, 19:59    Post subject:  

I'n not really sure how to do this but couldn't we set up puppy to get the time from an ntp server?
Back to top
dewdrop


Joined: 29 Aug 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Texas USA

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2005, 22:12    Post subject: Set Time and Date - This one works  

Hi Barry and Jesse.

There is a dotpup that seems to work with the my machine at least....but, even though it is a dotpup, it is not listed on either dotpup page (GuessToo or Other Contributors). I think it is from MU (forum name).

The name it is listed under on the Forum is: set-time-for-puppy.pup - in the additional software thread....I wished I knew how to set a trail to it from this thread, but that is beyond me at the moment.

I think providing this one as a program ready to run from the START menu would be a plus.

dewdrop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2005, 22:16    Post subject:  

it is in the start-menue:
start - control panel - set date and time

For a ntp-alternative see next post from G2.
Mark

Last edited by MU on Mon 14 Nov 2005, 22:24; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2005, 22:18    Post subject:  

Quote:
couldn't we set up puppy to get the time from an ntp server?


you could use the Set Clock from the Internet dotpup package from my dotpups page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dewdrop


Joined: 29 Aug 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Texas USA

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2005, 23:55    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
it is in the start-menue:
start - control panel - set date and time

For a ntp-alternative see next post from G2.
Mark


Hi,

Once I had downloaded this dotpup and installed it, and rebooted the computer it showed up on the START menu in an area labelled DOTPUPS....it is the only one listed there.....see the attached "printscreen".

As far as the alternative from G2, that program was not as easy to manipulate - set time/date - as this one....IMHO

dewdrop

EDIT - after reading MU's post - the one after this post, I went to the START menu and did find the program under CONTROL PANEL - set date and time..as Barry stated earlier..... so my face is red from embarrassment...Smile BTW, I am using Puppy 1.0.6, so yes, it is included in the latest version of Puppy.

dewdrop
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   43.54 KB
 Viewed   2663 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg


Last edited by dewdrop on Tue 15 Nov 2005, 00:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2005, 00:02    Post subject:  

I released it as a dotpup first, but since Puppy 1.0.5 or 1.0.6 it should be in the control-panel.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2005, 02:40    Post subject:  

Quote:
As far as the alternative from G2, that program was not as easy to manipulate - set time/date - as this one....IMHO


i'm not sure if you mean my program is easier or harder to use

i can't imagine how my program could be much easier to use

basically, you click the Set Hardware Clock button ... see picture

the time zone must be configured properly first ... there's a convenient button to run the Time Zone Wizard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dewdrop


Joined: 29 Aug 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Texas USA

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2005, 09:50    Post subject: set time how (not) to  

Quote:

i'm not sure if you mean my program is easier or harder to use


Hi G2.

I was trying to say that I felt that MU's set time program was easier to use than yours - with my particular mix of knowledge of Linux, Puppy, computers in general, and my mix of hardware.

However, I know that Puppy is experimental, and from just a short time looking at the various topics on the Forum, it is very apparent that not all programs work on all of the various hardware setups. So, the variety of answers to solve the same kind of challanges are always welcome in Puppy. Your set time program is one of those "many ways" to answer the same challange.

In the States, I had my HP printer working, thanks to Rarsa, and somehow I was able to get the sound to work too. Here, with a new machine, and a different brand of printer (a Canon 1000 - which is listed as one of those that are supported by Puppy - and why it doesn't work is a mystery to me), I have neither a printer nor sound --- yet!!

I am continuing to experiment with the printer and the sound, and I fully expect to get both working again - with the help from the Forum and my own experimentation.

dewdrop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2005, 23:08    Post subject:  

Quote:
apparent that not all programs work on all of the various hardware setups


hwclock, that my Clock Setting program uses, definitely does not work with all hardware ... see Puppy's hwclock documentation
file:///usr/share/doc/hwclock.htm

running a clock setting program on some machines might even cause it to crash, or corrupt the clock and/or bios settings ... this is partly why i included the Set System Time button ... so you could safely experiment without affecting the clock chip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pupjer

Joined: 04 Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat 13 May 2006, 22:11    Post subject:  

Nothing works for me, I can't use internat time, nor can I set the time using the START, CONTROL PANEL, SET TIME thingi. When I use interent time it says that the time has NOT been changed, and the same for the Tiime zone. HELP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dewdrop


Joined: 29 Aug 2005
Posts: 298
Location: Texas USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 May 2006, 22:29    Post subject: set puppy time  

Pupjer wrote:
Nothing works for me, I can't use internat time, nor can I set the time using the START, CONTROL PANEL, SET TIME thingi. When I use interent time it says that the time has NOT been changed, and the same for the Tiime zone. HELP


Hi Pupjer,

This might sound odd, but as a suggestion, have you tried using a different window manager and using the various set time programs? If you are in JWM, try ICEwm, and vis-a-versa.

I'm sure you've figured out by now, Puppy is an experimenter's heaven.....some things work for a lot of people, some things work for very few, so the word of the day is: experiment until you find what works for you, then tell everyone on the Forum, at least what works for you... Razz

dewdrop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [31 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0777s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]