SFS-Combiner - merge some squashfs addons

Stuff that has yet to be sorted into a category.
Message
Author
charnisingh
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 11:58

SFS-Combiner

#31 Post by charnisingh »

MU,

please find herewith the problem with SFS-Combiner when tested in

puppy 4 beta 2. please if you could find a solution for that.

thanks and regards.

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#32 Post by MU »

what do you get, if you type:
echo $LANG
?

/usr/local/SFS-Combiner/SFS-Combiner
should look like this:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

mo=SFS-Combiner.mo

HERE=`getdir "$0"`
cd "$HERE"
HERE=`pwd`
cd "$HERE"

lng=`echo $LANG | sed "s/\(..\).*/\1/"`

#echo $lng

if [ -f "/usr/share/locale/en/LC_MESSAGES/$mo" ];then
	export ENMO="/usr/share/locale/en/LC_MESSAGES/$mo" "/tmp/en-$mo"
else
	export ENMO="$HERE/FILESYSTEM/usr/share/locale/en/LC_MESSAGES/$mo"
fi

if [ -f "/usr/share/locale/$lng/LC_MESSAGES/$mo" ];then
	export INTMO="/usr/share/locale/$lng/LC_MESSAGES/$mo"
else
	export INTMO="$HERE/FILESYSTEM/usr/share/locale/$lng/LC_MESSAGES/$mo"
fi



./SFS-Combiner.gtb "$@"
There is one wrong line in it, but it usually can be ignored:

Code: Select all

	export ENMO="/usr/share/locale/en/LC_MESSAGES/$mo" "/tmp/en-$mo"


should be:

Code: Select all

	export ENMO="/usr/share/locale/en/LC_MESSAGES/$mo"
Mark
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=173456#173456]my recommended links[/url]

charnisingh
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 11:58

SFS-Combiner

#33 Post by charnisingh »

MU,

correcting one line-line 15 did not help .

what about line 23 and line 24.

should i understand it would not work in puppy 4 beta 2.

in that case would there be a SFS-Combiner for puppy 4.

thanks and regards.

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#34 Post by MU »

please copy&paste this in a consolewindow.
Select it with the mouse, then paste it by clicking with the middle mousebutton.

Code: Select all

lng=`echo $LANG | sed "s/\(..\).*/\1/"` 
Then press enter.
What result do you get?

My code has no missing "
So I suspect, that the $lng variable contains something strange in Dingo.
For this reason you need to test that.

I currently do not run Dingo, I bugfix/update stuff in 301.
Mark
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=173456#173456]my recommended links[/url]

charnisingh
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 11:58

SFS-Combiner

#35 Post by charnisingh »

MU,

sorry i have left button and right buttons my middle one for scrolling , i tried but could not post as no menu comes up when i try to paste in console.

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#36 Post by MU »

you also can type it by hand ;)
Mark
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=173456#173456]my recommended links[/url]

charnisingh
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 11:58

SFS-Combiner

#37 Post by charnisingh »

MU,

did type in console and enter but no response .

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#38 Post by MU »

oh, and after you typed it, type:

Code: Select all

echo $lng
Mark
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=173456#173456]my recommended links[/url]

charnisingh
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 11:58

SFS-Combiner

#39 Post by charnisingh »

MU,

sorry no result, may be, my typing of signs and letters is not correct.

sorry for the trouble.

thanks and regards.
Last edited by charnisingh on Thu 24 Apr 2008, 10:19, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#40 Post by MU »

no problem, thanks for pointing out, that it does not work.
Maybe I have time after some sleep to install Dingo.
Mark
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=173456#173456]my recommended links[/url]

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#41 Post by MU »

I installed now this in a fresh Puppy 400beta2:
http://dotpups.de/puppy3/dotpups/Progra ... ic-003.pup
http://dotpups.de/puppy3/dotpups/System ... mbiner.pup

As I had no internet to install the dotpup-handler, I copied the extracted files from Muppy.

SFS-Combiner starts without problem.
Please type in a consolwindow:
echo $LANG
and post the result here.

I just can think of, that you have a language setting, where something goes wrong.

Mark
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=173456#173456]my recommended links[/url]

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#42 Post by MU »

Here is a dotpet for Dingo with both, SFS-Combiner and Gtkbasic:
http://puppyfiles.ca/dotpupsde/puppy4/d ... sic003.pet
mirror:
http://dotpups.de/puppy4/dotpups/System ... sic003.pet

Mark
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=173456#173456]my recommended links[/url]

charnisingh
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 11:58

SFS-Combiner

#43 Post by charnisingh »

Mark, i downloaded SFS-Combiner for dingo 4 beta 2 and installed and it works to the extent that when clicked on the shortcut it starts but after result
is no good

1. it does not show any pre-mounted drives when clicked on the down pointig arrow for selecting drive for temporary use.

2. after adding sfs files for making a new sfs and clicking on the make bar it simply shuts down without any message or so.

echo $LANG result shows ...en us, so there is no problem of language setting.

thanks and regards.

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#44 Post by MU »

1.) you must have a drive with a LINUX filesystem.
Windows drives do not work.
Do you have one?
I just tried it, and it works fine with my external USB-Harddisk.

If you do not want to create a Linux-partition, try to format a USB-Stick with a Linux filesystem.
Use gparted or the comandline to do that.

This will do it for sda1 (WARNING: all files on that drives are DELETED!)
mkfs.ext3 /dev/sda1

2.) without a valid drive the program exits.

Mark
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=173456#173456]my recommended links[/url]

charnisingh
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 11:58

SFS-Combiner

#45 Post by charnisingh »

Mark,

it is a beauty , luckily i had a spare linux drive of 3GB , when mountd that it showed in the bar and after that everything works very smoothly and i have a new sfs file combining:

1. openoffice 2,20

2. pgs

3. mozilla firefox 3beta +flash +java (all latest)

all total of 210 mb. SFS

thanks for your labour.

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#46 Post by MU »

great, my congratulations :)

Many thanks for not giving up quickly.
Now with your help, we have found an easy to use solution 8)

Mark
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=173456#173456]my recommended links[/url]

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#47 Post by sunburnt »

MU; The GUI I made used directories, partitions, or SFS & image files for sources.
It would be easy to add this to your GUI... I'll post a pix of my GUI.

Also, mksquashfs can handle multiple sources, so there's no need to copy
temp. files to a Linux partition or an image file, this is how mine worked.

Let me know what you think.
PS; It's good to hear from you too, I've had personal stuff to do for awhile.
Attachments
mksfs_gui.png
Simple, the [Add source to list] button opened a file browser.
It would check if image or SFS files were mounted & mount them if not.
(16.5 KiB) Downloaded 2315 times

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#48 Post by MU »

looks good, was it working already?
We had to find the code again buried in the forum...

It would be an advantage to use no temp-folders, so even people without Linux-partitions could use it.

Mark
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=173456#173456]my recommended links[/url]

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#49 Post by sunburnt »

I can't remember just what it's condition was, it's been a year or so.
I'll take a look at it tomorrow, I seem to recall there was a top dir. problem.

This apps. an important part of a no union & small main SFS file Puppy setup.
Instead of a normal package install, it's installed into a new main SFS file.
So there's no Save file needed unless Linux files are handled on a FAT fs.
As always... Puppy needs more loop devices, 16 would be good, 32 maybe?

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#50 Post by MU »

here is a small tool to add PETs to a SFS:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 076#198076

Mark
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=173456#173456]my recommended links[/url]

Post Reply