Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 18:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
3.01 hd install: mircophone works the speakers but not Skype
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
Djof

Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 124
Location: Riki,QC,Canada

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 20:30    Post subject:  3.01 hd install: mircophone works the speakers but not Skype  

Hi everyone.. I have a problem with my microphone... The computer seems to see it properly (If I plug it in and speak in it, I 'll hear what I say through the speakers but If I try to record something or use skype, It does not work. I use puppy 3.01 as a full hd install.. Thanks in advance !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6378
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 21:33    Post subject:  

Are you sure the microphone is selected for recording? And the recording volume isn't set to zero?
Sometimes they are connected directly to the speaker outlet, so you can hear them even if the software on the computer can't
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Djof

Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 124
Location: Riki,QC,Canada

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 21:43    Post subject:  

No I'm not... Can you tell me how I can know ? and also, what about skype? It does not work either
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 22:05    Post subject:  

I don't have any examples since I don't work with audio much. Just general ideas.

alsamixer lets you set a bunch of stuff. Push <tab> to see/set the capture volumes.

Setting the mic for recording is often part of the specific app you're using. Usually there's a dropdown box at the top that lets you choose stuff like "Microphone," "Wav output," and "Line in". Otherwise it might be in the menus somewhere.

Specific apps might also have a separate "software" volume control for it, or they might be the rude type of program that immediately alters the system volume settings.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6378
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 22:13    Post subject:  

I think if you get recording to work, skype will work, but I'm not sure.

Most recording programs (and I would have thought Skype too) have options to select the recording source and change the recording volume, but if yours doesn't:

I'm not sure what gui mixer you have, or what it can do, but you can try running xtmix from a console (I think all Puppy's have it). Select the recording input (i.e. line in or microphone etc) by clicking the circle above the picture (I can't figure out how to select the recording source in alsamixer).

Then run alsamixer in a console, press tab to get to the recording page, then you can go across and change the recording volume.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 22:31    Post subject:  

Quote:
(I can't figure out how to select the recording source in alsamixer).
In the "playback" section, go all the way to the right. On my system that shows "input source", "input source 1", and "input source 2", and lets you change what the use with up/down.

Quote:
you can try running xtmix from a console (I think all Puppy's have it)
Actually, it was replaced by zmixer somewhere during 2.xx. I think it changed again in 3.xx.
_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6378
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 22:55    Post subject:  

I know xtmix was replaced, but I think it might still actually be there as well... maybe I'm wrong.

Oh - thanks, that's how to do it. It is called "digital capture source" on mine, but I can only see the full name when it is selected - otherwise I just see "digital"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 00:21    Post subject:  

I tried running xtmix in 3.01 but it wasn't found. I don't remember if it was kept in 2.xx or not.
_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10662
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 00:42    Post subject:  

I've never found a way to adjust the microphone in Skype. It either works or it doesn't, at whatever level it feels like. Laughing The microphone in Skype is louder in some versions of Puppy than in others, and in different versions of Skype in the same version of Puppy. I think turning on the mic boost in alsamixer makes it louder in Skype, but that's the only thing I found that had any effect.. IIRC, you turn on the mic boost in alsamixer with the space bar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Djof

Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 124
Location: Riki,QC,Canada

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 10:21    Post subject:  

Here is my alsamixer setup
Alsa_screenshot1.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Alsa_screenshot1.png 
Filesize  297.06 KB 
Downloaded  206 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Djof

Joined: 01 Dec 2007
Posts: 124
Location: Riki,QC,Canada

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 10:23    Post subject:  

Puppy volume mixer
Puppuvolumixer.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Puppuvolumixer.png 
Filesize  319.68 KB 
Downloaded  213 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aliG


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 76
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 05:23    Post subject:  

Puppy 3.01 | Frugal intall on USB stick
---------
Djoff,

I had a similar problem with Skype and after much searching solved it as follows....

Open a command window and type "setvol"

You will see the gain settings for all the stages of the audio system I upped the gain on SOUND_MIXER_MIC to 100 (I think this is the same effect as the sliders in the settings above) but also had some success experimenting with

SOUND_MIXER_IGAME
SOUND_MIXER_OGAIN

There are different versions of Skype about, the 1.3 PET from here
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Internet/

The 1.4 Skype Static version here: http://skype.com/download/skype/linux/choose/
This version also has a "let skype automatically change the gain" setting - I had more success turning it OFF!

Also puppy seems to reset the setvol commands when restarted so I made a script to set them then start Skype...

Hope this helps!
Alison
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0591s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]