Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 09:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Problem detecting this ISA non PnP sound card(SOLVED)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
fernan

Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 307
Location: Buenos Aires

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 18:40    Post_subject:  Problem detecting this ISA non PnP sound card(SOLVED)
Sub_title: NewCom Inc. High Fidelity 16i(HF16i) . Picture here>>>
 

HI,

I'm trying to install PUPPY 2.16 in an Epson Action PC 5600 series.

200Mhz processor, 128 Mb ram , 1,8 Gb HD.

And a legacy ISA sound card

NewCom Inc. High Fidelity 16i(HF16i)
OPTi 82C929A: Main chip
Analog Devices AD1848KP: Codec/Mixer(WSS chip)
TL084BC: General Purpose J-FET Quad Operational Amplifier
Philips TDA1521A: 6W x2 stereo hi-fi audio power amplifier
Yamaha YMF262-M + YAC512-M: OPL3 FM chip

I've found a web site with this data and a picture of the card.
http://www.dearhoney.idv.tw/Museum/OPTi/HF16i.htm
The only difference with my card, is the chipset labeled AD1848 , that in my card is labeled AD1846. The rest of the card is exactly the same.

After running ALSA wizard, Puppy tells me to use the snd-sb8 module, and it adds the following options to modprobe.conf : irq8=5 dma8=1

But the sound doesn' t work. Just some static noise from the card.
I've tried PUPPY 2.10 with the same result.

I've tried to manually load the module snd-opti92x-ad1848 wich seems to match the chips located in my card, but I get a message telling something like "no such device".

I've also tried replacing the lines added by ALSA in modprobe.conf, replacing "snd-sb8" by "snd-opti92x-ad1848", keeping the irq and dma options, but I also get an error in /var/log/messages related to "invalid option" or "unknown option" (sorry, I don' t remember well)

Is snd-sb8 the right module for this card?

How to get the right IRQ and DMA information?

Is it another module to drive this card? How can I load it, and how to add irq and dma options (I mean, right sintaxis)

I was looking at this, but I don' t know what options are needed:
http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Matrix:Module-opti92x-ad1848
http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Matrix:Module-sb8

Thanks in advance.

Fernan.-

>> I've removed the picture according to instructions "Images -> Maximum Upload Size: 0 Bytes"
The original picture can be found in the link http://www.dearhoney.idv.tw/Museum/OPTi/HF16i.htm

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 03:20    Post_subject:  

Please resize your picture according to instructions!

Quote:
Is snd-sb8 the right module for this card?


Yes, but......
I've not had a lot of luck with old Opti nor Yamaha ISA cards.

Sometime recently, Barry tweaked one of his releases that enabled me to get genuine SB and Crystal ISA sound cards to work. I reported this, so search under my handle.
Of course, as I'm sure I reported, there are major advantages in resurrecting ISA sound cards, apart from saving landfill, in that many contained a decent OP chip sufficient to run a decent pair of hi-fi speakers in a smallish office directly without recourse to yet another power adapter or those expensive but crappy tin boxes that pass for speakers.
Get your big old hi-fi speakers from a roadside skip (if necessary, open them up, add baffle wadding and glue additional stiffening battens across the frame; reseal with a draft-proofing gasket) and ditto your SB cards - millions are discarded daily!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
fernan

Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 307
Location: Buenos Aires

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 08:37    Post_subject:  

Looking for a solution, before posting this question, I was reading your post about the advantages of ISA cards, and many others related to legacy ISA cards, but I didn't find a solution for this card.

According to your answer I will keep triyng with sb8 module.

About
Quote:
Barry tweaked one of his releases


Does it mean "last version of Puppy"? or do I need to download some patches created for this pourpose?

Anyway I'll try PUPPY 3.01 retro and post the results...

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 08:49    Post_subject:  

I can't remember which version - you'll find that when you find my comments - but it just happened without extra patching.
Where are you? Please edit your profile. There's a faint chance I've got something in the spares box, but no promises!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 10:30    Post_subject:  

Ooooo! Buenos Aires is a long way off! Shouldn't you be concentrating on the Mardi Gras Carnival?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
fernan

Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 307
Location: Buenos Aires

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 12:54    Post_subject:  

Actually in Buenos Aires there isn' t too much "Carnaval"... Brasil is better for that...

Regarding the sound card... Puppy 3.01 does the same: snd-sb8 module, but no sound out of the card... Perhaps I should try W98 and see what happens.

Anyway I could buy anther card, but the PC was a gift, and I prefere use it as it is...

I'll try also another distros, to see what happens...

regards

fernan
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 13:23    Post_subject:  

I was under the impression that Carnival stretched all the way down from New Orleans, through the Caribbean, Brasil, Argentina down to Puntas Arenas where my ancestors settled?!!
Your card will work in W98 - drivers exist. If you have problems, send me a PM and I'll email the drivers.
That word 'buy' sits uneasily for any city dweller - surely you can find plenty of scrap PCs down there? A Skt7/P1 is most likely to contain a genuine SB card. It's child's play to install it. If you're lucky, you might even find an SB128 on a PCI card.
You might find that Knoppix3, one of the major distros, or one that claims to cater for older machines with an i386 build could work. There are a lot of Opti cards out there - they were very popular; the company was taken over several years ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
fernan

Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 307
Location: Buenos Aires

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 15:49    Post_subject:  

Is it possible to use ndiswrapper and W98 drivers???

sb8 seems not to work...

What about the opti92x-ad1848 module?

Thanks

(I could swap this sound card with another W98 computer...)(but I want to learn how to make it work !!!! )
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
steevieb


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 286
Location: Poole, Dorset. UK

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 17:43    Post_subject:  

mixer channels are muted by default
what happens if you open rxvt and type
alsamixer

(arrow keys move though the options and set levels)

_________________
Slacko 5.3 scsi on Proliant server, 2x2.4ghz P4,18gb & 4x36gb scsi drives, 128mb Radeon Pci, 2gb ram, usb 2, dvd
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 07:02    Post_subject:  

steevie is right, but you'll also "learn more" by swapping stuff around!
I've just uncovered a nice SB CT4180 Vibra16 on ISA. Not sure whether we can get it down to B.A. in one piece? Perhaps the RAF can fly it down to one of those nearby islands?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 10:53    Post_subject:  

fernan,
Your sound card probably supports SoundBlaster emulation, that's why the snd-sb8 is identified as being a valid driver.
But yes, the snd-opti92x-ad1848 driver should be optimal.
Forget about alsaconf, just do the configuration manually.

First check that the snd-opti92x-ad1848 driver is accessable, because quite a few people on this forum experience problems with the zdrv file (driver collection).
Do this
Code:
rmmod snd-sb8
modprobe snd-opti92x-ad1848

If there are no errors, it means that the snd-opti92x-ad1848 driver loaded, and sound might actually work. If sound doesn't work, then the driver probably failed to set the correct IRQ and DMA values.
The next step would be to specify these settings as module options ... but we will be faced with the difficult task of finding out these values.
My first approach would be to Google for the settings, and my second approach would be to guess the settings (most ISA sound cards seem to take IRQ 5).
As a last resort you could temporarily install Windows to find these values!
But cross that bridge when you come to it. First see if the driver can be accessed, and loaded.

Oh, and you should remove (delete, or comment out) all ALSA configuration lines in /etc/modprobe.conf, because these will be configured for the snd-sb8 module.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 12:22    Post_subject:  

Just for the record (sorry about that one!), I checked out this SB / Vibra16 chip with ALSA on ISA-legacy-SB16driver using 3.02alpha on an ancient C400 board. Immediate response - no need to adjust mixer from defaults to get 'one bark'. No need to tweak anything. Wouldn't risk Dingo for all sorts of reasons, but P3.02 is OK for ISA.
Seem to remember BK(?) already telling us that ESS drivers don't work (on ESS cards, presumably) - but then ESS cards can be a pig on W9x.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 02:05    Post_subject:  

Google found this ALSA documentation relating to your card:

Module snd-opti92x-ad1848
Module for soundcards based on OPTi 82c92x and Analog Devices AD1848 chips.
Module works with OAK Mozart cards as well.
This module supports only one card, autoprobe and PnP.

port - port # for WSS chip (0x530,0xe80,0xf40,0x604)
mpu_port - port # for MPU-401 UART (0x300,0x310,0x320,0x330)
fm_port - port # for OPL3 device (0x388)
irq - IRQ # for WSS chip (5,7,9,10,11)
mpu_irq - IRQ # for MPU-401 UART (5,7,9,10)
dma1 - first DMA # for WSS chip (0,1,3)

So if it's necessary to specify options when loading your module, according to this information the command should be:
Code:
modprobe snd-opti92x-ad1848 port=0x530 irq=5 dma1=0

The midi-related options are not important.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
fernan

Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 307
Location: Buenos Aires

PostPosted: Fri 08 Feb 2008, 09:51    Post_subject:  

thanks everybody for your answers. I´m still triyng every option, even without writing here all the results.

tempestuous, I was looking at the info about opti92x module (see the first post) here:
http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Matrix:Module-opti92x-ad1848

but I didn´t know what options to load.

regarding this command line:
Quote:
So if it's necessary to specify options when loading your module, according to this information the command should be:
Code:
modprobe snd-opti92x-ad1848 port=0x530 irq=5 dma1=0

The midi-related options are not important.


Are this the options for my card, or do I need to check port and dma numbers? (I know my card uses irq5, but I´m not sure about the rest).
This is what the puppy alsa wizard detected:
Quote:
After running ALSA wizard, Puppy tells me to use the snd-sb8 module, and it adds the following options to modprobe.conf : irq8=5 dma8=1

I´ve found that adding the option isapnp=no I don´t get the message "no such device".
I will try anyway in a ram session, to have a clean puppy install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
fernan

Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 307
Location: Buenos Aires

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2008, 09:13    Post_subject:    

The card is now working !!! Thanks.

This is what i've done:

Booted puppy 3.01 retro. Installed to HD (frugal).

Reboot.

Run ALSA wizard, to see irq and dma detected by the wizard.

ALSA added this lines to modprobe.conf
Quote:
alias snd-card-0 snd-sb8
alias sound-slot-0 snd-sb8
options snd-sb8 dma8=1 irq=5


Sound didn't work.

Replaced the ALSA lines by these ones:
Quote:
alias snd-card-0 snd-opti92x-ad1848
alias sound-slot-0 snd-opti92x-ad1848
options snd-opti92x-ad1848 irq=5 dma1=1 isapnp=no


rebooted.

The sound is working Smile

I hope this can help somebody else.

Now I'm going for the modem..... (Zoltrix 33.6, ISA, non PnP, PCtel PCT288-IA chip...)

Thanks .

fernan
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0871s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]