Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 12:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
A Safepup/Thinkpad 770x sound challenge
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
pistoi0

Joined: 25 Oct 2005
Posts: 112
Location: Hartford, CT

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2008, 17:01    Post_subject:  A Safepup/Thinkpad 770x sound challenge
Sub_title: I need to remaster Safepup 2.13 to run from Live CD -- with sound on boot -- on a Thinkpad 770x.
 

I need to remaster Safepup 2.13 to run from Live CD -- with sound on boot -- on a Thinkpad 770x. I can get sound by running the Alsa sound wizard and then running X restart. However, I need to get sound running consistently on boot up. I have tried all of Tempestuous' suggestions I can find, which I have added to /etc/rc.local, not all at once of course. So far, none has worked.

I am using a custom built Pup.213fs. which I have added to periodically. It runs with the kernel parameter pfix=ram. As I result (I guess), even though I include the /etc/modprobe.conf with the settings generated by Alsa sound wizard, they change back to pre-wizard settings. /etc/rc.local is indeed faithfully saved, but without the desired effect. What to do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4779
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2008, 08:14    Post_subject: protect?  

Have you tried "chmod 444 /etc/modprobe.conf" ? (make it read-only)

I hope you removed "pfix=ram" from isolinux.cfg as this will not allow saving of changes when included. Even when using the original safepup CD, it tells you to enter "puppy pfix=" at boot time to use a save file (i.e., clear "pfix" - this is no longer needed if "pfix=ram" has been removed from isolinux.cfg).

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pistoi0

Joined: 25 Oct 2005
Posts: 112
Location: Hartford, CT

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2008, 13:17    Post_subject:  

Thanks, Raffy. I will give these a try this evening. As for the prefix=ram, it is necessary for this Thinkpad because its hard drive has a 2.15ce pup_save.2fs. Also, the TP has no CD-RW so all files are saved independently on a 128M pen drive.

Can this approach (chmod 444/etc/modprobe.conf) be used to setup and save a wireless configuration? Using the network wizard, I can get the connection all right, but I can not find my netwrork. When I run SCAN. "No networks detected" comes up." I cannot setup the network from CLI because I get the message "iwconfig: command not found"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4779
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2008, 14:18    Post_subject: read-only  

chmod 444 <space> /etc... just makes the file read-only.

tempestuous has done a good CLI guide for wireless network:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22469

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pistoi0

Joined: 25 Oct 2005
Posts: 112
Location: Hartford, CT

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2008, 00:04    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Thinkpad 770x sound is working, but wireless is stuck
 

@raffy
Thank you for the help with the Thinkpad 770x sound. It is working persistently now. Still, after visiting Tempestuous' wireless CLI posting (and your posting in that same thread for Nov. 1), I am stuck.

Apparently, Safepup has no iwconfig. I get the error message "iwconfig: command not found." That seems to be the critical command for CLI setup. Any thoughts? Safepup works flawlessly on a Dell 600M where the wireless interface is "eth1". The Thinkpad is running an r8180 based cardbus with interface "wlan0". The same card runs well on this sad old Thinkpad 770x computer under 2.15CE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4779
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2008, 01:49    Post_subject: wireless tools  

Oh, sorry, you're the first to use wireless for safepup. Please add this with the quick package installer.
_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0494s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]