Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Nov 2017, 04:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
wNOP v0.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 26 of 27 [398 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 24, 25, 26, 27 Next
Author Message
37fleetwood


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Fri 12 Sep 2008, 23:35    Post subject:  

ok, here you go, let me give a little more detail.
step one:
start up computer and go through the regular puppy stuffup to the xorg wizard.
step two:
tab down to 1440x900 24bit hit enter
step three:
always hit test! and go through that. after everything looks good it's off to the compiz fusion wizard thing.
step four:
on this one I have tried auto, I have tried manual, in manual I have tried all the available options. (do you know what a bother it is? you have to go through the whole xorg wizard thing to get back to the compiz wizard, and to get to the xorg wizard you have to start in vesa and go to the xorg wizard from xfce and start all over Rolling Eyes )
step five:
I have gone back and tried all the different resolutions and color depths and all the refresh rates in xorg hoping that one would work. (on other puppies I can get xorg working at 1440x900 24bit color and 56 refresh)
step six:
in the compiz fusion wizard I finally chose start xfce without compiz-fusion. and here I am!!

now here is what I have been getting. the setup looks good but when the desktop starts the pointer looks fine but the desktop looks scrambled like the refresh rate is wrong even though when testing the setup in the xorg wizard everything was fine. the only thing to do is to hit ctrl alt backspace and go back to the xorg wizard. when the desk top starts you can see the xfce box come and go and then you can see the icons pop on and if you right click you can see the start menu and if you go to the top the bar comes down and everything is working great it is just like when I was a kid watching playboy channel without paying for it. it's all running fine just scrambled!

right now I'm running in xorg 800x600 24bit and ran the thing you asked me too and here it is, hopefully it helps but I'm not in compiz fusion and there isn't really a crash per say. I apreciate your time and trouble helping me.
Scott Cool
wNOPdump.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  wNOPdump.tar.gz 
Filesize  12.92 KB 
Downloaded  550 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
37fleetwood


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Fri 12 Sep 2008, 23:53    Post subject:  

ok, I'm beginning to think it is something to do with the xorg, after posting the last post I tried to get xorg restarted with a more favorable resolution than 800x600 and can't get it working at all. I have other puppies that work fine with xorg but this one doesn't seem to. the next possible issue is that the monitor is hooked up via the "digital" cable (DVI) rather than the regular vga cable. would it help to do another dump running one of the other puppies with xorg running fine? let me know.
Scott Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tombh


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 422
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Sat 13 Sep 2008, 05:04    Post subject:  

Okay, I think I see the problem, and it's one that's coming up gain and again -- a bug in cfwizard that won't let you override Xorg's generic vesa driver (different from the Xvesa server). I've already promised to fix this for the next release.

To fix this for now, set up Xorg exactly as you want, then choose to "start xfce without compiz-fusion". Then find and open your xorg.conf in etc/X11

Half way through the file there is a section labelled -- Section "Device"

In that you will see a bunch of commented out options, you will need to add these 2 options,
Code:

   Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "true"
   Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"


Also in this section there will be a line that reads,
Code:
Driver      "vesa" #card0driver

It must read,
Code:
Driver      "radeon" #card0driver


Then finally at the end of the file itself or actually just before the line that reads,
Code:
#PuppyHardwareProfile=ATI_RADEON_9200AOC1902
,
add this,
Code:
Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection


Then reboot X (CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE then type xwin) and run Compiz-Fusion by typing
Code:
compiz-manager


Then if that doesn't work send me another wNOPdump.

Hope that works Smile

_________________
Colour-Memories Database
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ragaman

Joined: 14 Jan 2007
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Sat 13 Sep 2008, 06:41    Post subject: Emerald Theme Manager died  

Hi guys.

After I added some Emerald themes, Emerald Theme Manager would not start. I tried starting it using the Command Line and I got "Segmentation Fault". Is there any hope of reviving ETM? How?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tombh


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 422
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Sat 13 Sep 2008, 07:06    Post subject:  

@ragaman: What exactly was the package(s) you installed?
_________________
Colour-Memories Database
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
37fleetwood


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Sat 13 Sep 2008, 18:27    Post subject:  

Hi again,
ok I'm here again running in vesa. the problem I'm having is the xorg wizard works fine but the compiz-fusion wizard changes something. when I did as you said I got xorg working fine and then I chose the manual setup and then chose the xfce without compiz fusion and it started up exactly the same as before, the mouse pointer works fine but the desktop is scrambled. I'm going to try altering the lines you mentioned and see if I can restart x
Scott Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
37fleetwood


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Sat 13 Sep 2008, 18:48    Post subject:  

ok, for some reason, going back and trying to set up xorg through the wizard doesn't work. if you boot the computer the xorg wizard will set up correctly, if you go back to it from running in vesa it will not configure properly at any setting (always the scrambled screen). I set xorg to a setting that I know works on boot and ignored the fact that it fails the test and continued on to the compiz manager and same result as before. all this after altering the file as described. so I'm thinking first thing to address may be getting me going in xorg without compiz and then trying to get it working next. now I have a few other puppies that work fine with xorg, it's just this one. all this is running from the cd as I'm not to confident about installing it while it doesn't work yet. I have a small hard drive if that would make it easier to work on i could do an install.
thanks for your help I'm hoping you can still figure this out.
Scott Cool
P.S. am I the only one having this problem? I mean I know that this is tricky to set up with an ati card but the scrambled screen, is it common?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ragaman

Joined: 14 Jan 2007
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Sat 13 Sep 2008, 22:40    Post subject:  

I installed the following Emerald Themes:

TruGRN
Zwurgh
Glassy
italy
87898ice

Solved this by removing above themes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tombh


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 422
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Tue 16 Sep 2008, 03:36    Post subject:  

@37fleetwood:

Okay, let's try it this way round. Here's what your xorg.conf should be, the only thing you may want to change is the resolution about 7 lines from the bottom.

Code:
 base config file used in Puppy Linux.
Section "Module"

# This loads the direct rendering module needed for hardware accelerated graphics
# Needed for Compiz-Fusion to function
    Load        "dri"

# This loads the DBE extension module.

    Load        "dbe"     # Double buffer extension

# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
    SubSection  "extmod"
      Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection

# This loads the font modules
    Load        "type1"
    Load        "freetype"

# This loads the GLX module
    Load       "glx"

# This loads xtrap extension, used by xrandr
    Load       "xtrap"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Files section.  This allows default font and rgb paths to be set
# **********************************************************************

Section "Files"

# The location of the RGB database.  Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db").  There is normally
# no need to change the default.

    RgbPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/rgb"

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (which are concatenated together),
# as well as specifying multiple comma-separated entries in one FontPath
# command (or a combination of both methods)

    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Server flags section.
# **********************************************************************

Section "ServerFlags"

# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><Fn> VT switch sequence
# (where n is 1 through 12).  This allows clients to receive these key
# events.

#    Option "DontVTSwitch"

# Enables mode switching with xrandr
# There is a report that this can cause Xorg not to work on some
# video hardware, so default is commented-out...
# but i want to use it in xorgwizard so leave on...

    Option "RandR" "on"

EndSection

#everything past here is auto-generated by Puppy's Xorg Wizard...


Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option      "XkbRules" "xorg"
   Option      "XkbModel" "pc102"
   Option      "XkbLayout" "us" #xkeymap0
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "IMPS/2" #mouse0protocol
   Option       "Device" "/dev/mouse"
   #Option      "Emulate3Buttons"
   #Option      "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
   Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #scrollwheel
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   #DisplaySize     410   260   # mm
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "AOC"
   ModelName    "G19LWk"
   ### Comment all HorizSync and VertRefresh values to use DDC:
   Option       "DPMS"
   HorizSync    30.0-83.0
   VertRefresh  50.0-72
   #UseModes     "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
   EndSection
   
Section "Modes"
   Identifier "Modes0"
   #modes0modeline0
EndSection

Section "Device"
   
   Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "true"
   Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"

   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "radeon" #card0driver
   VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
   BoardName   "RV280 [Radeon 9200 SE]"
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1024×768"
    EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

#PuppyHardwareProfile=ATI_RADEON_9200AOC1902


So let's forget about Compiz-Fusion just for the moment and try and get Xorg going with DRI. You want to be booting from a fresh install, therefore the pfix=ram option at boot. You want to choose Xorg and just accept all the defaults or whatever you need to get Xorg to the desktop. Once at the desktop, replace your /etc/X11/xorg.conf and then reboot X (CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE then xwin to comeback). Now hopefully there will be no scrambling and when you type cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep dri there'll be some success message!

@ragaman: Well done. Yeah I guess some themes are just not compatible.

_________________
Colour-Memories Database
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
37fleetwood


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Tue 16 Sep 2008, 07:27    Post subject:  

here's the problem, I cant get it going in xorg at all. as soon as I get through the xorg wizard successfully, the compiz wizard thing shows up and changes something and then there is no setting in xorg that will work.
I tried pasting what you had into the xorg.conf and reboot from vesa but it came back in vesa, if i go to the xorg wizard it will rewrite what I just wrote won't it? and even if I get through that, the compiz thing will just change it again and we're back where we started. I tried starting with a clean disc of puppy 4 dingo and installed xfce4 with no problem but when I started installing and bug fixing the 3d accelleration it did the same thing we're having here. could it be that the compiz wizard thing is starting x with 3d accelleration enabled when my settings for it are wrong? and even if I try to start in xfce43 without compiz the wizard still tries for 3d accelleration? I'm just guessing but that's where it seems to go bad.
Scott Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
37fleetwood


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Tue 16 Sep 2008, 07:39    Post subject:  

ok, I went on my instincts and from the xorg wizard I deleted these lines from xorg.conf

# This loads the direct rendering module needed for hardware accelerated graphics
# Needed for Compiz-Fusion to function
Load "dri"

# This loads the DBE extension module.

Load "dbe" # Double buffer extension

I am now running in xorg at 1440x900 24bit!Laughing
so now we know the problem is the 3d accelleration so maybe you can help me from here, tell me what to do.
Scott
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jtouso

Joined: 29 May 2008
Posts: 120
Location: Barcelona, España

PostPosted: Wed 17 Sep 2008, 05:59    Post subject: New version Wnop  

"...a bug in cfwizard that won't let you override Xorg's generic vesa driver (different from the Xvesa server). I've already promised to fix this for the next release."
Yes, waiting new version but...when?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tombh


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 422
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Thu 18 Sep 2008, 08:09    Post subject:  

@Scott: Oh dear, it's tough isn't it! We'll get there though. So you tried getting DRI going in Puppy 4, if you're up for it I think you'd be better off going down that root. The How To I wrote for Compiz-Fusion in Puppy 4, is basically everything that the CFwizard tries to do automatically in wNOP, so if you can follow the How To, we'll have a lot more control over the process. We just want to be concentrating on everything before actually getting Compiz-Fusion going, therefore just getting DRI going. How does that sound?

@jtouso: How have you got on with the How To yourself?

_________________
Colour-Memories Database
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
37fleetwood


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Thu 18 Sep 2008, 08:36    Post subject:  

sounds fine but remember I'm very new to this stuff. I deleted both dri, and dbe because i wasn't sure at the time but I have since put dbe back in place without any adverse reactions. so I am agreed and have already burned Dingo and installed the ati drivers etc and installed xfce4. I also had to delete the Load "dri" now that the 3d accelleration software is in place. now to get it working. this I expect is going to be tricky since running it makes the screen impossible to read. shall I post over there or do you want to continue here?
Scott Cool
P.S. perhaps the lack of 3d acceleration compatibility is something that could be addressed in future releases of puppy as I really think you are onto something with Compiz-Fusion. it is just too cool to pass on for eye candy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tombh


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 422
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Fri 19 Sep 2008, 06:36    Post subject:  

Yeah, I agree Cf is certainly about more than eye-candy! It's rethinking the whole way we interact with a computer, and seeing as so many people spend so much time doing so much important stuff with a computer pushing the boundaries a bit must be a good thing.

Yeah let's take it over to the How To thread. My first question would be, what do you mean by "installing the ati drivers"? You don't mean the proprietary FGLRX driver do you? Because they'd almost certainly be responsible for the garbage screens you get.

_________________
Colour-Memories Database
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 26 of 27 [398 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 24, 25, 26, 27 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0741s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0103s) ][ GZIP on ]