Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 18 Nov 2017, 12:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
wNOP v0.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 25 of 27 [398 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27 Next
Author Message
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6815
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Sep 2008, 08:37    Post subject:  

tom....

Funny how you get used to what you think someone's appearance is, when you haven't got a clue....

Is that a recent shot?

Somehow, I prefer the old one

Have you got uglier? Wink Laughing

Sorry, don't take offence, my gob seems to be saying things people can't handle, lately

Barryleavingitis, I think Wink

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tombh


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 422
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Sep 2008, 12:00    Post subject:  

*lol* Laughing

Yeah, it's a more recent shot, a couple of weeks ago in fact, whereas the last one was getting on for a year old. Just something I like to do, gives the impression I'm a living, breathing person. Yeah it is funny how one gets used to things without even knowing, and how we most often suddenly realise it only once the old thing has gone. You'll get used to the new tombh I'm sure!

Best Wishes,
tom Smile

_________________
Colour-Memories Database
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6815
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Sep 2008, 18:18    Post subject:  

Of course, as long as he's as smart as the last one Wink Very Happy

Aitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ragaman

Joined: 14 Jan 2007
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Mon 01 Sep 2008, 23:25    Post subject:  

Funny exchange between you two. Happens only in Puppyland.

I have WNOP running flawlessly on AMD Athlon 1700XP underclocked by 10% (less heat), 512MB DDR, ATI Radeon 9250 125MB vid card.

Beautiful Puplet there Tom. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MobileDev


Joined: 10 Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2008, 07:19    Post subject:  

To no particular person on this thread, I would like to explain something important about CF.
This is even posted on their website (forgot where, maybe the FAQ).

GNOME, KDE, and XFCE are all desktop environments.

IceWM, Fluxbox, Enlightenment, and so on are just window managers.

In case you don't know anything about Xorg, only ONE window manager can be run at a time. Granted, Enlightenment can be hacked because it's code is in a unique position: It functions as a window manager or a desktop environment (which includes a window manager) It has certain components that can be separated and modified specifically to work with Compiz. In order to get something like IceWM, Fluxbox, etc. to work with compiz, you must first edit their source code so that they behave like, and are treated as, desktop environments or at least desktop managers. This will take a lot of work, but IceWM and Fluxbox aren't too big, so it is doable.

On a totally off topic note, it's good to be back here on the Puppy forums. I haven't had the time to peruse this particular forum because of college. Also, if anyone has gotten VisualBoyAdvance (the native version or the windows version) working in wNOP .02, please post! I would also like to get the cool fusion icon that they have in Ubuntu working in wNOP .02 Anybody got a package for that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6815
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2008, 10:42    Post subject:  

ragaman

Quote:
Funny exchange between you two. Happens only in Puppyland


Familiarity breeds content Wink Laughing

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wow

Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 1035
Location: Peru

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2008, 21:48    Post subject:  

MobileDev wrote:
Also, if anyone has gotten VisualBoyAdvance (the native version or the windows version) working in wNOP .02, please post!

VisualBoyAdvance(Windows version) works with wine, you need to copy some mfc *. dll files from the Windows installation.
I'm using Puppy 4 alpha 6(pup_396) and wine 1.0.0.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dark Adonis


Joined: 01 Sep 2008
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri 05 Sep 2008, 20:06    Post subject:  

Hello!
Thankyou for making this wonderful puplet! I never thought that I would have a linux that would display such dazzling effects on my PC until now!

May I please ask a question? I'm trying to remaster this wonderful puplet, but every time I do so, xorgwizard can't configure compiz! The only was I have been able to remaster it is to select "configure /etc for my computer ONLY" during the remaster script.

I would like to very much use this on other computers... If I remaster it by not configuring /etc for my computer only, when the compiz config menu comes at start up, all the fields are blank (device, driver, etc...). Manual configuration does not fix this either. I even tried remastering it with all the xorg.conf files deleted except for the original.

So may I please ask, how I would do this?

Thankyou Surprised
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tombh


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 422
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Mon 08 Sep 2008, 05:58    Post subject:  

Yes, this is something that has been asked before and I know that dinky is at least one person that has gotten around it. Basically, I didn't make wNOP using the remaster script, I built it by manually editing the pup_300.sfs. So I have made changes to directories that the remaster script doesn't copy over to the new remastered puplet. The only one I know of for sure that the remaster script doesn't copy over is the /tmp directory, which I put the proprietary ATI and nVidia drivers in -- therefore they will need to be copied over manually or put in an another directory, where upon paths in the cfwizard script will need to be changed.

Does that make any sense? I can't remember how dinky did it now, but he was definitely successful!

if you can tell me exactly what directories the remaster script copies over then I can tell you what's missing -- also it would help me not create the same problems in the next version of wNOP.

tom Smile

_________________
Colour-Memories Database
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Tue 09 Sep 2008, 16:44    Post subject:  

Aitch wrote:
Of course, as long as he's as smart as the last one Wink Very Happy

So far so good. Hurrah! Laughing

My "funny thing" is that while I assume that our Tom is really 'Tom B H' I always think of him as 'Tomb H' which is much more entertaining!

_________________
Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
37fleetwood


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Wed 10 Sep 2008, 01:11    Post subject:  

Hi, if this is too much trouble I understand, but I have been watching and waiting for this puplet to progress to the point where it would be possible for me to use. I have an old ATI radeon 9200 series. you mention newer than 7000 I believe but this one despite it's numbers is pretty old. I havent been able to get compiz-fuzion to work. I got it to work on a friends computer which only made me want to get it useable on mine worse. I am not exactly stupid but i am not very tech savy and some of the jargon makes no sense to me at all. would someone here be willing to help me to try getting this going? I was hoping for a post which said something like "all Ati bugs figured out!" but I'm getting the feeling that it isn't that simple. I've thought about getting a new video card but just can't justify that at this point.
thanks for your time
Scott
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6815
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Wed 10 Sep 2008, 08:30    Post subject:  

@Nick
Quote:
I always think of him as 'Tomb H' which is much more entertaining


Yep! Must be the English humus, er, I mean humour Wink

Thanks, tom,.... good sport

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tombh


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 422
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Wed 10 Sep 2008, 09:32    Post subject:  

Yeah, I've heard some people think of me as "tomb h", like there's a graveyard somewhere with graves for every letter of the alphabet!

@37fleetwood: If you type wNOPinspect from the command line, and then post the resulting wNOPdump.tar.gz to the forum. Then I'll be able to have a good look at the problem Smile

_________________
Colour-Memories Database
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
37fleetwood


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Thu 11 Sep 2008, 19:51    Post subject:  

ok, before I try, are you talking when it's running in xfce? or before. when I start up it goes through the xorg wizard fine then it goes into the compiz-fuzion setup and falls apart. if I go back it will start fine in vesa, but without compiz-fusion. when do I type? sorry for being so novice in this stuff.
Scott Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tombh


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 422
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Fri 12 Sep 2008, 04:05    Post subject:  

Ah, yes, it did occur to me what the problem is actually. You should choose the "Manual" option when the Compiz-Fusion Wizard starts, then choose ATI->Radeon (open source driver).

Boring technical bit --
You see the wizard automatically forces the ATI fglrx proprietary driver (which isn't very good) for cards newer than the 9000 (you have a 9200). The Radeon driver is actually the better driver but it won't work on the very newest cards (newer than X1300 or something) so I had to draw a line somewhere, but it doesn't matter now because we can use the "Manual" option to choose the driver for ourselves.

_________________
Colour-Memories Database
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 25 of 27 [398 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0837s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0254s) ][ GZIP on ]