Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 03:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
List of winmodems that work (Puppy 2.17+)
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1096
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2007, 02:40    Post_subject:  List of winmodems that work (Puppy 2.17+)  

I am starting this thread to list winmodems that work for Puppy 2.17 and above (when enhanced dialup support/modem detection became featured). I want this list to contain only 56K internal PCI/ISA modems that just work, with no problems whatsoever. This thread should not be used to post problems or talk about issues, only to list internal winmodems that work flawlessly, out of the box. I begin the list with Intel 536EP, detected by Puppy 2.17.1 as "536ep". Dials up the internet using PupDial, with no dropout, and maximum speed that can be expected from a dialup connection.

Intel 536EP v92 56k winmodem

If you know a model of winmodem that works well with Puppy 2.17 and above, please add to this thread.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1096
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jan 2008, 01:14    Post_subject:  

I am writing this reply using a dialup connection by PupDial on a Digital Systems DS560-548L modem (Lucent HV90P-T chip). Puppy detects the modem as "ttyLT0". No problema.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
PeterH

Joined: 05 Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Location: The green hills of Wales UK.

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jul 2008, 08:05    Post_subject: Winmodems that work in Puppy
Sub_title: Agere Lt V92 Data+Fax modem worked first time in Puppy 2.16
 

Magnificent Puppy 2.16 gave me my first Linux Dialup to British Telecom - on the first attempt. Puppy does not, it seems, automatically set it to the CCITT telecom standard, but I have an easy way to do this. Any interest ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bignono1


Joined: 17 May 2009
Posts: 362
Location: New ME

PostPosted: Sun 21 Jun 2009, 06:33    Post_subject:  

The Creative v90 di5663 works like charm with Puppy 4.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2349
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 21 Jun 2009, 07:42    Post_subject: Re: Winmodems that work in Puppy
Sub_title: Agere Lt V92 Data+Fax modem worked first time in Puppy 2.16
 

PeterH wrote:
Puppy does not, it seems, automatically set it to the CCITT telecom standard, but I have an easy way to do this. Any interest ?


But of course! Sharing information is what the open source community is supposed to be all about - without that, you wouldn't have your Puppy Linux at all. Perhaps it is best to start a separate thread for the method you wish to describe (or add to an existing thread about similar matters if you come across one in a search) since nubc has started this thread purely to list working win modems.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7083
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 21 Jun 2009, 08:55    Post_subject:  

In the pup 2.x series, note that I build the experimental 218 with lots of extra modem drivers, including the HSF drivers.
See:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=43432

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7083
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jul 2009, 11:29    Post_subject:  

The latest experimental continuation of the Puppy4 series, given version number "415" is announced here:

http://puppylinux.com/blog/?viewDetailed=00838

It has heaps of modem drivers, including Intel 536, 537 and Conexant HSF. Uses 2.6.25.16 kernel, same as 4.1.2.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7083
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jul 2009, 11:35    Post_subject:  

Testing a preliminary build of "416", another experimental build in the Puppy4 series, the PCTEL modem in my Compaq Presario works.

This modem has vendor:chip numbers 134d:7897. (see System -> PupScan in the menu to find these numbers for your hardware).

Puppy detected it automatically. Clicking the 'connect' icon on the desktop and choosing PupDial, it just worked.

In fact, I'm using it right now as I type this.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 397

PostPosted: Sat 26 Sep 2009, 16:19    Post_subject: PCTEL modem sometimes works
Sub_title: PCTEL worked with 4.2.1 in one location, crashes in another
 

Puppy 4.2.1 installed to hard drive (full) worked with one PCTEL modem but would only establish a connection on the second dial (which it seems to do automatically). A second PCTEL modem in this computer (DELL R400) appears to be broken.
Took the computer to another county, rural area, plugged in the phone line, tried to dial, and puppy crashed (froze up, had to turn it off).
Put Puppy 4.3 on a 566MHz Compaq with another PCTEL modem, Puppy also crashed. Powered off and on, rebooted Puppy, unplugged phone line, tried to dial and was told no dial tone. No crash.
A lucent modem in a laptop worked with 4.3 on the same phoneline.
The hardware is in the other county so I don't have more details.
Same other county, tulip-based network card was recognized, I could ping the modem, but it would not connect with any website. Another computer plugged into the same router with the same cable (Ubuntu) connected. Tried both onboard and added network card.
dhcp appears to have worked - ifconfig lists an IP number in the same range as the router. Tried to edit /etc/resolv.conf but got 'too many levels of symbolic links'. /etc/resolv.conf points to /etc/ppp/resolv.conf points to ../resolv.conf. How to manually add a nameserver? Tried using one from an ISP and deleting both resolv.conf links and making /etc/resolv.conf - no help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
FrankA

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 29
Location: Germany, Europe

PostPosted: Mon 05 Oct 2009, 20:14    Post_subject:  VIA softmodem 1106:3068 also works
Sub_title: 1106:3068 autodetected & stable
 

great !

Conexant HSFi Softmodem (Winmodem / Linmodem) PCI card works
excellent out of the box with puppy 4.3.

wvdial works on first trial. I still try to figure out the real connect speed.
scanmodem from www.linmodem.org finds the softmodem, but the script hangs somehow after that (I had that pretty often with intel modem too).

I wonder about FAX functionality ...

thing is though, modem works on CDROM boot.
once installed to USB stick it wont be autodetected any way with 4.3.

same issue with my laptop featuring Conexant softmodem on HDA bus of ALC-soundchip. I also cannot get to work a PCI card modem of type 8086:1080 which is intel 537 modem


------------

VIA softmodem 1106:3068 also works excellent with puppy 4.0
connect 53000 and more very stable on /dev/ttySL0

on puppy 4.1.3 you must however blacklist those HSF modem modules
which otherwise stop the 1106:3068 from working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0644s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]