Kiosk Project based on Safepup

Booting, installing, newbie
Bunty

Kiosk Project based on Safepup

#1 Post by Bunty »

I am new to Linux and Safepup - working with it for about one week - please excuse me if I get the terminology incorrect.

I am attempting to create a internet kiosk with mouse only navigation.

Within one week, I have come so far thanks to the help of Raffy :wink: - who has ofered some timely advice.

I have come up against two problems:

Q1 How do you 'mirror' or duplicate the actions of the left button mouse click (button 1) on buttons two and three (effectively disabling the right click menu in firefox) Is there a file to edit?

Q2 I have the need to disable the minimize, maximize and window close events of firefox. Is this a WM thing or firefox configuration. Safepup uses JWM. Alternatives could be permanently hiding the taskbar, resizing the window (not preferred) or masking the buttons somehow so they become inactive.

And now for a final (and could be quite a stupid question) does WJM need to load in order to view firefox? Can safepup just simply load firefox without the WM?

Thanks for your time.

Bunty

Bruce B

#2 Post by Bruce B »

Various ways to disable the right mouse button. Take the mouse apart if you can and push the micro switch down so it doesn't click. If you can't take it apart, use some kind of filler between the depress portion of the mouse and the body.

I think maybe it's better to use jwm and just get rid of all the menu items you don't want people to have access to. Also delete the desktop items.

But, you don't have to use jwm, but you lose some basic functionality, which is probably what you want.

Edit ~/.xinitrc and near the bottom where it executes the window manager, comment that out. Add a line to have it execute Firefox instead. While you are editing you might want to comment out the ROX lines and see how you like that loss of functionality.