Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 01:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
How to get audio thru HDMI out of motherboard?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Patriot


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 734

PostPosted: Wed 28 Oct 2009, 00:32    Post subject:  

Hmmm .....

Flash wrote:
........
Everything that looks like it has anything to do with speakers is turned up in Alsamixer, and IEC958 is on.

Is the hdmi mixer unmuted ?

# alsamixer -c 1


Rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 28 Oct 2009, 00:58    Post subject:  

Yes, the HDMI port is seen as card 1.
So it would clearly be a good idea to check alsamixer settings for card 1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10668
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 28 Oct 2009, 22:33    Post subject:  

Well all right then. After some adventure involving throwing a tantrum because apparently static electricity caused my computer to reboot when I plugged a flash memory into it, I finally got everything together to make this post. Laughing

Alsamixer -c 1 showed that the HDMI was muted even though IEC958 was on in the default Alsamixer window. (See first image.)

After I unmuted IEC958 in the HDMI alsamixer window, I again first tried playing 2barks through the regular speakers to make sure it would work. Then I switched from device 0,0 to 1,3, and again got no sound even though there were no error messages. (See second image. Ignore the first line, the one with the red line through it. "bash: setenv: command not found" is there when I open rxvt. I don't know why.)
alsamixer default and -c 1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   62.31 KB
 Viewed   2303 Time(s)

alsamixer default and -c 1.jpg

aplay HDMI result.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   51.61 KB
 Viewed   2265 Time(s)

aplay HDMI result.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2009, 06:09    Post subject:  

You have made progress.
- it's a good sign that alsamixer can access the HDMI port as card 1.
- it's a good sign that aplay plays the audio file without error.

Since DigitalTV and DVD both have a standard sample rate of 48 kHz, it might just be that your HDMI monitor might not be able to handle the 8 kHz sample rate of 2barks.wav.
I suggest you try to play a 48kHz uncompressed wav file. I just sent you a PM with a link to 48kHz and 44.1kHz test audio files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10668
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 23:05    Post subject:  

Thanks, tempestuous. Both of the links were to the same 48 kHz file. It didn't play in HDMI but did in the Alsaplayer default audio.. Sad

I have a CD full of various wav files. They all seem to be 22.05 kHz mono, but since that's just half of a 44.1 kHz stereo I think it would play if a 44.1 kHz stereo file would. None of them would play in HDMI either.

Next?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SilentBob999

Joined: 10 Dec 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 10 Dec 2009, 23:26    Post subject:  related problem - hdmi - I want to get ride of it  

related problem - hdmi - I want to ride of it

In the same way but up side down.

After a reboot. When I open AlsaMixer. It ATI HDMI that is in the mixer... no chanel. I'm not able to get any sound.

So I open Alsa Wizard. Then select the first one Intel 18x0 and then its work. (note that noting refer to the ATI HDMI in Alsa Wizard.

After that I can open AlsaMixer and see my integrated audio card with all my channel and everything sound great.

But after a reboot, the problem is back.

Any clue to how make the sound come permanently from my main speaker ?
Also, I dont get the volume control near the clock... I have IceWM (icewm-1.2.35Latestv2.pet as post by ttuuxxx here : http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=257516. Can I get it back ?

its my first post on this forum...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SilentBob999

Joined: 10 Dec 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 14 Dec 2009, 22:00    Post subject:  

I solve my problem and now I can check into yours...

I have an ATI HD4850.... with an adapter on the DVI port that transform it to an HDMI port... going to my 42inch tv...

So basicly, I prefer the sound going to my speaker and not to my tv, but... could by nice at night or when switching from pc to tv to pc etc... In windows I get the sound and video by the HDMI as I wish

In puppies, I never succeed to load the ATI driver completely, I run on a mix of Xorg, catalyst 9.9 and 9.11. The catalyst control center never work, antispec run only one time showing 22fps but now it just give errors... but its ok because I'm able to work in 1920*1080 and surf the web with relative comfort.

I tell that because I think its the main reason why I'm not able to heard sound by my HDMI in puppy. But maybe it will work for you

First step: (list your device with "aplay -l")
Code:
aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: ATI HDMI [ATI HDMI]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: ICH [Intel ICH], device 0: Intel ICH [Intel ICH]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: ICH [Intel ICH], device 2: Intel ICH - IEC958 [Intel ICH - IEC958]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


Ok so now I know that my main speaker are on card 1 device 0 and my HDMI is card 0 device 3

At this point its time to configure new device.
Create a file /root/.asoundrc or edit /etc/asound.conf (its both the same.. one affected to all puppy the other only to your user) I prefer the hidden one in root its easier to find.
Put in it something like:
Code:
pcm.!default {
type hw
card 1
device 0
}

pcm.nforce-audio {
type hw
card 1
device 0
}

pcm.atihdmi-audio {
type hw
card 0
device 3
}

Note that you can set the default there...

now to apply this. run /etc/init.d/alsa or restart

To test:
Code:
aqualung -o alsa -d nforce-audio /usr/share/audio/goodluck.m4a
aqualung -o alsa -d atihdmi-audio /usr/share/audio/goodluck.m4a


You chose the name you want for your device... but its better if you are sure that its not already use by a driver or something...

And like I says before its doesn't work for me but maybe you will be more lucky.

If I found something else I will write back here... I think they may have more specific configuration on HDMI because the output it clearly different... anyway I search and give you news...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ocean3210

Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 20 Aug 2011, 14:41    Post subject: Hdmi sound  

Just wondering if you found any solution to this yet. I can't find anything on the forums. I just bought a new gateway with intel core i3 intel hd sound and an hdmi jack and it works with windows but not puppy 5.25.
Maybe there is just not enough demand for this type of situation for it to be addressed.
The video comes through great but no sound.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pabloA

Joined: 12 Feb 2009
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Tue 03 Jan 2012, 13:29    Post subject: Re: Hdmi sound  

ocean3210 wrote:
Just wondering if you found any solution to this yet. I can't find anything on the forums.<snip>


I cannot offer you a fix re 525, and hopefully you have found a solution to your problem:
Could I suggest looking at your hardwares web-sites for any flavour of linux drivers and see if your can ascertain which kernel they suggest as a minimum requirement - I tried in vain to install HDMI audio using 528: A switch to a Puppy using a Kernel of 2.6.37.6 and above made the task straight forward.

(529 - ThreeHeadedDog - Luci_001) ? is nicely aged, and would suit the transistion from 525.

Hth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0628s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]