Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 17 Nov 2018, 21:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
ChurchPup
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 17 [243 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
PrairieDog


Joined: 15 Oct 2006
Posts: 82
Location: Wichita Kansas USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2007, 07:54    Post subject: Re: ChurchPup RC1 Is Challenging Me!  

Good Morning Doc!

As long as it's not causing you to Stumble we'll be OK! Smile
edoc wrote:
This laptop may be confused because I have a pup_save file and pup_301.sfs and zdrv_301.sfs in /mnt/hda1, I also have vmlinuz in /mnt/hda1/boot, also is this menu.lst correct for a Full HDD install




I think you may be right about your laptop being confused. I've learned to keep frugal installs away from my hard drive installs if they are all of the same version.On a different partition if possible. The .sfs files seem to "merge" somehow.

edoc wrote:
Problem: When I try to increase the personal storage file I get this error:


If it was a Full Hard drive install there should be no personal storage file connected with it. Could this be a leftover from a previous frugal install? I think this happened to me once (or three times) and even after getting rid of the offending pup_save file the OS still wanted to create one on shut down.I finally reinstalled to fix it,although I think I could have edited /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE to read PUPMODE=2. If it ever happens again I'll test that theory.

Here's an example of a menu.1st for a full hard drive install on the first partition of a drive:
Code:

  title Linux (on /dev/hda1)
  root (hd0,0)
  kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda2 ro vga=normal

The first one you posted seems to have elements of frugal and full hard drive in it. That could also be part of the problem.
I'm not really clear on how you did the install on your Toughbook.Sounds clever though. I guessing you did it that way because Churchpup wouldn't run in ram on 256 megs? I seem to remember testing on a 256 meg machine with the Beta but not this latest version. I'll try it out on the low ram work computer and see what happens.
I was wondering of you had success running any other versions of Puppy Linux on these machines? On your Toughbook I'd try booting a regular Puppy 3.01 CD using the boot parameter puppy pfix=ram and switching to the ChurchPup CD once booted. Then see if you can copy all the files from the Churchpup CD to /root where you can get to them. Then run the universal installer and choose "directory" when it asks you "Where are the Puppy Files?"

You might want to install to a completely empty partition if you can. I guess that would be good advice on any Puppy hard drive install.

On your other laptop I'm assuming you transferred you emails before trying to reboot. You might try doing a fresh frugal install and shutting down immediately thereafter to create a large pup_save file before transferring any files. Wild guess there.

I'll do some experimenting today and report back. Thanks for running ChurchPup through it's paces Doc. Time to make some breakfast and get ready for work.

I'll be in touch....

Mark

"Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in
thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer." Psalms 19:14
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PrairieDog


Joined: 15 Oct 2006
Posts: 82
Location: Wichita Kansas USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2007, 10:07    Post subject: 256 megs  

Doc!

Success! I pulled half the ram out of my work computer and booted Barry's original Puppy3.01 cd with puppy pfix=ram and installed the ChurchPup files from a directory. I did move all existing files on that partition two levels down (to a folder within a folder) so they wouldn't cause problems. It works surprisingly well on 256 megs with swap on a 933mhz Pentium3! Guess I should have Subito Piano post the procedure on churchpup.com.

Let me know if you have any luck.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2007, 10:40    Post subject:  

I am booting Puppy 3.01 on my CF-28 now.

I will use GParted to re-format hda1 and then do a clean ChurchPup install.

Have you looked at the Puppy 4.x project?

Perhaps one could download it, once stable, for the purpose of installing ChurchPup on a RAM-challenged PC?

It would allow for a Puppy GUI and yet require minuscule resources.

I will report back as to the results of my re-install of ChurchPup on my CF-28.

After that I may do the same on my Z500 - after I send this post and re-boot using the pup_save I copied off my CF-28. Yup, a nutty idea but who knows??

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2007, 19:11    Post subject: Praise Report!  

OK, thanks to the encouragement, prayers, and suggestions I now have ChurchPup working on *both* laptops!

I did have to go with a Full HDD Install on both, neither would accept a Frugal install, though the Z500 has the horsepower for Frugal. I do not understand why but so be it.

Now off to backup and upgrade the desktop!

Thanks! doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2007, 19:47    Post subject: Streaming Audio & Video  

When Sean Hannity is on the air (3-6PM EST) I'd like to be able to hear the streaming audio here: http://www.hannity.com/

I tried today, MPlayer opened and pupped-up a window to download a asx file, but then I was not certain what to do. Having literally lost days in the past fighting the multimedia player battles I have learned to ask before changing anything!

I tried to test using this site but see nothing:
http://actmedia.org/tcrp/sc_tcrp.testSR.shtml

Tried these sites as well with no praise report to share:
http://www.gginternet1.co.uk/mla/smtestbed01.asp
http://www.christianlightradio.com/listen.html

Tried several others here but no better news:
http://www.full-vibes.com/musicmoz/Test/Media/Radio/Streaming/Stations/Religious/Christian/


This one worked!
http://www.lighthouseradio.us/

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2007, 20:28    Post subject: Opening a URL in Firefox from an E-mail in Thunderbird?  

One of the things I liked about Seamonkey was the close integration of all of the elements.

Is there a way to set things so that clicking on a URL in Thunderbird opens a window in Firefox?

Sure is a nuisance to have to copy and paste.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PrairieDog


Joined: 15 Oct 2006
Posts: 82
Location: Wichita Kansas USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2007, 21:28    Post subject: Re: Opening a URL in Firefox from an E-mail in Thunderbird?  

edoc wrote:
Is there a way to set things so that clicking on a URL in Thunderbird opens a window in Firefox?

Hello Doc,

I actually did pre-set Thunderbird preferences to do just that. Is it not working for any email links? I wonder if importing settings changed something? No Matter, Easy to set up!
Open Thunderbird and click on edit and go down to preferences.

that should open a window. In the window, click Advanced, then the General tab then the config editor button.

The about:config window will open and you should type network.protocol-handler.app.http in the filter bar to find the lines that need editing. If they don't read as shown in the picture,then double click on each one and enter the string value /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser for the two preferences shown.

If they DO read as shown then we have to look elsewhere for the problem. Did anyone else run into this?

I had edited this into Thunderbirds config file so I'm not sure what could have gone wrong. Let us know what you find out.

Mark
mailhandler.png
 Description   
 Filesize   18.44 KB
 Viewed   425 Time(s)

mailhandler.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2007, 22:18    Post subject:  

I must have busted it real good ... the line:
network.protocol-handler.app.http
isn't in there.

There are a number of network.protocol-handler.xxxxx.xxxx entries but the first is network.protocol-handler.expose.all and not network.protocol-handler.app.http

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PrairieDog


Joined: 15 Oct 2006
Posts: 82
Location: Wichita Kansas USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2007, 22:32    Post subject: about:config  

No Problem, just right click and choose new >string and paste in network.protocol-handler.app.http and set it to /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser . and do the same for network.protocol-handler.app.https . How'd that happen anyway? Maybe when I suggested you to delete .thunderbird?

Mark Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2007, 22:56    Post subject:  

I don't know if it happened when I deleted .thunderbird or perhaps when I merged .mozilla?

When doing the merge of .mozilla I had it set on Quiet and Brief but not Newer,
is that what I should have done?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PrairieDog


Joined: 15 Oct 2006
Posts: 82
Location: Wichita Kansas USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2007, 23:07    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
is that what I should have done?


I dunno Confused I think we're in the same boat on an uncharted ocean, Brother
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2007, 00:17    Post subject:  

The desktop is now a ChurchPup desktop!

Hooray!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
LOF


Joined: 15 Dec 2006
Posts: 115
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2007, 05:09    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
The desktop is now a ChurchPup desktop!

Hooray!


Awesome news Doc. Glad to hear people are having success with ChurchPup. We can't wait to keep this puppy coming.

(I realised I haven't actually contributed at all to this discussion - oops, not much of a project leader)

Thanks again to everyone who's testing out.

_________________
Cheers,

LOF
Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PrairieDog


Joined: 15 Oct 2006
Posts: 82
Location: Wichita Kansas USA

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2007, 08:43    Post subject:  

LOF wrote:
not much of a project leader


1. Came up with the idea in the first place
2.Package choices
3. Desktop layout
4.Created the logo
5.Heaven only knows how much prayer and intercession.

'nuf said?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2007, 10:38    Post subject:  

Several New Items:

NOTE: All three of my installations, two laptops and one desktop, are Full HDD.

1. I cannot get Shutdown to work on my Z500 laptop. It just restarts X-server.

2. On my CF-28 laptop Reboot is not available anywhere.

3. On my CF-28 laptop Shutdown is an incon in the footer toolbar instead of usual sidebar menu. Not a problem just inconsistent.

3. When I open a large image, e.g. a 975k jpg, it overlaps the screen and there is no obvious way to reduce it. (This is on all three computers.)

4. File - Send Link does not work in Firefox. It doesn't matter if Thunderbird is open or not. (This is on all three computers.)

I tend to break things!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 17 [243 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0779s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0232s) ][ GZIP on ]