Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 Aug 2014, 10:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Since you guys like Vista themes so much
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Albi

Joined: 08 Dec 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 18:02    Post_subject:  Since you guys like Vista themes so much  

I fixed the taskbar for my VistaBlack theme and called it a new name Smile
http://box-look.org/content/show.php/True+Vista?content=71347

Feedback appreciated
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 18:56    Post_subject: Re: Since you guys like Vista themes so much  

Albi wrote:
I fixed the taskbar for my VistaBlack theme and called it a new name Smile
http://box-look.org/content/show.php/True+Vista?content=71347

Feedback appreciated

Looks good, Albi. I'll give it a run and see what I think over time. I believe IceWM now supports transparency on the taskbar, which should mean you can create a taskbar with a transparent 2-3 pixel upper border that will allow the FULL Vista logo on the start button. I haven't gotten around to trying it yet, myself.

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cb88


Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 1169
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 19:29    Post_subject:  

whodoo wouldn't you only want the menu button to be transparent?

or does the transparent part not affect clicking on that region of the screen anyway only a few pixels lost...

_________________
Taking Puppy Linux to the limit of perfection. meanwhile try "puppy pfix=duct_tape" kernel parem eater.
X86: Sager NP6110 3630QM 16GB ram, Tyan Thunder 2 2x 300Mhz
Sun: SS2 , LX , SS5 , SS10 , SS20 ,Ultra 1, Ultra 10 , T2000
Mac: Platinum Plus, SE/30
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Albi

Joined: 08 Dec 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 19:41    Post_subject: Re: Since you guys like Vista themes so much  

WhoDo wrote:
Albi wrote:
I fixed the taskbar for my VistaBlack theme and called it a new name Smile
http://box-look.org/content/show.php/True+Vista?content=71347

Feedback appreciated

Looks good, Albi. I'll give it a run and see what I think over time. I believe IceWM now supports transparency on the taskbar, which should mean you can create a taskbar with a transparent 2-3 pixel upper border that will allow the FULL Vista logo on the start button. I haven't gotten around to trying it yet, myself.

Cheers


I just tried this, but it turns pink or black where it's supposed to be transparent. I think transparency only works in the window border, but if you can show me a proof-of-concept of it working in the taskbar i'll try to emulate it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 20:05    Post_subject:  

cb88 wrote:
whodoo wouldn't you only want the menu button to be transparent?

or does the transparent part not affect clicking on that region of the screen anyway only a few pixels lost...

The menu button is usually the same height as the taskbar. If you are going to have a 2-3 pixel transparent top border on the button, without changing the taskbar or application buttons in the same way, you would get a step up between the menu button and the rest of the taskbar.

The few transparent pixels would remain part of the taskbar, so you would lose 2-3 pixels of any clickable icon that was "behind" that transparent border.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 21:16    Post_subject: Re: Since you guys like Vista themes so much  

Albi wrote:
I just tried this, but it turns pink or black where it's supposed to be transparent. I think transparency only works in the window border, but if you can show me a proof-of-concept of it working in the taskbar i'll try to emulate it.

There are a couple of issues here:

1. What version of IceWM are you using?

2. Has your version been compiled with imlib?

3. Have you set ROX as the root window for your desktop?

Any of these could cause problems with transparency. Note this from the IceWM FAQ
Quote:
7.3 What image formats can I use with IceWM?

If IceWM is compiled with the standard xpm libraries, then it can only employ xpm images (as backgrounds, etc.). If, however, IceWM is compiled with "imlib" support, it can display all common image formats including jpeg, gif, png, and tiff.


As for a "proof-of-concept", as I said I haven't tried it yet. It was just offered as a suggestion for your information.

Hope that helps.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Albi

Joined: 08 Dec 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 21:43    Post_subject: Re: Since you guys like Vista themes so much  

WhoDo wrote:

1. What version of IceWM are you using?

icewm 1.2.33-1

Quote:
2. Has your version been compiled with imlib?

Don't know how to find this out. However, from reading further down; I AM able to use png images in the theme, but they must be named .xpm. Alpha transparency just messes up the image though.

[quote]3. Have you set ROX as the root window for your desktop?[/qupte]
No

Quote:
As for a "proof-of-concept", as I said I haven't tried it yet. It was just offered as a suggestion for your information.

Hope that helps.


It seems like there needs to be a lot of conditions to get the few extra pixels of the orb LOL. I'm not sure if I'll release it to the public if you really need the latest icewm+imlib+rox desktop for it to work properly, but I want to try to get it working to see if it can be done. If there's also a way to get pseudo-transparency with icewm, I could make some awesome themes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 00:46    Post_subject:  

Thought you might like a little look at Albi's TrueVista with a few little tweaks from me - animated buttons on the titlebar, transparent CPU idle status and a realigned logo on the start button. Enjoy!



BTW, the folder icons are a set I'm modifying for the next CE version of Puppy, so no asking for them yet, eh! Razz

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 01:02    Post_subject:  

Rox can't be "set" to root window, afaik. What you need to do is to apply the background that Rox is using to the root-window, which can be done with the background setter in the start menu. To have that be automatic, reference my thread on Conky, the editing /root/.xinitrc part.

Or use the old version of Rox, used in Puppy 1.x.x, and I think up through 2.1.2. That version uses the root window.

The only way I can think of to find out what IceWM was compiled with is to find the right IceWM file to run ldd on, and see what it's dependencies are. That won't work if it was compiled statically, but that isn't likely.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
JonZ

Joined: 08 Dec 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 03:48    Post_subject:  

This looks cool, and would be upgraded to awesome if the Windows logo could be replaced with a penguin, but leave everything else the same Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 05:51    Post_subject:  

Yes I like it also, I'll use it in my next Fire Hydrant.

Keep up the excellent work! It also would be nice if you had a Navy Blue, Or a Lime green, maybe even a peach colour?
Oh well i could always remaster the colours.
ttuuxxx
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 06:11    Post_subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
Thought you might like a little look at Albi's TrueVista with a few little tweaks from me - animated buttons on the titlebar, transparent CPU idle status and a realigned logo on the start button. Enjoy!



BTW, the folder icons are a set I'm modifying for the next CE version of Puppy, so no asking for them yet, eh! Razz


Hey WhoDo i was wondering something, do you have or plan to make a Lite version of EZPup icewm without icons? Not that i don't like them, its just that i spend countless hours changing all the default icons in my jwm version then i usually install EZpup, Because i like the larger icewm taskbar size and the icons in the menu, But i actually like the ones i put. Basically All I'm asking for is a lite version of EZpup that doesn't change any icons what so ever, Maybe even just 1 theme, I always change them all to my default ones anyways, I'm sure other developers of Derivatives would find a tool like that very usefull.
Thanks for your time Smile
ttuuxxx
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 06:25    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
Hey WhoDo i was wondering something, do you have or plan to make a Lite version of EZPup icewm without icons? Not that i don't like them, its just that i spend countless hours changing all the default icons in my jwm version then i usually install EZpup, Because i like the larger icewm taskbar size and the icons in the menu, But i actually like the ones i put. Basically All I'm asking for is a lite version of EZpup that doesn't change any icons what so ever,

The next version of EZpup will be EZpup 4.0 for Dingo, and it will fit with Barry's icon-changer applet. EZpup will simply supply a small variety of consistent icon themes, among many other look-and-feel features, that can be switched about at will.

EZpup 3.0 won't be upgraded any further. The next CE, TS3.03CE will have most of what is inside EZpup built right into the ISO. That will be possible because it will no longer contain a ROX upgrade, for example, and there are other applications that now exist in the base Puppy so having them in EZpup would be an unnecessary duplication.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 06:33    Post_subject:  

JonZ wrote:
This looks cool, and would be upgraded to awesome if the Windows logo could be replaced with a penguin, but leave everything else the same Wink

You mean like this?
tux-start.png
 Description   Tux logo for Vista replacement
 Filesize   21.31 KB
 Viewed   1270 Time(s)

tux-start.png


_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 07:43    Post_subject:  


see if this works

when i uploaded it to a image host it was a xpm, now when i download it, its a jpg. if you are going to use this as a button just rename it to .xpm Smile ttuuxxx
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0951s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0079s) ][ GZIP on ]