Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 01 Aug 2014, 20:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Blinky missing in the task bar.
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2007, 20:04    Post subject:  Blinky missing in the task bar.
Subject description: Muppy008
 

Now that my basic problems are solved I have some minor ones.
Normally Blinky should be in the task bar, I think, but it's not there.
Is there a way to get it back?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2007, 21:32    Post subject:  

beside the startbutton in the taskbar, there is a button with a folder.

It opens a menu, click on "edit startup".
This opens /root/.icewm/startup in leafpad.

At bottom, you see:


killall blinky
sleep 2 && /root/my-applications/blinky-0.8-icewm/src/blinky -bg "" &

If your internet-conncetion starts slow, try to add higher values for "sleep".
Or if you connect with a wizard, drag
/root/my-applications/blinky-0.8-icewm/src/blinky
on your desktop with Rox, then you can start it, after you connected.

Does that work?
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 06:00    Post subject:  

Raising to sleep 10 didn't bring the little PC's in the taskbar.
Starting blinky from my-applications or by dragging first on the desktop gives no visible effect either.

Hovering the mouse over the spot whete the little PC's should be gives the ethernet device info.

Starting blinky in Rxvt gives: see picture
If looking well at the task bar you can see there is internet activity
blinky.png
 Description   
 Filesize   12.85 KB
 Viewed   866 Time(s)

blinky.png


_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1999
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 06:48    Post subject:  

Beem wrote:
Quote:
Hovering the mouse over the spot where the little PC's should be gives the ethernet device info.


Right click in this same area and choose "options". In there, make sure you do not have your connections hidden.

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox

Last edited by trapster on Sat 08 Dec 2007, 08:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 08:41    Post subject:  

On that spot on the task bar right click does nothing.
Right click on the blinky window hides the little PC's but there is no unhide. Stumped. Surprised
blinky1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   7.54 KB
 Viewed   828 Time(s)

blinky1.png


_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 12:19    Post subject:  

My guess might be that the script /root/.icewm/startup is not actually completing. Try sprinkling some debugging through it, such as

xmessage "startup started" &
...
...
...
xmessage "killing blinky" &
killall blinky
sleep 2 && /root/my-applications/blinky-0.8-icewm/src/blinky -bg "" &
xmessage "blinky should now be running" &

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 14:16    Post subject:  

also the startup file must contain these lines:

Code:
killall icewmtray
icewmtray &


But that should be already in.
I just had no blinky, when I was offline.
Now that I'm online, it is there.
And if I remember well, I changed nothing by hand, so the defaultsettings are used.

Have you had success with another version of Puppy on that computer?
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 14:44    Post subject:  

With 3.01 I have blinky.
But it vanished after installing EZpup on it.
Icewm also!

After trying Muppy008 for the very first time I think I had the icons, but then started the troubles for which I had to make an empty pup_save-muppy.2fs (remember?)

The kill icewmtray etc is in the startup

I did as HairyWill suggested and to my surprise I got freememapplet and Icedock back I had lost also, but still no icons for blinky.
(Shouldn't icedock pop in front when touching the right border?)

I get nicely the xmessage windows, so I got the message blinky is running.

In fact hovering over the spot where the icons should be, I get the eth0 info, see picture.

Maybe I have to start afresh again with an empty pup_save
blinky2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   85.6 KB
 Viewed   819 Time(s)

blinky2.png


_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 14:57    Post subject:  

Quote:
In fact hovering over the spot where the icons should be, I get the eth0 info, see picture.


No, that is from icewms inbuilt network-monitor just beside.

I have no idea at moment...
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 15:03    Post subject:  

OK my mistake.
As I am still in a testing phase, it's no big deal.

Another abnormality is, when selecting reboot the screen turns black, I see disk activity, but not the usual message like pup_save already written or something like that and after a while the reboot starts.

If I do ctrl-alt-del I get those messages.

In fact that is the same as in 3.01 with EZpup.

I wonder if for some reason there has been a mix with the 3.01 pup_save.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 16:00    Post subject:  

Beem
is blinky actually running?
Code:
ps | grep blinky

Are all the interfaces disabled?
Code:
cat /root/.blinky

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 19:44    Post subject:  

Yes blinky is running, but the cat cmd doesn't give an output.

Leaving the existing pup_save-muppy in place, I started with a fresh one.
Directly I had blinky (as soon as the network was active), freemem and icedock

I configured the 1394 connection as well (is eth2) and I got a second icon in blinky.

I'll watch now carefully to see when blinky disappears again.

EDITED:
Well that didn't take long.
I changed the locale for my country (nl_NL@EURO) and X had to be restarted.
The desktop came back except the system tray.
I tried crtl-alt-backspace to get a prompt, but to no avail.
Knowing nothing else to do to get icewm started again, I did ctrl-alt-delete
The system rebooted.
I started with the same pup_save as when the problem arrived.
The desktop came, but not the system tray.
So I tried again C-A-B and this time I got the prompt.
Xwin icewm brought back the system tray and blinky, freemem etc.

Some instability problem?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 01:50    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
Yes blinky is running, but the cat cmd doesn't give an output.
The file /root/.blinky stores the names of interfaces that you want blinky to ignore. The fact that it doesn't exist is a good thing. I don't have any further suggestions on this one, good luck Beem.
_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 04:46    Post subject:  

The good thing is when discussing the knowledge increases.
As said I watch this blinky thing.

Problem left: Choosing reboot from the menu doesn't behave as it should.
I do now C-A-B and type reboot/poweroff at the prompt.
If I feel the need I'll start another thread on the subject.

Also I have to launch startup by hand.

Went back to my 3.01+EZpup3.0 installation where I had the same issue of blinky and fremmem not present in the system tray.
By issuing startup I got them also.
Here I have the same issue of reboot/poweroff chosen by the menu not working correctly. So seems to be linked to icewm.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0817s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0097s) ][ GZIP on ]