Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 29 Nov 2014, 03:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Pup214R v1.00 - Puppy Linux 2.14 Revisited, is now available
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 11 [153 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 04:11    Post subject:  

twointo1,
In the next day or so I will package the original zd1211rw driver (with firmware) as a dotpet.
But in the meantime, there is some extra information you may wish to try. You could try to configure your wifi device from the commandline, as I explained in a HOWTO here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22469

this has the benefit of running setup commands one at a time, and it's easier to diagnose exactly where the problem is.

But there is one major deviation from those instructions I would suggest; you will see in the HOWTO this command
Code:
ifconfig wlan0 up

This makes the wifi network interface active before running the iwconfig setup commands ... but I read somewhere that the Zydas driver won't work this way.
If true, you will see an error when you try to run the iwconfig commands.
So before running the iwconfig command, do this first -
Code:
ifconfig wlan0 down

then run the iwconfig commands with the network in this inactive state. Hopefully the iwconfig command will now work.
If you get to this stage successfully, it will then probably be necessary to make the interface active before running the dhcpcd command.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4819
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 05:18    Post subject:  

Have been playing with Muppy008beta in the last two days. Although it's a lot bigger, Mark has worked miracles on what is, essentially, the same release. Everything works and for reasons I will never understand, he has been able to substantially speed up the whole procedure. Now that he is back on the scene, if it can be organised, a four-way collaboration might produce staggering results? It's got to be correct to fix everything, well - nearly everything - before moving forward?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 09:21    Post subject:  

cb88 wrote:
I just booted up 2.14R and i have notice that JWM configuration is really cutdown... I don't remember if it allowed theme changeing in 2.14 but it doesn't now would be nice to get that working (nice gradient theme btw)

I completely removed all the jwm-theme ingredients, as I consider it a cumbersome and inefficient way of doing it.

When you use the gtk-theme selector, pressing "set jwm" automatically generates a JWM theme from the gtk theme you selected. That way it is more flexible and can be applied to any gtk-theme you install (the only problem is that the gtk theme has to have the colours in hex triplets).

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 09:28    Post subject:  

A tip for people using s frugal install:
You can specify in the commandline (=grub menu entry) which pup_save to use.
You just need to add the PUPSAVE line from /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE, but remember to remove the quotes (').
Example: PUPSAVE=ext3,hda3,/pup_save2.3fs

Note that the script will assume that the pup_214R.sfs is in the same place as your pup_save, so if it isn't, you'll have to specify it:
SFSFILE=ext3,hda4,/pup_214R.sfs
(you can also specify the zdrv, but it's not critical: ZDRV=ext3,hda3,/zdrv_214.sfs )

So the grub menu line you end up with is something like this:
Code:
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PMEDIA=idehd PUPSAVE=ext3,hda3,/pup_save2.3fs SFSFILE=ext3,hda4,/pup_214R.sfs


What this is good for: if you specify the pup_save, the init script completely skip the part that searches your hard-drive, going directly to the PUPMODE calculation and mounting -- which can save some time.

Did I mention you can also specify PUPMODE? This way you can force it to run in PUPMODE=13 on non-flash media.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 502
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 09:36    Post subject: Change Time format  

I love 2.14R, but a small request: How do I change the time format? I prefer the 12-hour display, with no date.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 09:46    Post subject:  

YoN wrote:
But at first time, I reboot/shutdown Puppy from " Menu | Shutdown | Reboot computer or Power-off computer ", no damage done. Only black screen is
there. It seems power-off.

Maybe there's a problem with your graphic card when shutting down X.
You should try selecting "exit to prompt" from the menu, then type "wmreboot" and see if it reboots and gives you the option to create a save file.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 09:48    Post subject: Re: Change Time format  

davec51 wrote:
I love 2.14R, but a small request: How do I change the time format? I prefer the 12-hour display, with no date.

for a brief explanation of the jwm clock see here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=157480#157480

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 09:58    Post subject: Re: Change Time format  

davec51 wrote:
I love 2.14R, but a small request: How do I change the time format? I prefer the 12-hour display, with no date.

If you open /root/.jwmrc-tray (hidden file) and find the clock entry, you'll find a comment explaining how to change it.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 10:48    Post subject:  

Dougal
apologies I wasn't in 214R at the time and had forgotten that you had already thought of the date formatting.

I couple of gnats you may wish to squash in the on going pursuit of perfection.

Whilst I was in .jwmrc-tray I noticed that the panel button declaration had got messed up. This was because I had used the jwm configurator to edit the buttons. I hadn't actually changed anything but I don't think the editor can cope with the comments round the TrayButtons. (this need fixing in puppy trunk as well)

Also man rxvt got me a 404 from
http://www.ece.umr.edu/web-cgi/unixsoft.cgi?command=rxvt
I don't know how long this has been a problem. Relying on other people's man cgi seems a little fragile to me, (I know its the way Barry has always done it, linking to wikipedia seems even worse). I presume the reason that Barry doesn't host his own is because of the cost of maintaining it to be used by anybody not just puppy users.

I have an alternative suggestion that I may well implement if nobody else does first.
On the wikki a locked page with a list of man cgi servers like the PSI repository list.
If man doesn't find a local page, it downloads the list and starts hitting the servers until it finds one where the request succeeds.
Then it downloads the man page and saves it locally so the next time it will be found locally.
This trades off loosing some pup_save space against reduced bandwith (good for dial-up Wink ) and could be more resilient.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
klu9

Joined: 27 Jun 2007
Posts: 345

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 13:05    Post subject:  

a bit late to the party, but here are some additional ways to download the 2.14R iso:

Metalink (use Aria2):
http://www.metamirrors.nl/backend/get.php?lnk=http://ipup.minipc.org/download/pup214R-1.00.iso

CoBlitzed (use regular download method):
http://coblitz.codeen.org/www.puppylinux.ca/puppyfiles/Pup214R/pup214R-1.00.iso
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 502
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 14:16    Post subject: Changing Clock Format
Subject description: Finding the right file
 

Dougal and Hairy Will, you have solved my problem yet again. I should put both of you into my will, or something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cb88


Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 1169
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 14:41    Post subject:  

heh... but then they would figure out some way to have puppy electrocute you when you boot your PC Shocked
_________________
Taking Puppy Linux to the limit of perfection. meanwhile try "puppy pfix=duct_tape" kernel parem eater.
X86: Sager NP6110 3630QM 16GB ram, Tyan Thunder 2 2x 300Mhz
Sun: SS2 , LX , SS5 , SS10 , SS20 ,Ultra 1, Ultra 10 , T2000
Mac: Platinum Plus, SE/30
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 14:48    Post subject:  

No worries.
Would that be worth much?
Are you intending on dying soon?
Do you need my address?

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fudgy


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 86
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 15:43    Post subject: Re: can't get frugal to boot ?!  

Thanks Leon, thanks Dougal, frugal works fine now.
You need to have

root=/dev/ram0

in the grub commandline. It got redundant in later versions (2.16.1 I think).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4796
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 18:36    Post subject: Info on probepart, I/O  

Here's probepart results on Compaq Presario (with firewire). USB devices can't be mounted by 214R.
Code:
sh-3.00# probepart

/dev/hdc|iso9660|0
/dev/sda1|vfat|10506446
/dev/sda2|ntfs|144793844
/dev/sda3|swap|1060290
/dev/uba|none|0
/dev/ubb|none|0
/dev/ubc|none|0
/dev/ubd|none|0
/dev/ube|none|0
/dev/ubf1|none|1003486

- the capacities shown are 2x of the actual capacity (ie, f1 is a 512-MB USB drive). EDIT: Barry has clarified this:
Quote:
The sizes are in 512 byte blocks. You need the '-k' and '-m' parameters for KB and MB units.
- only one USB device (f1) is detected by probepart (ie, there is another USB device inserted there).
- pmount, hotplug and MUT all fail mounting USB devices.
- the extra line generated by probepart (at the top) is noticeable.

As to the GX466 machine where 2.12-2.16 Puppies can't boot, here's the info:
Quote:
The Chipset used is AMD GX2 466 CPU and 5536.

For the I/O, it is Winbond W83627HF.

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).

Last edited by raffy on Thu 06 Dec 2007, 03:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 11 [153 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1040s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0124s) ][ GZIP on ]