Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 12:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking
4G T.mobile modem in Puppy
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Trabant01

Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 06:35    Post_subject:  4G T.mobile modem in Puppy  

Hello, can you help me with my USB 4G modem ? T-mobile, Czech republic?http://www.ipwireless.com/solutions/desktop_modem.html

http://ondrej.certik.cz/wiki/pmwiki.php?n=Main.Tmobile4g
I can´t adjust ppp connection. System doesn´t know about modem.
Thank you, have a nice day
Eda
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gamfa

Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 113
Location: So. Central Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2007, 17:27    Post_subject:  

Did you get any errors when you patched and re-compiled the kernel?
_________________
"Don't tell my cattle that I have leather seats in my truck"

"I don't let my schooling get in the way of my education"...Mark Twain
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5293
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2007, 20:05    Post_subject:  

It appears that there are 2 different types of these devices:
- serial device on the USB bus
- serial device on the PCMCIA bus

Obviously your device is likely to be a serial device on the USB bus, which will be similar to gamfa's Sierra AC875 Aircard -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=17969

The patch you mentioned will affect the usbserial module, but it may be possible to avoid this patch simply by forcing the usbserial module to recognise your device by specifying your vendor/product numbers when you load it, like this -
Code:
rmmod usbserial
modprobe usbserial vendor=0x.... product=0x....


You can find out your vendor/product numbers with this command
Code:
cat /proc/bus/usb/devices


Then the other important requirement is to create 2 device nodes, with these commands
Code:
mknod /dev/ttyUSB0 c 188 0
mknod /dev/ttyUSB1 c 188 1
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0507s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0124s) ][ GZIP on ]