Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 28 Aug 2014, 21:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Penggy Puppy - Dialup program
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [38 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
lostdog

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Tue 07 Feb 2006, 12:28    Post subject:  

i tried usename@netscape.aol.com. no joy.

haven't found raspy yet, but i will keep looking.

_________________
The truth is out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Yaverot


Joined: 21 Dec 2005
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Tue 07 Feb 2006, 18:49    Post subject:  

Once the problems are figured out, taking this information and making a 'use AOL/Compuserve/etc" wiki page would be good.
_________________
There is a yellow one that won't accept the black one
That won't accept the red one that won't accept the white one
And different strokes for different folks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Thu 09 Feb 2006, 21:15    Post subject:  

Yaverot wrote:
Once the problems are figured out, taking this information and making a 'use AOL/Compuserve/etc" wiki page would be good.


Penggy works fine with AOL/Compuserve/WalmartConnect. Compuserve and WalmartConnect just use a generic version of AOL software. As has been stated Netscape ISP is different though it is owned by AOL. The Netscape software is also much smaller than any AOL software. I have heard of several people connecting to Netscape ISP without the software, but nothing recent and nothing very specific other than what I already posted. If it just has weird username format or does simple username/password scramble, Raspy will show what it is. I hope whoever does this experiment posts back. I cant experiment as I dont have access to a Netscape account. Even the AOL account I used to get Penggy working under Puppy wasnt mine, just temporarily borrowed with permission when my ex was on vacation and didnt need it.

If anybody wants Raspy and absolutely cant find it, post back and I will try and look through some of my old cdr's. I am sure I have it somewhere, hopefully not on some ancient floppy that has now corrupted. Never store anything useful on a floppy longterm. Most likely wont work when you need it.

I might also mention that unlike the old free isps, you do have to have an active paid account to use Penggy, it just allows you to connect to an existing AOL account with linux system. Most people when choosing an isp can find one as cheap or cheaper than anything AOL offers and without needing to run special software to connect, just the regular dialer included with most operating systems. However AOL offers numbers in some more sparsely populated areas where there is little or no other options. Also some linux folk are younger and have to use the isp service that the rest of their family uses and makes available to them. Penggy originated in France. In Europe, AOL account did and maybe still does offer some advantages to usual European ISP. I think in Europe, many have to pay by the minute to even make local phone calls. AOL maybe offered a way around this. Somebody living in Europe could maybe explain how that works in more detail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Thu 09 Feb 2006, 22:00    Post subject:  

Ok, help if I could spell it correctly. Its RASSPY, not RASPY. Here is one link to download it, sure there are others. http://www.geocities.com/daveinfopage/ucfras1.zip I downloaded it and looked at list of files with Puppy, seems all there. Remember its a windoze program. Howto use it instructions included in the zipped pkg. Also a google of RASSPY will find several discussions on using it.

Ok, running across all kinds of old dunning software. Here is link to NIFTY. <edit> direct download link doesnt work right. Go here: http://usuarios.lycos.es/lusifer3300/id2.htm and download NIFTY from list on page. Its just RASSPY with a GUI.

Ok, Dialguard 1.0 and Dialguard 1.8.7 also should work and maybe even easier to use (maybe try Dialguard first before RASSPY). 1.8.7 seems impossible to find. 1.0 has been released by author under GNU license. Here is a download link I found: http://www.stormloader.com/dialguard/ here is another: <edit> direct download link doesnt work. Go here: http://usuarios.lycos.es/lusifer3300/id2.htm and download dialguard 1.0 from list on page. Here is post by somebody on ubuntu forum about his ISP (PeoplePC) which also requires software:

"well, back in the fall and summer I was asking on here about getting my
dial up to work in ubuntu, today it finally worked. I was using suse
for awhile, just to get the feel of it and then it just came to me when
searching google.com/linux. My ISP (peoplepc) scrambles my 6 digit
password into a 25 digit one, how was I supposed to know that!?! Well,
then I had the problem of having a winmodem. This was a problem, but
then I went downstairs and found an old 56K external modem, that was a
real modem! Wow, I was lucky. So, I used my 25 digit password and the
real modem and everything was perfect. If anybody needs the program
that I used to find my real username and password I will be more than
happy to send it to you in email. I think it was called dialguard 1.0,
and you have to run it in windows to find out what you need. Well,
after many months my dial up problems are gone!"

Explains sort of thing I think is happening with Netscape.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lostdog

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Tue 14 Feb 2006, 15:08    Post subject:  

I found Dial Gaurd 2.2.5. It's for windoze, but I have it if anyone wnats it.

Dial gaurd doesn't show anything out of the ordinary when I dial in, so I guess it isn't the one to use. It does pop up and tell you who the dialer is trying to connect to, and the number, user name, and password it is using.

the original was writen because of unscupulous isp's putting another dialer program on your computer that would make long distance calls, and incur HUGE phone charges.

found rasspy, got it started, and it didn't show anything encrypted. just the standard login info, of username and password.

it must be sometning else that netscape isp does that stops linux from connecting, or it is something that i am not doing to configure the dialer correctly. i think i have tried everything. matbe some config file that needs to be edited or something.

i guess i'll give up on linux and go back to windows.

_________________
The truth is out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Tue 14 Feb 2006, 20:40    Post subject:  

Nope, Dialguard 2.2.5 will not work for this. You have to use Dialguard 1.0 or Dialguard 1.8.7. This is one case where newer isnt better for this purpose.

Hmm, if you configured Rasspy correctly, then I dont know what to say. I cant believe Netscape went to any great lengths to absolutely force you to use their software. If they really wanted to do that they could have used generic AOL software like Compuserve and WalmartConnect. I mean they get their $10 per month from you. The software I imagine communicates home once in a while giving up tracking info that they then sell for little extra. But few people are going to go to great lengths to defeat it. Those not wanting software generally just pick an isp that doesnt require it.

If it werent such a pain in the butt to cancel, I'd get free month of Netscape just to experiment, but not worth the hassles that AOL tends to throw in the path of cancellation. Must be profitable behavior as they have been successfully class action sued in several states over this, yet from what I've heard still do it.

What exactly happens when you put username/password/phone number in regular dialer? You have tried changing the dialer string for your modem from AT&F2 to ATZ didnt you? It would be in /etc/ppp/chatscripts folder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lostdog

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb 2006, 11:47    Post subject:  

hi mouldy,

i used 1.8.7, i found 2.2.5 later while looking for more info.

netscape wouldn't have to do very much to make you use thier dialer. it would just take a simple code that tells the server that you are using thier dialer.

when i try to connect wvdial will dial and talk to the server several time, but the server doesn't talk back. then it hangs up and says "no carrier". i checked the messeges file, (can't remember where it is), and it says that the chatscript failed. don't know how it could fail, but......

yes i found out about the "AT&FW" string a while back in my search for a solution.

i tried the windows dialer, and it went right on in, no problems, but the linux dialers won't do it.

i got netzero free isp yesterday. you get an email address, and 10 hours a month. when i ran raspy against the dialer it locked up. the dialer just froze and wouldn't do anything until i canceled rasspy. when rasspy starts, it will show the username and password as i type them in, no encryption.
when i click on allow rasspy disappears and doesn't come back. i looked for a log file, but rasspy doesn't create one.

_________________
The truth is out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb 2006, 12:57    Post subject:  

Netzero/Juno since they are last of free isps with their 10 hour offer, got the brunt of the dunners efforts at end of the free isp era. They learned that it is not so easy to force determined dunners to use their software though I lost interest about this time, I mean how much time does one want to spend just to get free isp service? Unless you just enjoy it as a sport/hobby... some people do. Look on www.freedomlist.com and there are several isps you can get for $5 or $6 per month with no software required. Usually limited to 150-200 hour per month. I pay $10 for one called erweb.net. It is truly unlimited hours and no required software. Good connections/networks plus they offer an unlimted 800 connection number that can be called from any phone in USA. That unlimited toll free number to connect is truly unique and valuable especially if you ever travel or are out in boonies. Most isps with 800 number either restrict it or charge extra if you use it. Usually a lot extra.

Oh, forgot to mention, Netzero has an "anti-rasspy" module in their software. Locks rasspy up. You need to look for it and delete it then rasspy works. Dont remember what they call it, but has rspy or something like that in file name. Most started using dialguard about that time I think. they may now have an "anti-dialguard" module too. I think there may even be some later software one can use but I havent kept up with it. One other tip on Netzero if you use their software. Their more modern software starts with small download which then downloads rest of itself in next couple hours of surfing. Surfing is relatively slow but ok during those couple hours then slows to crawl as you start getting the ads. Just remember to save that original download someplace under another filename. When the ads start showing, uninstall Netzero, then copy that original download and let it start all over again. You still will be limited to 10 hour per month total as they have a timer on connection from any particular phone number. (Yes, didnt refer to it as the free-isp wars for nothing.)

Now you say the windows dialer works on Netscape? Do you mean Netscape software or did you just put Netscape username/password into normal windows dialer? If it works in normal windows dialer then it will work in linux dialer assuming your modem works under linux. Did you try all three dialers included in Puppy? Xeznet and WVdial sometimes work where Gkdial doesnt. I dont know why but I have had problems with some computers with Gkdial where I had to use Xeznet, Gkdial just wouldnt dial out no matter how I adjusted settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb 2006, 13:22    Post subject:  

Hmm, hadnt tried wvdial in a while. Am using it now. Absolutely no problem.

I have never run across instance where I could connect with regular windows dialer but couldnt with linux dialer. You are just using default settings in windows dialer, correct?

Have you tried using a live Knoppix cd. Let it get to the default KDE desktop and use the KDE dialer. Its got loads of settings to experiment with and you dont have to dig around in some configuration file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lostdog

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2006, 11:47    Post subject:  

hi mouldy,

the only reason i got the netzero free dialup was to try rasspy on it to see what would happen. i had never used rasspy, and since it wasn't showing anything on the netscape dialer, i thought i would try something else to see how it works. that was a waste of time tho.

when i used the windows dialer i used the default settings. all i did was enter the phone number, username and password, and it connected with no problems.

yes i did try all three dialers in puppy. gkdial refuses to work, but xeznet and wvdial will dial the modem.

i have an older usrobotics external serial hardware modem. i know it works because i called a long distance number without dialing 1 first, and got the recording saying that i couldn't connect as dialed.

i haven't tried knoppix yet. i guess i'll have to get it and see what happens. i have simply mepis, and the kde dialer doesn't work either.

i wouldn't mind changing isp's, but i think that if i can't use netscape when others can, i'm just not sure about connecting to another isp.

and as far as doing this stuff for fun, well, i guess you could say that. i'm retired and and thought it would be fun to learn about linux, among other puter stuff. and i want to thank you for your time and effort, and sharing your knowledge with me. i tired damn small, and they have a serious attitude problem. it's the rtfm thing, and just a bad attitude in general. i didn't like them. i have found the puppy forum to be fun, interesting and informitive, but above all else it is friendly. i do like it here.

i found the log file. here is what it says after attemping to connect with wvdial:

Jan 28 22:57:44 (none) daemon.notice pppd[1050]: pppd 2.4.1 started by root, uid 0
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: abort on (ERROR)
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: abort on (RING)
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: abort on (BUSY)
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: abort on (NO CARRIER)
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: abort on (VOICE)
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: abort on (NO DIALTONE)
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: abort on (NO ANSWER)
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: report (CONNECT)
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: send (ATZ^M)
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: expect (OK)
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: ATZ^M^M
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: OK
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: -- got it
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: send (ATDT9724390006^M)
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: timeout set to 60 seconds
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: expect (CONNECT)
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: ^M
Jan 28 22:58:41 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: ATDTaccessnumber^M^M
Jan 28 22:58:41 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: NO CARRIER
Jan 28 22:58:41 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: -- failed
Jan 28 22:58:41 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: Failed (NO CARRIER)
Jan 28 22:58:41 (none) daemon.err pppd[1050]: Connect script failed
Jan 28 22:58:42 (none) daemon.info pppd[1050]: Exit

_________________
The truth is out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2006, 18:16    Post subject:  

Hmm, no if its external serial modem and works under windows, then it works. Not modem problem then.

Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: send (ATDT9724390006^M)

Is this your long distance number you dialed without a "1" as a test? Otherwise if this is local number then wouldnt 439-0006 work. Different exchanges are different, but either you would dial 1-972-439-0006 or else 439-0006 or possibly 1-439-0006. If you dial starting with an area code, dont think it works. Dont need the dashes, I just added them for clarity.

Just some little thing you didnt enter correctly in linux dialers for some reason, and arent noticing. I dont have windows handy to check, but in windows dont you just check a little box if "1" needs to be dialed? The dialers in Puppy need you to include the "1" as part of the phone number if its required.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lostdog

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon 20 Feb 2006, 13:20    Post subject:  

Quote:
Jan 28 22:57:45 (none) local2.info chat[1054]: send (ATDT9724390006^M)

Is this your long distance number you dialed without a "1" as a test?


No, that is the local number for netscape isp. We hav the 9 digit number here.

Quote:
Just some little thing you didnt enter correctly in linux dialers for some reason, and arent noticing. I dont have windows handy to check, but in windows dont you just check a little box if "1" needs to be dialed? The dialers in Puppy need you to include the "1" as part of the phone number if its required.


Yes I know about that, but i did that in linux not windoze.

I even found an ISP that doesn't even have a dialer. The software that you download only sets up the windows dialer for their service. And i still cannot connect. I used wvdial and exeznet, KPPP in mepis, QNX and DSL.
None of them will connect. Windoze connects just fine, but linux flat refuses to. The only way I can get on the net is with windows.

I remember seeing a the rspy file in the netscape directory a while back, but they had an upgrade to the dialer and it's not there now. Guess maybe they incorperated it into the dialer.

_________________
The truth is out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 498

PostPosted: Mon 20 Feb 2006, 17:39    Post subject:  

This is frustrating. Ok, back to the modem. Do a google on your exact model of Robotics modem and look for suggested modem strings. Also a google on people using linux with your particular model modem. I vaguely remember some USRobotics modem giving problems though it was a serial hardware modem. WVdial from log you gave is using ATZ. I have one old Zotrix modem that will not work correctly with either ATZ nor AT&F2... I forget which but one way it wont dial at all and other way it will dial but wont connect or rather the connection immediately dies. It requires me to enter a long modem string in exactly the form given on website I found. Only modem I've ever personally run across that is like this.

Frankly in years I've used non-windoze operating systems, if isp worked in regular windoze dialer, it worked in 'nix dialer. I've used everything from pure dos with Arachne and its dialer to one free trial version of GEOS that had dialer to OS2 to BeOS to QNX (I loved the QNX demo on a floppy) to a wide variety of Linux. There is even one linux on a floppy called Wolflinux that connects and surfs just fine. Your problem just about has to be the interaction of 'nix dialer to your modem. Is there anyway you could beg, borrow, or buy another hardware modem (preferrably a different brand/model)? Unfortunately you are pretty much limited to another serial modem or an older ISA card modem. Very few true PCI hardware modems. Or guess you could try one of the software modems that people have made dotpup drivers for. But that just adds another layer of something to give problems in my opinion.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2006, 19:11    Post subject:  

GOD BLESS YOU MOULDY!!!!!!!

I couldn't find a modem string for the usr modem, so I went and bought a BEST DATA modem. It runs about as fast as a 2400 baud modem, but it may need a burn in. I saw on one site that they would do a burn in test for you for a little extra. It may have been worth it. But I'm typing this in Puppy right now, so it does work. I guess the used modem I bought was too used.

Thanks for hanging in there mouldy. I never did get connected to netscape, but I am connected now. THANKS!!!!!
Back to top
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2006, 19:14    Post subject:  

GOD BLESS YOU MOULDY!!!!!!!

I couldn't find a modem string for the usr modem, so I went and bought a BEST DATA modem. It runs about as fast as a 2400 baud modem, but it may need a burn in. I saw on one site that they would do a burn in test for you for a little extra. It may have been worth it. But I'm typing this in Puppy right now, so it does work. I guess the used modem I bought was too used.

Thanks for hanging in there mouldy. I never did get connected to netscape, but I am connected now. THANKS!!!!!


I will try netscape again to see if I can connect now.
sorry, it was me, lostdog. got excited and forgot to log i geuss.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [38 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1106s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]