Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Jul 2014, 09:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy Dingo 392 testing, bug reporting
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2727

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 18:29    Post subject:  

Wasn't sure myself whether to post it but have seen others do it so figured it was ok. There are (or were) some dead links out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 18:44    Post subject:  CUPS Experiences
Subject description: Can't Print a Thing - So Far
 

I've tried out Dingo A2 + CUPS with an HP Photosmart 2575.

The first thing I discovered is that if you need a .ppd file then d/l it first and put it in /usr/share/cups/model. When I tried this while the wizard was running - it helpfully tells you what to do if your printer isn't listed - everything hangs. Following a reboot, and putting the .ppd in the right place first, the wizard worked fine.

Next: USB connected. No joy. I set it to use USB#1 but nothing happens. the status is

Printer State: idle, accepting jobs.
"Unable to open USB device "usb:/dev/usb/lp1": No such device"
Device URI: usb:/dev/usb/lp0.

Lastly: unplug the USB lead and try the Ethernet connection. No better.

I tried many combinations of ipp and http protocol, but with no luck.

(In case I did it wrong, can some please re-assure me that where the examples say something like http://hostname:631/ipp/' that I substitute the actual ip address of the printer for 'hostname'. If not then this might be my problem.).

I wish I had more success, but so far - nothing has worked. Are there any diagnostic tests I should try? I have tried to ping the printer's i/p address and it's fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 19:47    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
BarryK wrote:
See my blog, a completely rewritten pmount is ready for testing.
Just a little suggestion if I may/
You might put the URL of your development blog in your signature.

Ok, done.
Hmm, no signature. maybe I have to logout then back in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 19:56    Post subject: Re: CUPS Experiences
Subject description: Can't Print a Thing - So Far
 

nic2109 wrote:
I've tried out Dingo A2 + CUPS with an HP Photosmart 2575.

The first thing I discovered is that if you need a .ppd file then d/l it first and put it in /usr/share/cups/model. When I tried this while the wizard was running - it helpfully tells you what to do if your printer isn't listed - everything hangs. Following a reboot, and putting the .ppd in the right place first, the wizard worked fine.

Next: USB connected. No joy. I set it to use USB#1 but nothing happens. the status is

Printer State: idle, accepting jobs.
"Unable to open USB device "usb:/dev/usb/lp1": No such device"
Device URI: usb:/dev/usb/lp0.

Lastly: unplug the USB lead and try the Ethernet connection. No better.

I tried many combinations of ipp and http protocol, but with no luck.

(In case I did it wrong, can some please re-assure me that where the examples say something like http://hostname:631/ipp/' that I substitute the actual ip address of the printer for 'hostname'. If not then this might be my problem.).

I wish I had more success, but so far - nothing has worked. Are there any diagnostic tests I should try? I have tried to ping the printer's i/p address and it's fine.

There has been a lot of positive feedback that the new cups system works.
When it displays the interfaces to choose from, the one with your printer should be obvious as it will give the name of your printer that it has identified on the usb interface -- if you don't get that then something is wrong. It seems something is wrong as you mention 'lp1' whereas if you only have one printer I would expect it to be using '/dev/usb/lp0'. You shouldn't have to manually edit anything, it should just be a matter of selecting from the menus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 19:59    Post subject:  

Where's raffy and raman? I want them to test the new pmount, make sure it detects all usb and sata devices, and mounts ntfs read-write. Make sure you grab the latest off ibiblio, that I have just uploaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 210
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2007, 04:47    Post subject: new pmount does not detect my floppy drive  

The original pmount (in the iso) detects my floppy drive. The new one does not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2007, 10:31    Post subject: Re: CUPS Experiences
Subject description: Can't Print a Thing - So Far
 

BarryK wrote:
There has been a lot of positive feedback that the new cups system works.
When it displays the interfaces to choose from, the one with your printer should be obvious as it will give the name of your printer that it has identified on the usb interface -- if you don't get that then something is wrong. It seems something is wrong as you mention 'lp1' whereas if you only have one printer I would expect it to be using '/dev/usb/lp0'. You shouldn't have to manually edit anything, it should just be a matter of selecting from the menus.


Thanks for the response. I've tried again via the USB method, just taking selecting from the menus as directed. The first of the USB Printer entries (they are #1 to #16) had some numbers beside it so I assume that it had detected something and used that. All the other setting were the "obvious" ones. CUPS came back and had added the printer successfully, even getting the serial number in the status page. See attached screenshots.

Then, clicking on 'Print Test Page' switches to 'Test page sent; job ID is HP-n' where n increments by 1 each time. But nothing happens, and the Jobs screen shows no active jobs and no completed jobs either.

It's a mystery.
CUPS Status.png
 Description   Printer status once added.
 Filesize   121.85 KB
 Viewed   416 Time(s)

CUPS Status.png

CUPS Choices.png
 Description   USB Ports available
 Filesize   66.66 KB
 Viewed   431 Time(s)

CUPS Choices.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2007, 18:14    Post subject: Re: new pmount does not detect my floppy drive  

zygo wrote:
The original pmount (in the iso) detects my floppy drive. The new one does not.

Ah, yes, I'll have to add that.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2007, 18:22    Post subject:  

nic2109,
It's interesting that the first usb choice only has the "(6541)" next to it. In my case, two printers that I have tested with, the full name of the printer was displayed. So, I can see why you were uncertain which option to choose.

As to why nothing prints.... that's where I curse CUPS, for the many times I have clicked that button to print a test page and nothing prints. Sometimes even there's no error message, as in your case.

With your printer, is there a close model in the Gutenprint range of drivers that you can try? -- you would have seen a big list in one of the pull-down windows.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2007, 18:27    Post subject:  

nic2109,
I just remembered something, there's another thread in this forum where someone reported the same problem as you. They fixed it by installing the full 'hpijs' package -- the thread has a link to a .pup package.
It may be that something is missing if you only obtained the ppd file -- I would like to know what.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Caneri

Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 1580
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2007, 18:36    Post subject:
Subject description: printing
 

Try this

http://www.puppylinux.ca/members/printing3/

_________________
Be not afraid to grow slowly, only be afraid of standing still.
Chinese Proverb

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2007, 18:41    Post subject:  

@BarryK

Fine that you did put the link of your blog in the signature.
I appreciate.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 666
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2007, 21:49    Post subject:
Subject description: Minor Problem Found
 

When I start up the 392 alpha version, I notice the following icons were missing: home, html, chat, drive, and save. The desktop files were pointing to the wrong icon files.

Home points to home48.png. The file that works is folder48.png
Html points to webeditor48.png. The file that works is webedit48.png.
Chat points to kopete48.png. The file that works is chat48.png.
Drive points to usbflashdrive48.png. The file that works is drive48.png
Save points to saveflash48.png. The file that works is save48.png.

I hope this helps.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jnoble

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2007, 22:15    Post subject: pupdial in 4.00 a2
Subject description: chap secrets not being created
 

Barry
I don't know enough about programing to tell you what needs fixing, but I'll tell you what I did to make it work and you'll probably know. I went to /etc/ppp/chap secrets, which had nothing in it and added (username * password *) and it worked. Also clicking on connect always brings up the modem setup screen, even after you have already setup modem. clicking on modem setup then brings up pupdial setup screen.
Hope this helps.
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
plinej

Joined: 13 Aug 2006
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2007, 22:26    Post subject:  

/usr/local/bin/play can be removed since it's for gxine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0865s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]