Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 20:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Fire Hydrant featherweight, Main & Inferno Released
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2008, 22:58    Post subject: Re: Inferno 3.0b  

TrailerTrash wrote:
I am sure that I will like this edition of FH and am now downloading it but would like to know if this is the 3.00 or 3.01 version. If it is the older should I wait for corrections/updates when Inferno 3.01 is ready?

tks


well its based on 3.0 build, I added all the updates to make it identical to 3.01
but as the next "Inferno" is in the planning stage and could use some feedback:)
http://ttuuxxx.com/chitchat/index.php?topic=5.0
thanks for everything
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
earlytv


Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 139
Location: Racine WI USA

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2008, 08:31    Post subject:  

I have Inferno installed on a Intel D201GLY. I use 1024x768 which like all Puppy had noise, dots, on the screen, so I installed the Intel sis_drv.so driver. I did this right after install.
No more noise but with this driver way larger than orig I dont know what else if anything it did? ( It does have a small black boarder all around screen that was not present before?)
I see screens that are way wider than 1024x768 and need to scroll side to side and then next screen that fits 1024x768 with no scroll? I would like if possible to have no scroll side to side?
Is this possible?

Next Xsane dont seem to work? Click then nothing happens?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 03 Mar 2008, 05:42    Post subject:  

earlytv wrote:
I have Inferno installed on a Intel D201GLY. I use 1024x768 which like all Puppy had noise, dots, on the screen, so I installed the Intel sis_drv.so driver. I did this right after install.
No more noise but with this driver way larger than orig I dont know what else if anything it did? ( It does have a small black boarder all around screen that was not present before?)
I see screens that are way wider than 1024x768 and need to scroll side to side and then next screen that fits 1024x768 with no scroll? I would like if possible to have no scroll side to side?
Is this possible?

Next Xsane dont seem to work? Click then nothing happens?


Hi earl

Basically Xorg and xvesa work, The problems you are having is a regular thing on puppy with some hardware, I would run the xorg setup again, then when its finished the test, hit ctrl+backspace and the select "Use Generic Driver" try those drivers, they seem to work best for me.
I never tried xsane but you could always try to reinstall the original packages over the top of those.
http://www.puppylinux.ca/pet3/xsane-0.994.pet
and
http://www.puppylinux.ca/pet3/sane-1.0.18.pet

plus if you need anymore of the ordinal packages you can get them here
http://www.puppylinux.ca/pet3/

if you need anymore help just ask
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kinjeng


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed 05 Mar 2008, 14:57    Post subject: can't reboot or shutdown  

hi tuxx i have instaled firehydrant on my pc
after i make a custumization on it i have a problem
it can't reboot or shutdown
the error message is cat: /tmp/oldmousedevice : no such file or direktory

and it back to icewm again

i allready work arround and copy that from live cd or from fresh instalation on ather pc its not work , and the file oldmousedevice it's gone again !!

walah i wasted 2 day for wondering why it can be, alltough i can install ea new one , but it botherin me so much till i can't sleep well haha..

thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 06 Mar 2008, 08:00    Post subject: Re: can't reboot or shutdown  

kinjeng wrote:
hi tuxx i have instaled firehydrant on my pc
after i make a custumization on it i have a problem
it can't reboot or shutdown
the error message is cat: /tmp/oldmousedevice : no such file or direktory

and it back to icewm again

i allready work arround and copy that from live cd or from fresh instalation on ather pc its not work , and the file oldmousedevice it's gone again !!

walah i wasted 2 day for wondering why it can be, alltough i can install ea new one , but it botherin me so much till i can't sleep well haha..

thx


Its not a Fire Hydrant problem its a puppy problem read this
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=166683
if your remastering puppy don't use dougal remaster script, use the puppy one, Dougal remaster script in puppy 3 series is broken.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kinjeng


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu 06 Mar 2008, 12:50    Post subject:  

no tuxxx its my problm i havent remaster it yet

this morning i found it
the problm is coz i set the partition and mount like this

hda1 swap
hda2 ext2
hda3 ext3

i try to saperate "/ " and "/root"

my fstab is

/dev/hda2 / ext2 defaults 0 1
/dev/hda3 /root ext2 defaults 0 0


and it works , but...

maybe at shutdown reboot script its unmount /root first so it can excute xinitrc scrit.. isn't it?? i don't i didn't try yet

after i move again /root to normal instalation its back normaly..

maybe i need think twice to do that again Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
recycler


Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 122
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 22 Mar 2008, 05:58    Post subject: Great puppy!
Subject description: Really like fire hydrant
 

Thanks for this - obviously lots of hard work gone into this! I did a frugal install of inferno on my test machine today and got it to boot up from grub so I was really pleased! (btw ubuntu is the only way I can manage to get grub setup but it works...). I am using it as my main puppy - really like the choice of additions and the overall look is very polished and appealing.

Now trying the office pup version on a 633 mhz HP desktop, 125MB RAM. Runs fine. What I would like to see most is increased screen resolutions. 800x600 is ok and the HP can do it with xvesa. However, trying it on a Dell Dimension 2400 can only get 640x480. Personally (until the next version is released) I will be using this on my two PIII 512mb machines at home and it runs fast on both of those with a high screen resolution...mmm...they both have FX5200 graphics cards which is why (lol).

So anyway - really impressed and will let you know more when I have played around with it a bit. Now...off to see of I can revive the ex windows HP desktop with a HD install of fire hydrant!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 22 Mar 2008, 08:42    Post subject:  

kinjeng wrote:
no tuxxx its my problm i havent remaster it yet

this morning i found it
the problm is coz i set the partition and mount like this

hda1 swap
hda2 ext2
hda3 ext3

i try to saperate "/ " and "/root"

my fstab is

/dev/hda2 / ext2 defaults 0 1
/dev/hda3 /root ext2 defaults 0 0


and it works , but...

maybe at shutdown reboot script its unmount /root first so it can excute xinitrc scrit.. isn't it?? i don't i didn't try yet

after i move again /root to normal instalation its back normaly..

maybe i need think twice to do that again Rolling Eyes


Well it sounds like your figuring it out, Thats excellent, Keep posting your findings, that way it might help so other user who runs into a problem similar to yours:)
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 22 Mar 2008, 08:47    Post subject: Re: Great puppy!
Subject description: Really like fire hydrant
 

recycler wrote:
Thanks for this - obviously lots of hard work gone into this! I did a frugal install of inferno on my test machine today and got it to boot up from grub so I was really pleased! (btw ubuntu is the only way I can manage to get grub setup but it works...). I am using it as my main puppy - really like the choice of additions and the overall look is very polished and appealing.

Now trying the office pup version on a 633 mhz HP desktop, 125MB RAM. Runs fine. What I would like to see most is increased screen resolutions. 800x600 is ok and the HP can do it with xvesa. However, trying it on a Dell Dimension 2400 can only get 640x480. Personally (until the next version is released) I will be using this on my two PIII 512mb machines at home and it runs fast on both of those with a high screen resolution...mmm...they both have FX5200 graphics cards which is why (lol).

So anyway - really impressed and will let you know more when I have played around with it a bit. Now...off to see of I can revive the ex windows HP desktop with a HD install of fire hydrant!


Your welcome, I always like a compliment Smile
, One of the problems with it is K3B it needs some extra libraries, It shows you in the setup or preferences.
You can go to wwww.linuxpackages.net and missing slackwarec 12 packages and just extract them to / (the directory above root.)
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3202
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Sat 03 May 2008, 15:14    Post subject: Inferno  

Very Happy Hello Very Happy
@Ttuuxxx,
Finally got around to trying the Inferno CD I burned..
Very nice!! Very Happy Could you have squeezed in one more program?? Very Happy Or another Fire Plug?? LOL..But seriously,
all this and functional too...And fast...Love all the extra "Ttuuxxx touches") ......A guy could learn a lot from you... Cool All I could really find to add was Hotpup...
And Pimpzilla....what can I say.... Very Happy

..........This is a lesson on how a Distro should be........


...Puppyluvr,,, Very Happy
@ how do you like the background? Very Happy
inferno.png
 Description   
 Filesize   304.65 KB
 Viewed   1181 Time(s)

inferno.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 03 May 2008, 19:49    Post subject:  

I like the background a lot, If you can upload it to imageshack or send it via PM, I'll use it in the next release Smile Anything you would like to in the next release you leave a message in the Fire Hydrant Forum located at http://ttuuxxx.com/chitchat/index.php?topic=5.0
also thanks for the compliments Smile
ttuuxxx
PS if I ever figure out how to get HotPup to work properly meaning every time I try to install it, all the icons alway end-up on the top left corner of the screen.

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3202
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Sun 04 May 2008, 12:01    Post subject: Shut down issues
Subject description: ?laptop?
 

Very Happy Hello Ttuuxxx Very Happy
Ran Inferno for 3-4 hours..Worked great..Changed very little, hotpup and background..
When I tried shut-down ..Blank screen...no CLI..nothing except the CD drive winding up
to warp speed, (it did not burn a save, I checked) Had to cold kill to get out..
When I reboot Inferno, I will try various shutdown methods and post what works(or not).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1513

PostPosted: Tue 17 Mar 2009, 13:01    Post subject:  

I've just installed Featherweight and it's working well apart from a lockup when I overloaded it. It seems to be a good bridge between Puppy 2 and Puppy 4, with some good themes and visual effects as part of the package.

Thanks and well done for a fine effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 17 Mar 2009, 13:17    Post subject:  

Colonel Panic wrote:
I've just installed Featherweight and it's working well apart from a lockup when I overloaded it. It seems to be a good bridge between Puppy 2 and Puppy 4, with some good themes and visual effects as part of the package.

Thanks and well done for a fine effort.


Glad you like it, There will be more 'Fire Hydrants' In the near future, just after 4.2, I have a couple of 'living water' builds to do. Then comes the next 'Fire Hydrant' Series Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1513

PostPosted: Tue 17 Mar 2009, 20:49    Post subject:
Subject description: Lock ups again
 

Thanks. Sadly, it locked up again and for no obvious reason so at the moment I'm back using puppyluvr's Icecat 3.01, though using the savefile I had from Featherweight. I'm not saying it was the fault of Featherweight but so far (3 hours' later) this combo hasn't crashed or locked up, so I'm sticking with it for the time being.

I've had lockups in several other distros I've used. It's always the same thing; the caps lock and scroll lock lights start flashing in unison and nothing works at all so I have to switch the computer off and start again.

The one it hasn't happened with yet is Lighthouse, for some reason (and even tazoc admits he doesn't know why). I'm going to try some others soon to see how they work out in this regard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1022s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]