Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Sep 2014, 19:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
GtkBasic Alarmclock
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 14:02    Post subject:  GtkBasic Alarmclock  

Screenshot:



Download:
http://dotpups.de/puppy3/dotpups/Desktop-Tools/GtkBasic-Alarmclock.pup

It requires GtkBasic 003, so will not function in Puppy 2 or older.
http://dotpups.de/puppy3/dotpups/Programming/GtkBasic003/Gtkbasic-003.pup

It includes english and german, dutch and french localization (merci Béèm).
Do not close the clock window when the alarm is active, or it will stop.
On request I could add, that the alarm continues in background.

Mark

Last edited by MU on Sat 24 Nov 2007, 19:07; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 14:31    Post subject:  

updated dotpup, there was a small timing error.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 15:35    Post subject:  

Installed and did the test.
The alarm went off.

Then filled in the time (hour, minute, seconds) at which the alarm should go off and pushed alarm on.

But arrived at that time, the alarm didn't go off.

Trying in Puppy 3.01

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 15:39    Post subject:  

And here is a real countdown timer.

Screenshot:



Download:
http://dotpups.de/puppy3/dotpups/Desktop-Tools/GtkBasic-Countdown-timer.pup


Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 15:46    Post subject:  

Probably operator error.
I did set a time while the alarm was on.
Now I did set the alarm off
Set a new time
Set the alarm on

And then the alarm went off indeed.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 17:02    Post subject:  

Béèm,
it should take over timechanges even while the alarm is running.
Did you install the updated dotpup?

The first release sometime did not count every second, but skipped some, so the alarm was ignored.

Can you reproduce your error?

Oh and by the way, can you please translate this to francais et flamon?

Code:
l_start = "l_start = "alarm on"
l_stop = "alarm off"
l_edit = "edit action"
l_test = "test action"
l_active = "alarm is on"
l_notactive = "alarm is off"


Code:
l_start = "start countdown"
l_stop = "stop countdown"
l_min = "minutes:"
l_sec = "seconds:"


What is the locale of flamon? It it "be"? I vaguely rember something with belo-russian Laughing

Thanks for testing Smile
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 17:40    Post subject:  

Yes I downloaded the second one and installed.
I got nicely the question if I would re-install, which I did.
Hope this is considered as an update.

I must have made some mistake, as now it works, except that sometimes I get one woof and sometimes two woofs.

As for the locale.
Ideally I would like to use en_BE@EURO
(or is it uk_BE@EURO)

That one not being available, the closest for me is nl_NL@EURO
At least I have locale setting like date, time, currency as I should have except that messages come in nl when the application has locale support.

I have looked already in those locala files, but apparently these are binaries and I don't know how to generate one for en_BE@EURO.

Oh yes, Belo-Russian has nothing to do with Flemish or Belgian.
In the very beginning of my Puppy experience I thought that the locale be_XXXX stood for Belgian until I found out it was Belo-Russian.
And indeed I think we had an exchange of posts about this.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 17:51    Post subject:  

you can extract for Puppy 3 this huge pack to a temporary folder, it is 50 MB or so extracted.

Then move the locale you need to
/usr/lib/locale

Then you should be able to choose them in chooselocale.

http://dotpups.de/diverse-tgz/glibc-i18n-2.5-noarch-4.tgz

# ls | grep BE
de_BE
de_BE@euro
de_BE.utf8
fr_BE
fr_BE@euro
fr_BE.utf8
nl_BE
nl_BE@euro
nl_BE.utf8
wa_BE
wa_BE@euro
wa_BE.utf8
# ls | grep be
be_BY
be_BY@latin
be_BY.utf8
gez_ER@abegede
gez_ET@abegede

Maybe that includes a good for you?

Hmm.. my GtkBasic locale-function just checks the first 2 characters, I should add a check for the full locale first.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 18:18    Post subject:  

MU,

l_start = "l_start = "alarm on" "alarm aan" "alarme activée"
l_stop = "alarm off" "alarm af" "alarme désactivée"
l_edit = "edit action" "defineer actie" "éditez l'action"
l_test = "test action" "test actie" "testez l'action"
l_active = "alarm is on" "alarm staat op" "alarme est active"
l_notactive = "alarm is off" "alarm staat af" "alarme est inactive"

l_start = "start countdown" "start aftelprocedure"
l_stop = "stop countdown" "stop aftelprocedure"
l_min = "minutes:" "minuten:" "minutes:"
l_sec = "seconds:" "seconden:" "secondes:"

Green is Dutch, Blue is French.

I hesitate for "start countdown" and "stop countdown"
I have asked advice.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 18:38    Post subject:  

MU,

If I go in Start|Desktop|Chooselocale country localization and I click fetch I will have that list, isn't it?
I then choose the one I want and it goes to /us/bin/locale, not?

Well I downloaded to see and it's still extracting.
Will come back later.

In the meantime I got a response for the French translation.
"start countdown" "démarrage compte à rebours"
"stop countdown" "arrêt compte à rebours"

I know French can be sometime not very concise.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 18:51    Post subject:  

MU,

Extract is done.
But the one I like to have en_BE@EURO isn't there.

Well I expected this, as I think I had done this exercise before.

So the question is: How difficult would it be to build one for someone who is no programmer.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 18:52    Post subject:  

Thanks, I updated both dotpups wirth french and dutch.

I don't know what chooselocale offers for languages.
I was missing some (the UTF-8 version of german), so I took it from the big package above.
It is the full locale set from Slackware 12.

I extracted it on a second harddrive, and them moved the folder
usr/lib/locale/de_DE.utf8

Now that is available in chooselocale and can be activated there (chooselocale will put an entry in /etc/profile).

So you could do the same with your language, if it is missing in chooselocale.

I still had no äöüß in icewm, so here is what I did in detail:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=23847 (second message, icewm unicode)

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 18:55    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
MU,

Extract is done.
But the one I like to have en_BE@EURO isn't there.

Well I expected this, as I think I had done this exercise before.

So the question is: How difficult would it be to build one for someone who is no programmer.


I have no idea Sad

I think these files must be compiled with the whole libc, so someone had to patch the sources and recompile it.
Unfortunately I don't know, how the source had to be patched, to achieve the combination you want.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 19:05    Post subject:  

hm, maybe this works:

set en_US as your language

Now replace all files in
/usr/lib/locale/en_US
with the files from:
/usr/lib/nl_NL@EURO

So when a program starts, it uses english messages (as the applications now use their english files), but your other settings like currency might be "nl", as you have overwritten the US-definitions with the NL-definitions.

But this is just a wild guess... make a backup first of that folder, in case I'm totally wrong Wink

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 19:14    Post subject:  

Thank you.
That is an idea to look into.
And yes, backup would be a must in such a case.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1307s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0427s) ][ GZIP on ]