Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 17:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
pBurn 4.3.10
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 22 of 144 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, ..., 142, 143, 144 Next
Author Message
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5754
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 30 May 2008, 01:48    Post_subject:  

disciple wrote:
"Video Disc" is grayed out in Dingo

Yes, you're right.

Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
dionicio

Joined: 29 Oct 2007
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri 30 May 2008, 19:20    Post_subject: cheksum worries  

"growisofs is a frontend of mkisofs and cdrecord. It means it can't do anything else than combine mkisofs with a pipe to cdrecord. It also autodetect settings for multisession, and set other options (as burnfree) as default.

But to your case. Do I understand you right: Copy a disk with growisofs, and the new copy is bigger than the original. Copy with cdrecord, both are equal.

Are you into this enough to give us an example and show us the commands with growisofs and mkisofs/cdrecord."

..............................

Sigmund, sorry it is until now that I go on with this...

Allow me to use this real-time kernel distro as an example:
ubuntustudio-8.04-alternate-i386.iso
size: 1 153 828 864 bytes
md5sum: 55e4d7be543b0a228c36718b90a6e6d6

Using default burning options on a DVD+R:
growisofs -speed=4 -dvd-compat -Z /dev/hda="/mnt/sda7/ubuntustudio/ubuntustudio-8.04-alternate-i386.iso"
making a dd copy gives this file properties:
size: 1 153 859 584 bytes
md5sum: b70f6d9e22ed468a4217f6b72f62cd2c

Using default burning options on a DVD-R:
growisofs -speed=4 -dvd-compat -Z /dev/hda="/mnt/sda7/ubuntustudio/ubuntustudio-8.04-alternate-i386.iso"
making a dd copy gives this file properties:
size: 1 153 859 584 bytes
md5sum: b70f6d9e22ed468a4217f6b72f62cd2c

Using edited burning options on a DVD-R:
cdrecord -dao dev=ATAPI:/dev/hda "/mnt/sda7/ubuntustudio/ubuntustudio-8.04-alternate-i386.iso"
making a dd copy gives this file properties:
size: 1 153 828 864 bytes
md5sum: 55e4d7be543b0a228c36718b90a6e6d6

Only using the classic cdrecord without burnfree renders the same
original size and checksum.

Is this important?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6449
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 30 May 2008, 19:53    Post_subject:  

It interesting that you get the same size every time (well at least twice) with growisofs.
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5754
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 31 May 2008, 01:49    Post_subject:  

dionicio wrote:
Only using the classic cdrecord without burnfree renders the same
original size and checksum.
Does this mean that turning on burnfree gives the difference. Growisofs turns burnfree on by default.

nice report!!!
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6449
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 31 May 2008, 18:19    Post_subject:  

Apparently if you don't eject the disc after burning you won't find the correct checksum.
Presumably that isn't your problem?

You seemed to imply the problem is just with DVD media. Is that correct, or is it just that you only use DVD media?

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5754
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jun 2008, 13:44    Post_subject:  

Version 1.9.0
see main post

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jun 2008, 13:52    Post_subject:  

@zigbert: You keep updating Pburn faster than Barry can catchup .. I just read on his blog today that he updated to Pburn 1.8.0 and you are already on 1.9.0 ... LOL .Smile
_________________
Macpup - The beauty of linux | Pritlog - Simple blog app
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 00:14    Post_subject:  

I get the following in a message window every time I try to add files or directories using the file browser:
Code:
Nothing to add.
Pburn can't open directories or files from imported sessions.

Started with 1.8/0 (I think) and continues with 1.9.0. No errors on the command line. This is in Grafpup, so my guess is some small utility might be missing that is now in Puppy.

Nathan

_________________
Bring on the locusts ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM YIM MSNM 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5754
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 10:11    Post_subject:  

could it be that grafpup uses 'ls' from busybox and it doesn't support -A1 parameter. Line 410 in /usr/local/pburn/func says:
Code:
ls -A1 "$DIR" > $WORKDIR/pburn-tmp


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2008, 15:37    Post_subject:  

No, I put the real ls binary in a while back and it does accept that parameter.

Nathan

_________________
Bring on the locusts ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM YIM MSNM 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5754
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jun 2008, 11:47    Post_subject:  

I will try the latest Grafpup, and take a look.
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5754
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jun 2008, 14:24    Post_subject:  

Nathan

What made the trouble was this:
cat $WORKDIR/pburn-tmp | grep "$SELECTED_FILE" > $WORKDIR/pburn-tmp
if I changed it to use 2 different tmp-files
cat $WORKDIR/pburn-tmp2 | grep "$SELECTED_FILE" > $WORKDIR/pburn-tmp
everything works.

Grafpup is a beautiful OS. Multiuser works great. The only thing that stroke my mind, is that you are a strick man. Why do Pwireless need root access?

I have also fixed the Pburn installation to work within a multiuser system.

Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jun 2008, 22:50    Post_subject:  

Sigmund,

I only found one instance of that particular line, in the "func" script. Changed it as you mentioned, but still seem to have the same error. I went back and found that whatever causes the problem is between 1.7.0 and 1.8.0. I'll do a diff on the files and take a little peek at what has changed, perhaps I can track it down.

Other than occasional regressions like this I'm very impressed with Pburn. And thanks for the comments on Grafpup. About wireless and root, I haven't had time to check into optaining an ip address as a non-root user yet. If it turns out not to be too hard and doesn't leave too many security holes I'll make some changes and get rid of the call to gksu. I do know that as of now dhcpcd requires root access, and for a wired connection I'm not sure I would want that changed. Well ifconfig requires it too, to bring an interface up or down, and I think iwconfig requires it to set up your essid. A possible solution might be to allow users to run pwireless with sudo and no password, then there would be no need to enter the root password. I'll have to think on any possible ramifications of that approach.

Nathan

_________________
Bring on the locusts ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM YIM MSNM 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5754
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jun 2008, 03:22    Post_subject:  

Nathan

I changed the given code in "func" line 416, 417, 418, 419. Also had to change 410 and 413 to point to ../tmp2 instead of ../tmp. This worked for me in Grafpup 201 alpha2.


Regarding Grafpup and root, I just find it strange that I can't connect to internet without root access. If I want to set up a multiuser system, my wife would nail me if she had to type 'something' to get on the bloody web. Evil or Very Mad

Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jun 2008, 07:13    Post_subject:  

Thanks, I'll maaaaaake the changes and see what I get. And yes, I understand what you're saying about wireless.

Nathan

_________________
Bring on the locusts ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM YIM MSNM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 22 of 144 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, ..., 142, 143, 144 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0921s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0169s) ][ GZIP on ]