Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 02:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
decTOP Lucent/Agere Winmodem
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
t5710usr

Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 13
Location: warm Midwest

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2007, 17:25    Post_subject:  decTOP Lucent/Agere Winmodem
Sub_title: Puppy 2.17
 

after probe 2.17 reports ttyS__ESS0

I am able to dial out, but somewhere in the modem connection everything freezes and a hard boot required.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6689
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2007, 18:57    Post_subject:  

is it the same modem as in this thread?:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1800055943&t=19796
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
t5710usr

Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 13
Location: warm Midwest

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2007, 19:17    Post_subject:  

muggins,

thanks, I read that thread a few times over checking to see if the problem was the same, I think the internal modem in the decTOP is different (at least slightly different - although I am hardly a winmodem expert).

I also tried 3.01 (from a usb pendrive) with the same results, locks up tighter than a drum.

hopefully someone can offer some guidence, 2.17 (as well as 3.01) runs really nice on the decTOP (w/only 128 MB ram an 10 GB hd).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JB4x4

Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2007, 19:48    Post_subject:  

I also had troubles with Puppy 2.17 / 3.x and a Lucent modem. I "downgraded" to Puppy 2.16 (which had a different modem configuration tool) and everything worked fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6689
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2007, 19:49    Post_subject:  

I just had a vague memory of some sort of IRQ conflict with ESS0 modems? Did Rerwin's modemprobe see your modem?

Aslo, if you run modem-wizard, from the commandline, and try using it to detect your modem, is the end result the same freezing? (You might need to try ttyS_ESS0, ttyLT0...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
t5710usr

Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 13
Location: warm Midwest

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2007, 21:37    Post_subject:  

muggins,

I thought I had seen the conflict listed here on the board as well, I did a search but couldn't find it.

JB4; I just booted 2.16 and you are correct- WORKS!, in fact using the LT modem from the decTOP as I type.

that is totally weird, works in 2.16, but not 2.17 (at least I couldn't get it to work).

Awesome!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4785
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2007, 21:47    Post_subject: happy winmodem  

The 2.17 has a newer kernel, and the kernel of 2.16 seems to make winmodems happy enough. Smile

I wonder if using the "retro" version of 3.01 will fix the problem (the "retro" uses the same kernel as version 2.16).

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6689
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2007, 22:42    Post_subject:  

t5710usr,

but I'm still curious whether it would have been detected, & worked, with the "old" modem-wizard in pup-2.17.1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JB4x4

Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2007, 23:04    Post_subject:  

raffy,

I had tried 3.01 retro, it did not work. Seems to be the modem detection/configuration tool of 2.16 might be key.

JB
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6689
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2007, 23:18    Post_subject:  

isn't that tool still accessible in pup3.01? (/usr/sbin/modem-wizard?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JB4x4

Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 256

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2007, 23:28    Post_subject:  

muggins, That tool, modem-wizard, is still in Puppy (Thank you for locating it). Unfortunately I do not have the test PC around from my previous post. Maybe t5710usr will be willing to investigate Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
wingruntled

Joined: 20 Feb 2007
Posts: 287
Location: Great Lakes

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2007, 23:37    Post_subject:  

I have plugged in many win-modems into a working 2.17 & 3.0 Puppy. I found that after changing modems or even doing a full HD Puppy upgrade I had to delete the wvdial.conf file in /etc and reboot before I could get the current moden to be detected correctly. Probe in pupdial does not always work on upgrade installs or modem swapping.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
t5710usr

Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 13
Location: warm Midwest

PostPosted: Tue 13 Nov 2007, 11:24    Post_subject:  

muggins,

I have 3.01 on a flashdrive and will try it again this evening. A quick test this morning using the command line modem-wizard produced the same dial out, initialization and then freeze up Sad

it is finding it as a lt modem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dolphin

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu 28 Aug 2008, 12:36    Post_subject:  

did anybody successfully configured sound for dectop ?
anybody post a blog about puppy on dectop ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2008, 17:43    Post_subject:  

sound works fine using the wizard in all versions I have tested from 3.0 up and many from the 2.x series
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0628s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]