Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Sep 2014, 05:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
TS3.3ce - New X-Wizard
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 4 [53 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 10:03    Post subject:  

doesn't work for me with the thinkpad x30 830m that I posted lspci for earlier
xwizard generates
Code:
# This file was generated by xwizard (C) 2007 Dipl.-Ing. Michael Niederle
#PuppyHardwareProfile=Almador_Graphics_Chip_Accelerated_VGA_BIOS

Section "ServerLayout"
  Identifier     "simple configuration"
  Screen 0       "screen0" 0 0
  InputDevice    "mouse0"    "CorePointer"
  InputDevice    "keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
  RgbPath        "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/rgb"
  FontPath       "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
  FontPath       "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
  FontPath       "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load          "dbe" # double buffer extension
   SubSection    "extmod"
     Option      "omit xfree86-dga" # don't initialise the DGA extension
   EndSubSection
   Load          "type1"
   Load          "freetype"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
  Identifier     "keyboard0"
  Driver         "kbd"
  Option         "XkbRules" "xorg"
  Option         "XkbModel" "pc102"
  Option         "XkbLayout" "gb"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
  Identifier     "mouse0"
  Driver         "mouse"
  Option         "Protocol" "auto"
  Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
  Identifier     "monitor0"
  ModelName      "unknown"
  Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
  Identifier     "device0"
  #model         "Almador Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0"
  Driver         "vesa"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
  Identifier     "screen0"
  Device         "device0"
  Monitor        "monitor0"
  DefaultDepth   24
  SubSection "Display"
    Viewport     0 0
    Depth        24
    Modes        "800x600"
  EndSubSection
EndSection

this upsets X so much that it replaces it with this before starting
Code:
...
...

#everything past here is auto-generated by Puppy's Xorg Wizard...


Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option      "XkbRules" "xorg"
   Option      "XkbModel" "pc102"
   Option      "XkbLayout" "gb" #xkeymap0
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "auto" #mouse0protocol
   Option       "Device" "/dev/mouse"
   #Option      "Emulate3Buttons"
   #Option      "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
   Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #scrollwheel
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
   ModelName    "Monitor Model"
   HorizSync    31.5-48.5
   VertRefresh  40-70
   #UseModes     "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
   EndSection
   
Section "Modes"
   Identifier "Modes0"
   #modes0modeline0
EndSection

Section "Device"
   ### Available Driver options are:-
   ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
   ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
   ### [arg]: arg optional
   #Option     "NoAccel"               # [<bool>]
   #Option     "SWcursor"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "ColorKey"              # <i>
   #Option     "CacheLines"            # <i>
   #Option     "Dac6Bit"               # [<bool>]
   #Option     "DRI"                   # [<bool>]
   #Option     "NoDDC"                 # [<bool>]
   #Option     "ShowCache"             # [<bool>]
   #Option     "XvMCSurfaces"          # <i>
   #Option     "PageFlip"              # [<bool>]
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "i810" #card0driver
   VendorName  "Intel Corporation"
   BoardName   "82830 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller]"
   BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 16
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "1024x768"
    EndSubsection
EndSection

#PuppyHardwareProfile=Almador_Graphics_Chip

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Leachim

Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 10:26    Post subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
#PuppyHardwareProfile=Almador_Graphics_Chip_Accelerated_VGA_BIOS
#PuppyHardwareProfile=Almador_Graphics_Chip


The problem is the different profile-id that is generated by the two wizards.

This is a compatibility issue between the original xorgwizard and my new X-Wizard. I wil try to fix it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Leachim

Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 11:09    Post subject:  

Update updated ...

The naming of the "PuppyHardwareProfile" should now be absolutely identical to that of the original xorgwizard, so xwin will not replace xorg.conf with a new one when X starts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 13:27    Post subject:  

yup that uses your profile though the xorg.conf doesn't work.
Scary colours blooming over the screen I hit CTRL-ALT-BACKSPACE fairly quickly. Is it possible to cook an LCD, I would cry Wink

it is still using the vesa driver at 24bpp 800x600
Normally vesa works from cold boot 16bpp 1024x768 though restarting X corrupts half the screen

it should be i810, and the screen works well at 1024x768

I know there is an i830 driver but I think it is deprecated

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Leachim

Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 14:10    Post subject:  

I'm not sure I understood you fully.

Which driver does the newly created xorg.conf use? My testing with your output of lspci and ddcprobe posted earlier in this thread suggests that it should use i810.

I'm sorry, but I cannot test on Intel-hardware myself. So thanks in advance for your help! Maybe you can post the xorg.conf created by the current version of X-Wizard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 17:22    Post subject:  

it works
Sorry Leachim I forgot to overwrite the original lspci with the one you provided. I now get
Code:
Section "Device"
  Identifier     "device0"
  #model         "Almador Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0"
  Driver         "i810"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
  Identifier     "screen0"
  Device         "device0"
  Monitor        "monitor0"
  DefaultDepth   24
  SubSection "Display"
    Viewport     0 0
    Depth        24
    Modes        "800x600"
  EndSubSection
EndSection


This works fine and actually displays at 1024x768 which is the maximum resolution of the screen!!!!

well done, thank you

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Leachim

Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 19:45    Post subject:  

Bugfixed version uploaded

Some drivers didn't like the double-quotes in the hsync- and refresh-attributes. So the wizard now creates lines like
Code:
  HorizSync      30 - 96
  VertRefresh    50 - 160

instead of
Code:
  HorizSync      "30 - 96"
  VertRefresh    "50 - 160"


I also found some old PC with an Intel 810 graphics adapter! So I can now do testing on Intel graphics hardware myself!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ecomoney


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 2183
Location: Lincolnshire, England

PostPosted: Thu 29 Nov 2007, 22:04    Post subject:  

Hi Leachim/all

Good to see the wizard is going well, Im taking a bit of a holiday from the cybercafe at the moment so wont be able to do much testing myself for a while. Good to see so many others are chipping in to help with this project though.

Keep up the good work!

_________________
Puppy Linux's Mission

Sorry, my server is down atm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 [53 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0811s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]