Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 12:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Conky 1.7.1.1
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10762
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jun 2008, 22:34    Post_subject:  

*****Updated *****
Hi I removed the min/max buttons on this one
Conky-1.5.1Puppy4.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Conky-1.5.1Puppy4.pet 
Filesize  136.17 KB 
Downloaded  796 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
brymway

Joined: 08 Dec 2007
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2008, 21:03    Post_subject:  

I have added the 'modprobes' to my boot folder like someone suggested but still no battery, cpu temp, or fans. I have scanned the internet and copied about ten different conkyrc files and tried them but still nothing. The directions for configuring conky that are out there are like everything else with Linux, 'not for the clueless'. Usually things start to make sense after about three months of un-natural amounts of online reading and experimenting. It stinks being a slow learner. Anyway, Mr. Tux, is your compiled version on Dingo any different from what I've got running now? I'm wondering if I should delete all my conky stuff and download yours with the hopes that those other levels that I want would work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jun 2008, 22:26    Post_subject:  

Rather than fiddling with conky, it may be a good idea to see if your Puppy is even able to read your temperature and such. Take a gander in /proc/acpi/thermal, /proc/acpi/battery/, and /proc/acpi/fan/. If everything is set up right, there should be at least one directory in each one, which will contain files related to it. So you might have /proc/acpi/thermal/THM0/, which has a file named temperature, that lists the temperature of whichever device THM0 is for (varies from laptop to laptop - on mine I just have one for CPU, but other people have one for the MOBO or maybe even drives). Similar situation for batteries and, I assume, fans. My fans don't seem to report anything and I've never bothered trying to make them, so I'm not sure what that would look like if it worked.

Anyways, if you see those files, then take the time to get Conky working. Otherwise first focus on getting your machine to report its stats. If you boot with acpi=off, that would probably cause problems. Also, if your machine uses APM instead of ACPI, you may need to look at /proc/apm/ instead. I'm just guessing as I've never used an APM machine. And of course be sure to modprobe thermal, battery, and fan or those directories I mentioned won't even appear.

When you start configuring Conky, you might need to go into the .conkyrc and specify which device it reports. On all my systems the defaults work, so you probably only need to do this if you have more than one battery or temp sensor. Specifying is done by something like this: ${battery 0}

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
wolfwatcher51

Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jun 2008, 18:12    Post_subject:  

Hey group, Thanks for the new conky and your information.

I had to switch tp pupy4 to get xorg to work on my lappy, si dingo is very new to me.

In puppy 301 conky was set up in .conky, but there is no .conky in dingo. Instead, it looks like there is an abreviated .conky like file called conk.conf.

I used ttuuxxx's compiled for puppy4 dot pet and conky opened and had the same display as is in the first picture.

Please excuse if I use the wrong terminology here, but I think you will get my point. Conky opens as if it is an application like say, a text editor. There is a button on the taskbar and a window for conky. The window has the -.min/max and close buttons as well as a rollup button. The window has it's own border and it's background is not transparent, black or at least dark.

So, If you would be so kind, how do I get conky to display and act like it does in 301? Is what I have described how conky is supposed to look/work in dingo or am I missing something needed so it will look "right"

If this is the only way conky works in dingo, will the older conky version that comes up transparent and uses a .conky file for it's configs work in dingo?

Thanks in advance, Chris.

P.S. OT, does anybody know if someone is making a gdesklets for dingo, or how to get the one for 301 to work in dingo? Again, Thanks,Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10762
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jun 2008, 18:41    Post_subject:  

wolfwatcher51 wrote:
Hey group, Thanks for the new conky and your information.

I had to switch tp pupy4 to get xorg to work on my lappy, si dingo is very new to me.

In puppy 301 conky was set up in .conky, but there is no .conky in dingo. Instead, it looks like there is an abreviated .conky like file called conk.conf.

I used ttuuxxx's compiled for puppy4 dot pet and conky opened and had the same display as is in the first picture.

Please excuse if I use the wrong terminology here, but I think you will get my point. Conky opens as if it is an application like say, a text editor. There is a button on the taskbar and a window for conky. The window has the -.min/max and close buttons as well as a rollup button. The window has it's own border and it's background is not transparent, black or at least dark.

So, If you would be so kind, how do I get conky to display and act like it does in 301? Is what I have described how conky is supposed to look/work in dingo or am I missing something needed so it will look "right"

If this is the only way conky works in dingo, will the older conky version that comes up transparent and uses a .conky file for it's configs work in dingo?

Thanks in advance, Chris.

P.S. OT, does anybody know if someone is making a gdesklets for dingo, or how to get the one for 301 to work in dingo? Again, Thanks,Chris.


The first version I posted had min/max buttons and borders, I then updated it without borders, but conky has a black background by default, if you want a transparent background you need to install "Qiv" its a puppy 3.0 series program you can install via petget on puppy 4.0, just click on puppy 3 files in petget, its a new feature.
the conky file your looking for, my version for series 4.0 is located /usr/local/etc/conky/conky.config

this is what the original untouched conky.config looks like


# Conky, a system monitor, based on torsmo
#
# Any original torsmo code is licensed under the BSD license
#
# All code written since the fork of torsmo is licensed under the GPL
#
# Please see COPYING for details
#
# Copyright (c) 2004, Hannu Saransaari and Lauri Hakkarainen
# Copyright (c) 2005-2007 Brenden Matthews, Philip Kovacs, et. al. (see AUTHORS)
# All rights reserved.
#
# This program is free software: you can redistribute it and/or modify
# it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
# the Free Software Foundation, either version 3 of the License, or
# (at your option) any later version.
#
# This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
# but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
# MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. See the
# GNU General Public License for more details.
# You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
# along with this program. If not, see <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/>.
#
# $Id: conky.conf 990 2007-11-22 19:38:17Z pkovacs $

alignment bottom_left
background no
border_width 1
cpu_avg_samples 2
default_color white
default_outline_color white
default_shade_color white
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders yes
draw_outline no
draw_shades no
font 6x10
gap_x 5
gap_y 60
minimum_size 5 5
net_avg_samples 2
no_buffers yes
out_to_console no
own_window yes
own_window_class Conky
own_window_type normal
stippled_borders 0
update_interval 3.0
uppercase no
use_spacer no

TEXT
$nodename - $sysname $kernel on $machine
$hr
${color grey}Uptime:$color $uptime
${color grey}Frequency (in MHz):$color $freq
${color grey}Frequency (in GHz):$color $freq_g
${color grey}RAM Usage:$color $mem/$memmax - $memperc% ${membar 4}
${color grey}Swap Usage:$color $swap/$swapmax - $swapperc% ${swapbar 4}
${color grey}CPU Usage:$color $cpu% ${cpubar 4}
${color grey}Processes:$color $processes ${color grey}Running:$color $running_processes
$hr
${color grey}File systems:
/ $color${fs_free /}/${fs_size /} ${fs_bar 6 /}
${color grey}Networking:
Up:$color ${upspeed eth0} k/s${color grey} - Down:$color ${downspeed eth0} k/s
$hr
${color grey}Name PID CPU% MEM%
${color lightgrey} ${top name 1} ${top pid 1} ${top cpu 1} ${top mem 1}
${color lightgrey} ${top name 2} ${top pid 2} ${top cpu 2} ${top mem 2}
${color lightgrey} ${top name 3} ${top pid 3} ${top cpu 3} ${top mem 3}
${color lightgrey} ${top name 4} ${top pid 4} ${top cpu 4} ${top mem 4}

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
wolfwatcher51

Joined: 09 Mar 2008
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jun 2008, 05:35    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx,

Thanks for the reply.

I removed the first puppy4 pet, rebooted, then installed the second puppy4 pet. It opened top right like it is supposed to and with a black background like you said it would.

I went to the conky.conf file and changed it from top right to top left and restarted. Hmmm... came back top right.

I got qiv pet and libgdk_imlib.so.1(which is a symlink to xxx.so.1..9.15) and installed the giv. I then made a copy of xxx.0.9.15 and renamed it xxx.so.1. I then put them in usr/bin. Rebooted and conky still black background and top right position.

In 301 I had the following in icewm/startup:
killall conky
qiv -z /root/Choices/ROX-background.jpg
conky -d.
I got this from this forum and it worked perfectly.

In dingo, I had:
killall conky
sleep 12 && conky

It worked with your first puppy4 pet in that it started and was in the top left position and displayed according to the text changes I made to it.

With your second puppy4 pet, it starts top right with black background with both of the icewm startup file entries, rebooting between each.

So, if you would be so kind, what am I doing wrong and how do I fix it so it will open top left, with transparent background? Your help is much appreciated by me and I am sure by other noobs who just read the posts.

Thanks in advance, Chris.

P.S. While you are being so generous with your knowledge and experience, I had a question which I posted in your "Dingo 4.0 Fix" posting. Thanks, Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jimsiff

Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jun 2008, 03:26    Post_subject:  

Ttuuxxx,

I'm running Macpup Dingo. When I try to use the wireless_essid, wireless_link_qual, etc wireless options, I just get the config text in the Conky window instead of the variable values.

Was Conky compiled with the --enable-wlan flag? Without it, we can't use the wireless variables.

Thanks,

Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10762
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jun 2008, 03:36    Post_subject:  

umm no it wasn't because i don't use wireless, butttttttt since you were nice enough to give me the commands I'll recompile it after supper Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10762
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jun 2008, 04:18    Post_subject:  

heres the first wireless conky compiled 1.5.1,
-with a black background
Conky-1.5.1Puppy4-wireless.pet
Description  Black default background
pet

 Download 
Filename  Conky-1.5.1Puppy4-wireless.pet 
Filesize  134.34 KB 
Downloaded  694 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jimsiff

Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jun 2008, 15:14    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx,

That was fast!! Thank you so much... conky works as expeected now. Here's a screen shot...

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10762
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jun 2008, 16:05    Post_subject:  

your welcome Smile
glad it works
ttuuxxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
el ginko

Joined: 11 Jul 2007
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jul 2008, 05:08    Post_subject:  

I have Conky 1.4.5. working on puppy 3.01. its straight from slapt, it hollers about glibc, but it seems to work fine. I dont use win transparency, but i could bundle w or w/o Qiv for kiddos that want/need it...

.pet if anyone wants/needs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1649
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jul 2008, 18:26    Post_subject: question  

I am running the conky for 4.0 in NOP 4.0, The only conky config file i can find is in usr/ect/conky its the default and has alignment bottom left but opens in the top right, I have changed colors and stuff but it has no effect .I cant find the config file in /usr/local/etc/conky/ could it be anywhere else ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Wolf Pup

Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jul 2008, 20:22    Post_subject:  

Its a hidden file. (click the "eye" in rox.)

Code:
/root/.conkyrc

_________________

Visit The Repository - Helpful and hard-to-find treats for Puppy 3.
Click Here for Puppy Support Chat, + Helpful Links.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1649
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 18:07    Post_subject: Thanks  

Thank you very much!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0977s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0079s) ][ GZIP on ]