Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 04:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Gparted problem on 2 computers & p2.16+ (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
r__hughes

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 343
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu 01 Nov 2007, 12:33    Post_subject:  Gparted problem on 2 computers & p2.16+ (Solved)
Sub_title: Gparted greyed out on all pups 2.16 - 3.01
 

I have a Gparted problem on both my computers -
1) IBM thinkpad T22 - 30Ghd - 384MRAM
2) AMD K6 475MHz - 30Ghd+10Ghd+10Ghd - 512MRAM

Gparted comes up with a greyed-out window and an infinitely moving blue bug. It happens on all the following pup versions -
2.16, 2.17, 2.171, 3.01 and 3.01 retro Live CD disks.
In all other respects the puppy system looks fine. and the pmount drive mounter works fine for both computers reporting -
for (1) a 30G vfat hda1
for (2) a 30G vfat hda1, 10G vfat hdd1, 10G vfat hdd5
partview works fine and the pdisk partition manager correctly shows the same as pmount.

Only Gparted has the greyed out problem.

Note - the only series 2 pup used prior to 2.16 was pup202 in which Gparted worked fine - both with Live CD boot and frugal boot using pup4dos.

I have searched the forum but can't see any other mention of this problem.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
headfound


Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 346
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 01 Nov 2007, 15:17    Post_subject:  

I've had the same problem too. I think its down to gparted being fairly memory and processor intensive so takes ages to work. I'm currently using a frugal 3.01 install on a 1ghz P3 with 192megs of ram and it won't work.
I always use Parted Magic
http://partedmagic.com/
Free linux livecd, only 30megs, just gparted! Always works.

_________________
Download a better Computer Smile
Puppy Linux Song
altern8life
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2007, 02:22    Post_subject:  

I had the same problem with Tmxxine, booted to 2.01 and partitioned the drive then booted Tmxinne again and did a full install.
IBM Thinkpad T30 1.8P4 mobile and 1gb ram

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM MSNM 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2007, 03:41    Post_subject:  

do you guys have floppies installed, if not this might be the problem
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=115673&search_id=1678885687#115673

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
r__hughes

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 343
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2007, 11:23    Post_subject:  

My IBM T22 Thinkpad has no floppy drive - it only came with a CD-reader in its so-called ultrabay - when I launch Gparted from a terminal screen I get no fd0 warnings after 30min or so.

The AMD K6 PC has one floppy, 2 CD drives and 3 HDs - it also hangs up indefinitely and gives no fd0 warnings if Gparted is launched from a terminal screen.

-- edited 04nov07 - a previous reference was erroneously made to a wrong message - sorry.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peppyy


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 429
Location: VT USA

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2007, 11:35    Post_subject:  

I had the same problem on a T30, see this thread
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=17990&start=60
If you disable Legacy Floppy in the bios Gparted works like a charm

_________________
Questions? Search Puppy Linux Answers with Google
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM MSNM 
r__hughes

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 343
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2007, 15:51    Post_subject:  

Hi peppyy thanks for the links and references.

I copied /dev to /dev_copy (just in case) then used the terminal to remove all fd references from /dev

Code:
rm /dev/fd*


I can now confirm that the Live CD pup301 Gparted now works on my
IBM T22 thinkpad (which doesn't have a floppy drive anyway)
I didn't have to touch my bios either

Many thanks to all for the valuable hints & info
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SJPUP

Joined: 17 Oct 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2007, 16:26    Post_subject:  

I had this problem and added the target drive to the command,
Code:
gparted /dev/hda

must have read this somewhere
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0585s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]