Xserver 6.8.2

Stuff that has yet to be sorted into a category.
Message
Author
User avatar
mayakovski
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun 20 Nov 2005, 00:42
Location: Comox, BC, CANADA

#61 Post by mayakovski »

MU wrote: In the next lines, you see the default-resolutions for each colordepth, for example

Code: Select all

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes        "1280x1024 1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
You can replace it with

Code: Select all

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes        "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
Then the 24-Bit-Mode will use 1024x768 by default.

Mark
Is there any way to manually specify the refresh rate?

I have tried with the default video setup and with xorg and neither will go above 76Hz, unfortunately anything below 85Hz gives me splitting head aches.

This is the last problem I am having with Puppy. How can I solve it?

I will try install xserver tonight and see if that is any better.
Mayakovski
**********************
Puppy Linux | Barking Up The Right Tree

Compaq Armada 1580DMT | P150, 49MB RAM - 3.2 GB HD, Puppy 1.0.6
Compaq Deskpro EN | P3-733, 384 MB RAM - 80GB HD, Puppy 1.0.7

sb_puppy

#62 Post by sb_puppy »

Thanks Mark. I went the quick and easy way and edited the xorg.conf file.

Mayakovski, with xorg you can edit the "Monitor" section of the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file, or run xorgconfig to update the same file by answering a series of questions.

User avatar
mayakovski
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun 20 Nov 2005, 00:42
Location: Comox, BC, CANADA

#63 Post by mayakovski »

I have dug through xorg.conf and have run the xorgconfig but neither of them seem to have options for setting the refresh rate.

I'll look again tongiht maybe I'm just missing something.
Mayakovski
**********************
Puppy Linux | Barking Up The Right Tree

Compaq Armada 1580DMT | P150, 49MB RAM - 3.2 GB HD, Puppy 1.0.6
Compaq Deskpro EN | P3-733, 384 MB RAM - 80GB HD, Puppy 1.0.7

User avatar
rarsa
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sun 29 May 2005, 20:30
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

#64 Post by rarsa »

have dug through xorg.conf and have run the xorgconfig but neither of them seem to have options for setting the refresh rate.
That's because the refresh rates are completelly dependant on your particular monitor.

I would recommend to go to your monitor's vendor web site and look for the specifications.

Another Idea is to google for "<your monitor brand and model> refresh rate"

e.g. "Samsung SM-721S refresh rate"

User avatar
mayakovski
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun 20 Nov 2005, 00:42
Location: Comox, BC, CANADA

#65 Post by mayakovski »

rarsa wrote:
have dug through xorg.conf and have run the xorgconfig but neither of them seem to have options for setting the refresh rate.
That's because the refresh rates are completelly dependant on your particular monitor.

I would recommend to go to your monitor's vendor web site and look for the specifications.

Another Idea is to google for "<your monitor brand and model> refresh rate"

e.g. "Samsung SM-721S refresh rate"
OK that makes sense to me. I assume I need both the horizonal and vetical rates But even whe I have the refresh rate, where do I put it?

Is it in the xorg.conf file?
Mayakovski
**********************
Puppy Linux | Barking Up The Right Tree

Compaq Armada 1580DMT | P150, 49MB RAM - 3.2 GB HD, Puppy 1.0.6
Compaq Deskpro EN | P3-733, 384 MB RAM - 80GB HD, Puppy 1.0.7

sb_puppy
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat 26 Nov 2005, 05:08
Location: Santa Barbara

#66 Post by sb_puppy »

When I ran xorgconfig there were questions asking for horizontal/vertical sync rates, I had to look up in the user manual for my monitor. (My monitor actually lists sync freq hor: 27-102Khz, vert: 50-160Hz, I picked values well within that I hope). The section created in my xorg.conf looks like this:

Code: Select all


#************************************************************
# Monitor section
#************************************************************

# Any number of monitor sections may be present

Section "Monitor"

    Identifier  "VisionMaster 450"

# HorizSync is in kHz unless units are specified.
# HorizSync may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY.  REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.

    HorizSync   31.5 - 82.0

#    HorizSync	30-64         # multisync
#    HorizSync	31.5, 35.2    # multiple fixed sync frequencies
#    HorizSync	15-25, 30-50  # multiple ranges of sync frequencies

# VertRefresh is in Hz unless units are specified.
# VertRefresh may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY.  REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.

    VertRefresh 50-100

EndSection
lines starting with # are comments so

HorizSync 31.5 - 82.0
VertRefresh 50-100

are the entries affecting the change

John
Abit bh6 mobo, 128Mb ram, Pentium II 350
ps/2 mouse/keyboard
hda WDC AC28400R 8.3 Gb
hdb WDC WD600BB-75CAA0 60.6 Gb
hdd HP_CD-Writer_Plus_9100
hdc BCD_E520C
Puppy 1.0.6

User avatar
rarsa
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sun 29 May 2005, 20:30
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

#67 Post by rarsa »

In the monitor section

User avatar
mayakovski
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun 20 Nov 2005, 00:42
Location: Comox, BC, CANADA

#68 Post by mayakovski »

OK;

This is good stuff.

Given that for both horizontal and verticle you provide a range would limiting the range be a way to force a high refresh rate?

If my monitor is capable of:

HorizSync 31.5 - 82.0, and, VertRefresh 50-100

and I make it:

HorizSync 72.0 - 82.0, and, VertRefresh 95-100

Is this going to guarantee a higher refresh rate, or just mess things up? :?:
Mayakovski
**********************
Puppy Linux | Barking Up The Right Tree

Compaq Armada 1580DMT | P150, 49MB RAM - 3.2 GB HD, Puppy 1.0.6
Compaq Deskpro EN | P3-733, 384 MB RAM - 80GB HD, Puppy 1.0.7

User avatar
MU
Posts: 13649
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 16:52
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

#69 Post by MU »

Try it out.
If the monitor starts to flimmer extremely, hit CTRL-ALT-Backspace to exit X immedeatly (this could destroy the monitor).

When I do testing, I also sometimes rename /usr/X11R6/bin/xwin to testwin
Then when Puppy boots, I get the console, and can launch X manually by typing "testwin".

You can edit xorg.conf in console with "mp".
I prefer "mcedit" which comes with Midnight Commander (install that Dotpup from the Wiki while X works).

Mark

User avatar
mayakovski
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun 20 Nov 2005, 00:42
Location: Comox, BC, CANADA

#70 Post by mayakovski »

MU wrote:Try it out.
If the monitor starts to flimmer extremely, hit CTRL-ALT-Backspace to exit X immedeatly (this could destroy the monitor).

When I do testing, I also sometimes rename /usr/X11R6/bin/xwin to testwin
Then when Puppy boots, I get the console, and can launch X manually by typing "testwin".

You can edit xorg.conf in console with "mp".
I prefer "mcedit" which comes with Midnight Commander (install that Dotpup from the Wiki while X works).

Mark
Thanks MU;

I'll try it out tonight.

Mayakovski
Mayakovski
**********************
Puppy Linux | Barking Up The Right Tree

Compaq Armada 1580DMT | P150, 49MB RAM - 3.2 GB HD, Puppy 1.0.6
Compaq Deskpro EN | P3-733, 384 MB RAM - 80GB HD, Puppy 1.0.7

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#71 Post by BarryK »

MU wrote:As far as I understand, DSL uses XFree 4.5.0, what is comparable to X.org.

Puppy uses the smaller "KDrive" instead.
With XFree/Xorg it would for example not be possible to add Gtk2 to such a small iso.

If KDrive does not support your Graficscard, install the X.org-Dotpup.

Mark
Well, no, unless DSL has changed recently, they have always used Xvesa Kdrive and Xfbdev Kdrive.

LazyLabrador
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue 29 Nov 2005, 05:53
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

#72 Post by LazyLabrador »

If my monitor is capable of:

HorizSync 31.5 - 82.0, and, VertRefresh 50-100

and I make it:

HorizSync 72.0 - 82.0, and, VertRefresh 95-100

Is this going to guarantee a higher refresh rate, or just mess things up?
I found that the highest refresh rate will be picked depending on the horizontal rate.
For example to get my monitor to run at 85 hz (1024x768) I needed to specify a hotizontal rate of at least 68.6: Any less and 75 hz was picked.
This is my config:
HorizSync 31.5 - 68.6
VertRefresh 70-100
I booted in windows first to find the maximum refresh rates of the video card/monitor at different resolutions- my monitor can then display the horizontal frequencies at different settings.

Post Reply