Page 2 of 4

Posted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 21:54
by playdayz
Hey Zigbert, I am full of good news today. Pprocess 2.1 causes a problem in luci-210 testing. When I click Pprocess from the menu, it does not open and the keyboard is dead. I use CTRL-ALT-BS to exit x and restart X and then the keyboard is back. Pprocess does not do this--I just checked on the same luci. Thanks.

Posted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 02:02
by BarryK
dead keyboard and mouse have also been reported in Spup 0.3, as soon as Pprocess is started -- reported by edoc.

Posted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 05:48
by zigbert
Version 2.1.1
See main post

Pprocess 2.1 in luci was not the same Pprocess 2.1 that shows up on my daily system. :oops: Some idiot has uploaded wrong code. :) Still, I could not reproduce the bug in luci...... Please confirm the bug with Pprocess 2.1.1. - I would not be surprised if it all works ok now, since 2.1.1 uses 'ps' instead of 'top' as its backend.


Sigmund

Posted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 06:06
by tubby
I see you have removed the locals from your compile, i was wondering if it was those lines of code that broke the one in spup. In my spup i changed the en-us to en-gb in the locals folder.

Posted: Wed 18 Aug 2010, 03:59
by wow
Bug:

Code: Select all

#set language
TMP="`ls -1 $PROGPATH/locals/ | grep $LANG`"
. $PROGPATH/locals/en_US:english #always run to fill gaps in translation
[ "$TMP" != "en_US:english" ] && . $PROGPATH/locals/$TMP 2> /dev/null
Auto language selection(pprocess, pmusic, pfind and others) will not work with a format different than xx_XX, locales like mine (es_PE.uft8) won't load automatically because of extra characters (.utf8).

Workaround: something like this:

Code: Select all

#set language
TMP="`ls -1 $PROGPATH/locals/ | grep ${LANG%.*}`"
. $PROGPATH/locals/en_US:english #always run to fill gaps in translation
#fallback to macrolanguage if available (ISO 639-1 two letter code: en, es, fr, etc.)
[ -z $TMP ] && TMP="`ls -1 $PROGPATH/locals/ | grep ${LANG%_*}:`" && echo $TMP
[ "$TMP" != "en_US:english" ] && . $PROGPATH/locals/$TMP 2> /dev/null
Ok, so now it will work with linguistically distinct variants like pt_PT and pt_BR and also work with "es" for "spanish", "us" for english, etc. when needed instead of trying to load es_AR, es_PE, es_ES, en_AU, en_GB, en_US.

Posted: Wed 18 Aug 2010, 07:35
by zigbert
Much better code. I have included it in Pburn, Pmusic, Pfind, Pfilesearch, Pprocess. If you don't have any immediate need of updated packages, I will ship them next time I take a look at their todo-list and fixes some issues. Right now it is Pmusic 1.3.0 on my screen.......


Thank you
Sigmund

Posted: Wed 18 Aug 2010, 17:10
by wow
No problem.

Posted: Fri 27 Aug 2010, 16:33
by wow
Please remove && echo $TMP from this line (set language code):

Code: Select all

[ -z $TMP ] && TMP="`ls -1 $PROGPATH/locals/ | grep ${LANG%_*}:`" && echo $TMP
It might give some problems...
Image
My fault, sorry :oops:

Posted: Sun 29 Aug 2010, 07:18
by zigbert
Fixed! :)

Posted: Sun 29 Aug 2010, 16:25
by zigbert
bump

Posted: Tue 12 Oct 2010, 04:17
by technosaurus
I added pprocess to my bashbox script - it went fairly smoothly & I even added a couple of parameters for different formatting, but still need to add the locales. (I am trying to consolidate as many functions as possible into a single script to ease development) Once we get everything together we can probably do some significant code reduction through code reuse (another bonus would be a unified look and feel).

Let me know what you think....or any other goodies you'd like to see added. Is there a reason you have separate files for your functions?

bashbox thread

Posted: Sun 12 Dec 2010, 11:39
by eastler_dart
hi all, hi zigbert,

I have tried to download the NLS-pet for pprocess, I didn't sucess :-(

Also go direct to http://www.meownplanet.net/zigbert/ does not show an NLS-Pet for pprocess :-(

Do you have one? Please, can you put it online?

Thanks a lot

Eastler

Posted: Sun 12 Dec 2010, 15:39
by zigbert
eastler_dart wrote:I have tried to download the NLS-pet for pprocess, I didn't sucess :-(
NLS-file is uploaded :)


Thank you
Sigmund

Posted: Sun 12 Dec 2010, 21:53
by eastler_dart
hi all, hi zigbert,

thanks a lot, works fine.

But the languagefile misses some entries.
So I have added them, you get it via pm.

I think, this was not the last proggy from you
i will use :wink:

thanks again

Eastler

Posted: Mon 13 Dec 2010, 20:25
by zigbert
eastler_dart
Thank you for your effort!

wow has already made another attempt to improve the LANG detection (like in Pmusic, Pburn.....)

I will upload soon


Sigmund

Posted: Tue 14 Dec 2010, 20:07
by zigbert
version 2.2.2
- Bugfix: show value of $LOC_SERACHTEXT

Pprocess 2.2.2

Posted: Fri 21 Jan 2011, 15:45
by wuwei
In Wary 5.0 pprocess 2.2.2 behaves very unexpectedly.

When I try to run pprocess it opens for a split second and crashes immediately. Terminal gives me a reference to line 146.
This is a frugal install of Wary with a pupsave file.

When I install the tar.gz of version 0.3 from page 1 of this thread it runs fine.

Pprocess 2.2.2 works when I boot Wary with pfix=ram. So it is not a bug in pprocess.

Consequently I must have done something which causes this behavior and which is retained in the pupsave file.
Short of reinstalling and building a fresh pupsave file, do you have any idea for a possible remedy of this situation?

Re: Pprocess 2.2.2

Posted: Fri 21 Jan 2011, 19:43
by sc0ttman
Pprocess crashes for me using Puppy 4.2 (specifically puplite 3.0)

It appears for a second, and then disappears..

I checked the terminal. it reports many errors similar to this:

Code: Select all

gtkdialog:1941 **: gdk_pixmap_new: assertion [blah]
Although it did work when I updated libc, glib, and many others

Posted: Sun 23 Jan 2011, 05:57
by disciple
FWIW I booted 4.1.1 with pfix=ram and installed Pprocess 2.2.2 and it worked fine.

Posted: Sun 23 Jan 2011, 13:15
by zigbert
Version 2.2.3
See main post

Changelog
- Bugfix: While-loop kept running after pprocess was closed.