Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 00:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
How to use USR 56K USB FaxModem in Puppy 1.06?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
Greg6

Joined: 08 Oct 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri 19 Oct 2007, 02:19    Post subject:  How to use USR 56K USB FaxModem in Puppy 1.06?  

How do I get Puppy V1.0.6 to recognize my modem? Modem is a US Robotics 56K USB FaxModem. I have already come to the conclussion that is a winmodem, but I would really like to try out Puppy and be able to access the Internet while I am doing this. Please Help! I can also be reached by e-mail at gregeubanks@hotmail.com.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 19 Oct 2007, 06:37    Post subject:  

how sad! i thought US Robotics were the RR of real modems. unfortunately, i think any usb modem is of the parasitic winmodem variety.

it's always useful to know the actual chipset of your winmodem. have you tried using scanmodem? dload from here:


http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/packages/scanModem.gz

gzip -d scanModem.gz
mv scanModem /usr/bin
chmod +x /usr/bin/scanModem

the results will be saved in /root/ModemData.txt

also, is there any particular reason why you're sticking with pup1.09? it's just that bk beefed up winmodem detection in any versions pup2.17+.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11164
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 19 Oct 2007, 09:22    Post subject:  

Try this: boot Puppy 2.17.1 from a live CD with "puppy pfix=ram" boot option so it won't mess up your hd install, and see if it can use your modem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0432s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]