Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 13:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to boot Puppy on USB flash from NTFS partition
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 3 [42 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
markofkane


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 314
Location: Kane, IL USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jul 2008, 11:22    Post subject:  

I figured it out

title Puppy Linux 4.00
kernel (hd0,0)/vmlinuz PMEDIA=idehd PDEV1=hda1 psubdir=puppy400
initrd (hd0,0)/initrd.gz
boot

Change hda1 to hdb1

And placed the puppy400 folder in my second drive. Wow, that was simple. I wish I would have known in the first place.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jul 2008, 16:48    Post subject:  

It is a good feeling when one get how to do it.

I am not on your level but as a noob had same
experience. I have also planned to have in a
memory stick but have been caught up with
installing on DVD and frugal install on the HDD
but a thumbdrive would be cool.

I am in solaris now but that one is too big for my
machine. Fun to test things out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
markofkane


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 314
Location: Kane, IL USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jul 2008, 18:13    Post subject:  

aw, thanks, Embarassed but I am not that smart. Sometimes an idea comes and it helps. I am still having a few problems. Like Windows wanting to run chkdsk when I boot into windows if I save a file into a NTFS partition while running Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
markofkane


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 314
Location: Kane, IL USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jul 2008, 20:36    Post subject:  

I've decided to abandon the frugal install. There's a bug where even though the pup-save file is in the same place, Puppy will not load it after so long.

I am tired of starting all over again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jul 2008, 00:56    Post subject:  

But if you tell more then Barry can fix it?
I mean he can fix it for me and all the others
who still want to use frugal install.

Give me a hint on how to find out if this happen to me too?
How did you came upon it. What to look for to know it does
happen at my place too?

Would be much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1289
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jul 2008, 18:56    Post subject:  

markofkane,

Thanks for trying again and I'm sorry I didn't get back earlier but I have been busy on other things - like earnig some money!

I've seen some of your other posts now and everything points to a not quite perfect c: drive. You seem to have mastered the Lin'N'Win and it works. What seems to fall over is that your pupsave tends to get corrupt. Switching off your PC at the off switch rather than going through the menu-shutdown-power off computer may cause this but a disk drive with errors on it is the more likely option. If this is the case you will probably start to get the same fault when you use the CD to boot Puppy because it also has to pick off the pupsave file from the hard drive.

So far I have not tested Lin'N'Win with SP3 because I don't have it. I have not received any feedback either, although I am currently in correspondence with someone who is trying it out. I don't think SP3 would be the cause of problems though.

The only other thing to mention is that you should keep the pupsave file in the same place as the associated puppy_400.sfs and zdrv_400.sfs. If you don't then you must not use the psubdir parameter in menu.lst.

ICPUG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
markofkane


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 314
Location: Kane, IL USA

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jul 2008, 19:28    Post subject:  

I always shutdown using the Start---Turn off computer----Turn off button in Windows, except when it, or Puppy locks up, and mouse and keyboard fail to respond.

I use the same routine for Puppy, even though it's called something else.

And I never had this to happen when I boot from the CD.

But, it could be, that GoBack might be a culprit in this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Thommo1971

Joined: 07 Jul 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jul 2008, 06:53    Post subject:  

Ok, I've tried the Lin n Win New B tutorial and it works! I got it succesfully working on my old Acer laptop running Win98SE, and also have it installed on my main pc running WindowsXP. The thing I like about it is that it is easy to do, requires no partioning and doesn't mess up windows!

My only gripe is that it wont automatically install the driver for the cardbus Belkin wireless card - it doesn't even see it. When I try to manually install it, it still doesn't work. However, on my toshiba laptop, with a full install of Puppy on its own partition, it worked out of the box. I'm wondering if my acer has the old pcmicia slots rather than cardbus and its something to do with that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jul 2008, 14:19    Post subject:  

I have an USB version of Belkin wireless card. there is a cd
for install on Windows. I have not looked if it has drivers for linux.

I have not tried it. Mu Desktop does not need it at the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
carolus

Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jul 2008, 21:01    Post subject:  

PaulBx1 wrote:
OK, now explain to me what the point of all this is? Smile

I mean, compared to an ordinary "poor man's install", where all this stuff is on the hard drive.

Laughing


For one, you can avoid touching your NTFS hard drive with anything but Windows software, which can appeal to the risk-averse.

But mainly, I'm posting this to point out problems with using upper case for the boot parameter keywords as in the examples for menu.lst. In at least some circumstances, lowercase is required. See
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=31893
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2008, 04:34    Post subject:  

I commented on your PMEDIA thing but I posted in wrong thread.
sorry. Good that you reminded us of such details.
I will try to change my menu.lst to small pmedia

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
carolus

Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jun 2009, 23:29    Post subject:  

The method described in this rather old thread still works with current versions of Puppy, specifically Puppy 4.1.2. Having seen no postings here for a year, and since there have been changes in the bootloading software, I thought this worth a note.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 [42 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0643s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]