Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 13:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to boot Puppy on USB flash from NTFS partition
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [42 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2017
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2007, 18:36    Post subject: Re: How to boot Puppy on USB flash from NTFS partition  

tempestuous wrote:
At http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=1058 drj explained how to boot Puppy Type 1 HD install from an NTFS partition using Grub4DOS/Grub4NTLDR.


I hadn't come across that earlier post on the topic before. The new forum address for it is:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=1058
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
carolus

Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Wed 07 May 2008, 15:40    Post subject:  

Do these methods work with Windows XP and Vista? On XP, I can't find any file C:\boot.ini, hidden or not.

I don't have the BIOS capability to boot from USB, and don't want to touch my MBR nor in any way modify my vendor-installed Windows XP. Nor do I want to write anything to my NTFS hard drive from Puppy. (Copying files to it with Windows is OK, and minor editing of configuration files using a Windows editor is OK)

Currently I'm booting Puppy 2.16.1 from CD, but if that could be avoided it would be more convenient.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8563
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 07 May 2008, 15:56    Post subject:  

Read here for a discussion of how to make a custom boot CD that will launch Puppy off a USB drive.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=16950
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
carolus

Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Wed 07 May 2008, 18:11    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Read here for a discussion of how to make a custom boot CD that will launch Puppy off a USB drive.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=16950


That's what I'm doing now. If I understand this thread correctly, it describes a method of interrupting the Windows boot sequence by simply adding a line of text to a DOS/Windows configuration file called "boot.ini" rather than meddling with the MBR. If I save a copy of the original configuration file, this is something I feel confident I can undo. But I have no "boot.ini" that I can find on my Windows XP, so I am guessing that the initiator of the current thread (tempestuous, in 2005) was using an earlier version of Windows.

Apologies - boot.ini is there today. I must have been hallucinating.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Thommo1971

Joined: 07 Jul 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jul 2008, 05:28    Post subject:  

Will this method work with Windows 98SE on a FAT partition? If not, is there an equivalent method?

I have an Acer travelmate laptop that has no built in drives and wont boot from USB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6668
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jul 2008, 06:47    Post subject:  

Have you seen this tutorial? It tells you how to install puppy to a windows partition & boot without touching your computer's mbr.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Thommo1971

Joined: 07 Jul 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jul 2008, 08:30    Post subject:  

Thanks, muggins. I hadn't seen that before and it is really helpful. It seems to be exactly the solution I am looking for and is pitched at Linux Newbie level! So, a big thank you!

I'll let you know how I get on
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
markofkane


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 314
Location: Kane, IL USA

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jul 2008, 16:40    Post subject:  

Edit:

Even though I got it to work this morning, I removed everything because it gave me errors after that, or would not uncompress the linux file.

I did it all over again, and got stops like

pup_400.sfs file not found

And Can't access TTY job, Job control turned off.

And all the files were in lower case, because I checked the md5 file, and it was ok, and I extracted the files with ISO buster.

I guess I am better off just booting from CD (if that still works) and use my config that I already have saved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1288
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jul 2008, 08:24    Post subject:  

markofkane,

I would have helped try to solve your problem if you had provided some details before removing the frugal Puppy.

I have had very few problem reports that have been due to Lin'N'Win. It is user error or Windows idiosyncrasies usually! I have had many success reports.

I guess one problem I did have was that it would not work on NTFS compressed directories and I did not know that. Once I knew I changed the instructions to accomodate the problem.

I guess in this case I will have to just wonder.

If a problem occurs it is nice to know some machine details; which Windows version is used; what the error message was and what the menu.lst says.

ICPUG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
markofkane


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 314
Location: Kane, IL USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jul 2008, 08:46    Post subject:  

I can try it again,



I'll tell you what I know right now:

I have:

A Dell Dimension 4400, 1.6 GHz P4 processor, 1 GB of RAM, Windows XP Home, A creative LIVE soundcard, and Nvidia G-Force 5500 PCI card.

I'll be back after I attempt it again (but I do think it's a C:\ drive problem, because a lot of times, the pup_save file becomes corrupted on the C:\ drive, but not my second Hard drive)

Thanks!!


menu.lst

######################################################
# GvR Sept 30th 2004
color black/cyan yellow/cyan
timeout=5
default=0

title Default Boot on HD 0
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1
boot

title Puppy Linux 4.00
kernel (hd0,0)/vmlinuz PMEDIA=idehd PDEV1=hda1 psubdir=puppy400
initrd (hd0,0)/initrd.gz
boot

######################################################

Last edited by markofkane on Wed 09 Jul 2008, 09:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
markofkane


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 314
Location: Kane, IL USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jul 2008, 09:00    Post subject:  

I just thought of something!! I am using instructions for Windows XP service pack 2!!!! I have SP3!!!!

So, that's that problem, right? Confused Confused Confused Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
markofkane


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 314
Location: Kane, IL USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jul 2008, 09:14    Post subject:  

Alright, it worked!!(I'll have to reboot to see if it works again) But I am starting new. Can I use my old Puppy_save file?? I would like to keep my configs.

Now I got another problem: I had it save my pup_save file to my second HD, and when I reboot, it does not acknowledge it. (It starts over a s a fresh install, having to set my keyboard
and stuff over again at each boot)


what can I do? Thanks!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jul 2008, 10:06    Post subject:  

I had same problem as you had.

But after power off from puppy several times and after shutting down from
windows again then no more such problem.

Re :" But I am starting new. Can I use my old Puppy_save file?? I would like to keep my configs. "

I got the problem that the links in the local bookmakrs was for the cd(dvd
so it had a /mnt/sda1/ where it should have been /mnt/home/

so apart from that it works.

that it didnt found it now I hope others could explain.

I managed to get it to work but I am still in sp2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
markofkane


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 314
Location: Kane, IL USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jul 2008, 10:54    Post subject:  

I have to start over again, I should have left well enough alone.

I could not get the boot from CD to work anymore, it would not load the pup_save files anymore without errors.

something about superblocks. Confused Confused Confused Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jul 2008, 11:21    Post subject:  

Sounds a lot what did happen to me but I shut down completely serveral times
both from puppy and after logging in to windows
and IIRC I also did a new install after changing the name of the safe file
so it would not be written over. Then I changed it back.
I guess that did create what I described above but it cured all the
trouble you describe too. And then after some tweaking the links worked too.

So don't give up. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [42 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0638s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0031s) ][ GZIP on ]