Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Aug 2014, 17:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 3.01 final bugs reports here
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 12 [171 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2007, 22:12    Post subject:  

Inevitably, someone is going to be unhappy, whatever default we use for the file system. Fortunately puppy works with either (still true, right?) and you can change over with this if you like:

http://www.puppyos.net/forum/?1170535852
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ecomoney


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 2183
Location: Lincolnshire, England

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2007, 11:59    Post subject: Seamonkey wont start second instance from icon  

Hi, another bug ive found, if I start seamonkey, then minimise it and click on the seamonkey desktop icon, nothing happens (another seamonkey instance should startup). If I already have seamonkey running and open another instance from start>internet>seamonkey web browser then a new instance starts ok.
_________________
Puppy Linux's Mission

Sorry, my server is down atm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 04 Nov 2007, 19:52    Post subject:  

jwm:
fixmenus removes the line that includes the theme in jwmrc.

here is a modified fixmenus, that keeps it, I just had to add 2 lines:


Code:
#!/bin/sh
#v2.14 Puppy now has XDG menus.
#this script builds the menus from template files.
#Any templates can be placed into /etc/xdg/templates, and the file must be
#named to show its final destination. For example, the template for JWM:
# _root_.jwmrc
#...the '_' will be converted to a '/', so the generated JWM config file is:
# /root/.jwmrc

#-- patch by MU
theme=`grep '<Include>/root/.jwm/themes' /root/.jwmrc`

TEMPLATES="`ls -1 /etc/xdg/templates | tr '\n' ' '`"

for ONETPL in $TEMPLATES
do
 [ "$ONETPL" = "README.txt" ] && continue
 ONEDEST="`echo -n "$ONETPL" | sed -e 's/_/\//g'`"
 ONESRC="/etc/xdg/templates/$ONETPL"
 echo "Generating $ONEDEST..."
 
 [ -f $ONEDEST ] && mv -f $ONEDEST ${ONEDEST}-previous

 cat $ONESRC |
 while read ONELINE
 do
  EXECMENU="`echo -n "$ONELINE" | grep -o 'PUPPYMENU.*' | cut -f 2-5 -d ' '`"
  if [ "$EXECMENU" = "" ];then
   echo "$ONELINE" >> $ONEDEST
  else
   ${EXECMENU} >> ${ONEDEST}
  fi
 done

done

#-- patch by MU
sed -i -e "s#</JWM>#$theme\n</JWM>#" /root/.jwmrc


###END###
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mamas6667

Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2007, 14:13    Post subject:  

I'm using 3.01 final, frugal install btw

Having same problem as Leon

Quote:
At X start 'ModeLine' settings from xorg.conf written by Xvidtune are ingnored. That was not the case with Puppy 2.17.1

it worked in 2.16 too
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Also when I install these pups

xfce-4.2.3.2-base.pup
jwm2xfce-menu.pup
xfce4-menueditor.pup

Restart / Shutdown can't be selected, Logout works, saving session also works on Logout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
willhunt


Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 495

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2007, 23:13    Post subject: nitpik'n
Subject description: /usr/share/applications
 

the files in /usr/share/applications/*.desktop do not have the
full path to the icon file nor do they reflect the choices on the
pinboard

this is a drawback because it causes the icons not to show up.
The files could be used as desktop shortcuts otherwise.
Quote:
Hi, another bug ive found, if I start seamonkey, then minimise it and click on the seamonkey desktop icon, nothing happens (another seamonkey instance should startup). If I already have seamonkey running and open another instance from start>internet>seamonkey web browser then a new instance starts ok.

I thought this was a feature as I had to set the runonce option in winopts
file to accomplish this in icewm in other puppy releases
also does anyone elses get a bunch of error's fron ldconfig -v
ldconfig: Path `/lib' given more than once
ldconfig: Path `/usr/lib' given more than once
ldconfig: Cannot stat /usr/lib/libXm.so: No such file or directory
ldconfig: Cannot stat /usr/lib/libaspell.so: No such file or directory
ldconfig: Cannot stat /usr/lib/libgnt.so: No such file or directory
ldconfig: Cannot stat /usr/lib/libpspell.so: No such file or directory
ldconfig: Cannot stat /usr/lib/libpurple-client.so: No such file or directory
ldconfig: Cannot stat /usr/lib/libpurple.so: No such file or directory
ldconfig: Cannot stat /usr/lib/libwv2.so: No such file or directory
ldconfig: Cannot stat /usr/X11R7/lib/libz.so: No such file or directory

also I have noticed that since the change of the puppy mixer it writes constantly to the temp folder

_________________
176 Icewm Themes Exclamation
vlc-0.8.6c-i586.pet
vlc-0.8.6c-i586.pet

Last edited by willhunt on Tue 06 Nov 2007, 09:14; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11017
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Nov 2007, 00:21    Post subject:  

I just found that my multisession Puppy 3.01 loaded the saved sessions even though I used the pfix=ram boot option. I tried it three times and it loaded the saved sessions every time.
_________________
Puppy Help 101 - an interactive tutorial for Lupu 5.25
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fudgy


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 86
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 06 Nov 2007, 13:57    Post subject:  

V.3.01 init:
More on fsck in init:

there's one check here: line 507 (circa):
Code:

[ "$PUPSAVEFS" = "ext2" -o "$PUPSAVEFS" = "ext3" ] && fsck_func $PUPSAVEDEV $PUPSAVEFS     #v3.01

and here is the problematic check of the loopback device in line 593 (circa):
Code:

fsck_func loop1 ext2 $PUPSAVEFILE     #v3.01

this is the BAD Brother...i think.

how about a pcheck=yes bootparam ?

These entries can be commented out. Be shure to edit the typo in line 871, too, as mentioned by Pizzasgood. ( rm -rf $OLDFILESMNTPT/tmp/* --- spell with "S")

Editing init is simple, as discribed here:
http://www.puppylinux.com/download/release-3.01.htm

-fudgy

PS:
BUG: in 301 password must be entered with english keyboard layout at boottime, however typed-in password on first shutdown happens to be with the beforehand chosen (non-english) layout.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jphein


Joined: 06 Nov 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue 06 Nov 2007, 18:10    Post subject: Bug List plus a Release Request
Subject description: mainly the remaster script, gxine dvdplayer fullscreen plus humongous initrd release request
 

I have been using Puppy for quite some time. First I would like to thank Barry K. and the Puppy Linux community for this amazing open source contribution.

I have two bug reports and a release request.

[BUGS]
1. The 3.01 remaster script does not work on my laptop with a vfat and a reiserfs partition. I get the same xdialog error as Clay did in the 3.01 beta bugs list. I tried the script you posted to him, but that failed in the same place.
I will try this on a different computer soon.
2. When playing a DVD on GXine in two different computers pressing f to go into fullscreen does not work the first time. Sometimes I would have to maximize the window and try again then minimize and so on until it would either work or freeze X windows.

[Release Request]
I would like to request that the humongous initrd release of puppy linux continue running in parallel with the normal release of puppy linux.
I am pxe booting puppy linux to run thinclients. As this is my main use of puppy linux having that release would be very helpful.

I am creating a new Linux distribution, and I would like to use Puppy Linux as the Thinclient OS. I think Netbooting is going to become very important.

Thanks again for everything.

_________________
Jeffrey P. Hein
Owner - JPHein Consulting
http://www.jphein.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Nov 2007, 01:02    Post subject:  

Thought I'd mention: When editing initrd.gz, be careful that cpio doesn't dereference all the symlinks, which results in a very hefty initrd.gz file (the ~3mb tweaked version I was working with grew to ~15). I haven't investigated the issue much, to see which versions of Puppy it affects, but some versions do this. Rather than figure out why, I just grabbed the version of cpio included in the 300 unleashed core and used that. It might just be the version of cpio in Puppy 2.14, but maybe not.

So like I said, I just though I'd mention it as something to keep an eye out for when you're messing with initrd.gz.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jphein


Joined: 06 Nov 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 07 Nov 2007, 01:28    Post subject: Reply to pizzasisgood  

Thanks for the fast reply, pizzasgood.
I would like to use Puppy Linux "as is" for my distribution. I can only do that if Barry continues to release the humongous initrd edition. Like he did with 2.16.1. Hopefully he will, so that I don't have to know about cpio bugs. =)

_________________
Jeffrey P. Hein
Owner - JPHein Consulting
http://www.jphein.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
veronicathecow


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2007, 18:13    Post subject:  

Another one with problems with pup_save.2f3 and HDD file save
I have used part of Justgregs text for speed.

Frugal, 512mb RAM, 1200 Athlon, 80Gb HDD split into 2 partitions both EXT3

I did a frugal install to one of the partitions (Pup301 directory). I modified Grub to boot the frugal installation. It boots fine. However, when you shutdown, you are ask about saving the session. I have select save to the partition. It shutdowns. After reboot, Puppy 3.01 starts and hangs for ages (appears to have crashed but is taking a long time). Sometimes this takes a while others not so long.
With a frugal and then save to HDD for pupfiles on reboot it goes through the inital select country, vers etc.
Thanks
Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
llevet

Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2007, 10:20    Post subject: Broken NFS in 3.01 final  

Hi,

On 3.01 final, nfs client is broken :

root@puppypc # modprobe nfs
FATAL: Error inserting nfs (/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/fs/nfs/nfs.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)

cat /var/log/message

...
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol nlmclnt_proc
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_proc_register
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_wake_up_task
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_shutdown_client
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol lockd_down
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol lockd_up
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol xdr_encode_opaque
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_sleep_on
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_init_task
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_print_iostats
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol xdr_encode_pages
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_setbufsize
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_clnt_sigmask
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_clone_client
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_max_payload
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_proc_unregister
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_exit_task
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_create
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_call_sync
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_delay
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_execute
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpciod_up
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_clnt_sigunmask
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpcauth_lookupcred
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpciod_down
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_restart_call
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol xdr_inline_pages
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpc_call_setup
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol put_rpccred
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol rpcauth_create
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol nfs_debug
Nov 9 12:22:24 (none) kern.warn kernel: nfs: Unknown symbol xdr_shift_buf
...

Thank's to rebuild module nfs.ko

Ludo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
llevet

Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2007, 14:41    Post subject:  nfs problem  

Hi,

I have resolved my problem of nfs.
In fact, it missing in release 3.01 the module sunrpc.ko and module lockd.ko Shocked

Recompiling kernel and modules solve the pb.


Ludo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perixx

Joined: 21 Jan 2007
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Sun 11 Nov 2007, 11:14    Post subject:  

Hi Barry,


Quoted from a solved thread :
Quote:
(Leon): I was informed from a long time Puppy user that since Puppy 3.00 he had to specify DNS to properly configure Roaring Penguin. Well, in contrary, I’d always done that, so didn't noticed any difference.


I'm not quite sure, but I think this should work automatically by getting the DNS server addresses from the ISP - at least as yet it always worked that way....


Anyway, I couldn't get internet to work with Puppy 3.01. When I set everything as I did in 2.15 (I've even entered the DNS servers manually) and configured Roaring Penguin, RP wouldn't find any network at first (it keeps blinking red and delivers a 'Connection Timeout') - not until I interrupted the connection procedure and retried it a second or third time. Although it looked like a perfect connection that time, Seamonkey wasn't able to load any web pages. I've tried to ping my ISP's DNS servers and it worked perfectly.

This is reproducable; I've tested the internet with Puppy 2.15 to doubleckeck and it still works perfectly.


By the way - a bad habit of the Internet Connection Wizard, in my opinion, is that it will set 'Gateway' to 0.0.0.0 by default. When you don't clear it out (I personally don't use a router, just a DSL modem, so no gateway needs to be specified), the wizard will refuse to accept all other entries. So newbies may get mad about their network settings not being accepted. This changed with the version from 2.13 on, as far as I can remember - and it stays persistent up to now with 3.01... 2.12 didn't have this issue.


I must admit - as much as I like Puppy - the introduction of new networking issues with proverbially every new release gets increasingly frustrating.

Arrow I'd strongly plead for testing basic functionalities like that more thoroughly before releasing in the future....


perixx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Leon

Joined: 22 Jun 2005
Posts: 228
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sun 11 Nov 2007, 21:20    Post subject:  

Hi perixx,

Quote:
I'm not quite sure, but I think this should work automatically by getting the DNS server addresses from the ISP - at least as yet it always worked that way....

I downloaded and installed Puppy 2.15CE to test if Roar Penguin PPPoE is able to automatically getting the DNS server addresses from my ISP and I found that in this version it really is.

Quote:
Anyway, I couldn't get internet to work with Puppy 3.01. When I set everything as I did in 2.15 (I've even entered the DNS servers manually) and configured Roaring Penguin, RP wouldn't find any network at first (it keeps blinking red and delivers a 'Connection Timeout') - not until I interrupted the connection procedure and retried it a second or third time. Although it looked like a perfect connection that time, Seamonkey wasn't able to load any web pages. I've tried to ping my ISP's DNS servers and it worked perfectly.

This RP connection settings work for me in Puppy 3.01:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=147002#147002

I noticed that my ADSL connection was very slow until I changed 'Use synchronous PPP:' to 'No' although it worked well in previous versions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 12 [171 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1159s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]