Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Jul 2019, 20:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
NOP (Nearly Office Pup) 3.01 final available for download
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 10 [150 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
setecio

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 326
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2007, 17:31    Post subject:  

NOP sounds great, just burnt a CD and having a look.

I downloaded NOP3.01r1, but noticed when it was loading it said, in the first red boot up text with boot options, Puppy 3.00 ...... should it be 3.01, or is this just a typing error as opposed to a version error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 865
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2007, 18:49    Post subject: Location of Opera files in Nop 3.01, etc.
Subject description: also a note for Setecio
 

Setecio wrote:
"I downloaded NOP3.01r1, but noticed when it was loading it said, in the first red boot up text with boot options, Puppy 3.00 ...... should it be 3.01, or is this just a typing error as opposed to a version error."
That is normal.
--------------------------------
Now to my question - I use a live cd with nop 3.01 and a .2fs config file on the hard drive. Actually I use several config files from which I choose one at boot. This is done for reasons of different situations, backups, history of changes, etc. Perfectly normal. I keep each config file in its own named folder to avoid problems from renaming it. And I put an icon on the desktop that reminds me which config I am using ;-)

Each of these configs has access to the same common data also on the hard drive, i.e photos, docs, . . .and email! The email storage is just another kind of shared data, at least for me. I do not want stored email to be different for different configurations or to take up space in the config file.. This is not a problem with Seamonkey. I simply place the Local Folders outside the config file. Can something similar be done with Opera?

Let me try to answer - suppose I am going from config 1 to 2. First I copy from config 1 /root/.opera (the mail, profiles, mookmarks, etc) to a common folder on the hard drive called, say mnt/home/.opera

Then I open puppy with config 2, to which I copy .opera from this folder over that in config 2.

But be careful; keep independent backups of email archives if they are as huge and important to you as they are to me. I am testing this, but will continue to use my legacy Eudora for business until puppy has an email client with matching mailboxes, attachments, and GPG!
I am very pleased with Nop 3.01 and XFCE.

Last edited by Henry on Fri 14 Dec 2007, 20:09; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
setecio

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 326
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2007, 16:12    Post subject:  

Should NOP 3.01r1 be able to install abiword from the PETget package manager ? It installed easily in standard Puppy 3.01.

I have installed abiword-2.4.5:premier wordprocessor (and dependant fribidi), rebooted several times, but nothing happens when I try to open Abiword, either from the start-office-abiword wordprocessor, or from the usr-bin-abiword.

Am I missing a dependancy (when I try installing it via PSI07 it lists libgnomecanvas-2.so.0 and libwmf-0.2.so.7 as missing) or does NOP require it done via the goffice.sfs ? If so where is the goffice_301.sfs, the wiki only links to a 2.17 version.

I love Nop, but just want to add abiword to it or goffice.

Last edited by setecio on Fri 07 Dec 2007, 17:21; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 865
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2007, 16:56    Post subject:  

Well, that would be a question for Gray - I use the .sfs for openoffice 2 - you have to supply your own icons, if you care.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gray


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 318
Location: Adelaide - South Australia

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2007, 19:10    Post subject: Abiword  

You can install abiword using petget but it seems to ignore some dependencies. It should pick up that it needs fribidi and install that automatically, but you will have to use petget to individually install libgnomecanvas, libgnomeprint, libgnomeprintgui and goffice.

Then you need to edit the abiword.desktop file in /usr/share/applications to change the icon line to Icon=word48

Or you can just use the goffice sfs file from http://download.tuxfamily.org/nop/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
setecio

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 326
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 11:04    Post subject:  

OK, I've gone back to trying the goffice sfs from your link.

There is only goffice_217.sfs but no goffice_301.sfs.

I'm using NOP3.01r1 frugal, but tried goffice_217.sfs anyway.

I downloaded and saved it to /mnt/home but when I try Bootmanager configure bootup, it keeps telling me there are no sfs files in mnt/home, yet every time I look using Thunar, g0ffice_217.sfs IS in /mnt/home.

Is this a compatibility error and do I actually need goffice_301.sfs, if so where can I find it ...... or is there something simple I am missing to do this ? Why can't bootmanager config see goffice_217.sfs ... it is sitting in /mnt/home and I have rebooted several times, but it makes no difference.

EDIT : It must be something to do with the goffice_217.sfs since when I download openoffice-2.2.0.sfs to the same location it does show up in bootmanager but still no goffice_217, even though it is in the same folder /mnt/home .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 865
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 11:35    Post subject:  

I haven't checked in this case, but for some sfs files it's necessary to rename the 217 part to 301. Maybe . .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
setecio

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 326
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 13:19    Post subject:  

Henry wrote:
I haven't checked in this case, but for some sfs files it's necessary to rename the 217 part to 301. Maybe . .


Thanks Henry - that did the trick! Very Happy

As mentioned in other's previous posts (pg1) , it hasn't appeared in any of the menus, but I'm hoping it will soon, if not i will learn how to add it.

EDIT : after 5 minutes Abiword and Gnumeric have now appeared in the Office menu. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
setecio

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 326
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 17:32    Post subject:  

Congrats on an excellent puplet / derivative. I've a few old boxes which have arrived this year from various sources and am now confident enough to stick NOP onto them and pass them on to family and friends. (They were edging thier way to the dump)

It has a nice 'XP' feel about it which is great for the un-linuxed. I find goffice is a great basic WP + spreadsheet without the mass of OO for the less powerful boxes.

I suggest you put a second copy of goffice_217.sfs in http://download.tuxfamily.org/nop/ and rename it goffice_301.sfs so that it just works.

You mentioned in earlier posts that you didn't know what triggered the links in the menus to appear. I don't know if it is coincidence, but I noticed they appeared soon after I opened abiwork and gnumberic by using Thunar to click on them in /usr/bin, and then rebooted.

How can I add an Icon for AbiWord into the icon menu that pops down from the top of the screen?

Nice job. Thanks. Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dr_spork

Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2007, 20:45    Post subject:  

NOP is the best thing ever. I'm way impressed with the icon improvements especially. I've been trying to build a custom puppy with XFCE and Opera for days now and it's broken three times and still come out ugly in the end. It makes me infinitely happy to have found a ready-made version that fits basically that exact description of the thing I was trying to do hopelessly on my own. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gray


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 318
Location: Adelaide - South Australia

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2007, 05:57    Post subject: Xfce panel  

Setecio, it is really easy to add applications to the panels Very Happy . Just right lick on the panel to get a menu and select 'Add New Item'. In the popup highlight Launcher and click on Add. In this next popup use the folder icons to select the application (or enter text) and an icon. When the app is in the panel you can right click on it to get a menu to move it anywhere you like in the panel Cool .

I will add a goffice_301 as you suggested to save confusion Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
setecio

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 326
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2007, 07:28    Post subject:  

Excellent, it gets better and better .... and a battery monitor too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gray


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 318
Location: Adelaide - South Australia

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2007, 05:46    Post subject: Puppy 301 NOP rev2  

NOP updated to revision 2. Only minor changes, see first post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15444
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2007, 08:36    Post subject:  

Very Happy Downloaded and looking good . . . Cool

The first thing I tried was installing "Secondlife"
I started off with a slackware bz2 file but the decompiling seemed to take too long

This is how I decompiled
Code:
bzip2 -d <archivefile.tar.bz2 | tar -xf -


Gonna try something else instead

I am hoping an updated WNop will be produced
maybe others will decide to use this as a basis for their ideas

We already have a Chinese NOP and my own Tmxxine Shard Cool

Many thanks

_________________
Raspberry Pi 4 to run Puppi
NEW BusterPup Beta - test now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5472
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2007, 10:13    Post subject:  

Always refreshing to use a distro that works and to re-acquaint myself with the superior speed and functionality of Opera - video streaming is just so good, too. Keep up the good work, gray.

Now that you've got the 'save session' option on the shutdown panel you may be able to dispense with the whole save screen? Can we start putting acpi=force into menu.lst by default, please? Had a word with Dougal about this. It doesn't seem to have any adverse effects and is a nice refinement for those chipsets that stick at 'Power Down' regardless of BIOS settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 10 [150 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0910s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0238s) ][ GZIP on ]