Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Dec 2014, 19:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
NOP (Nearly Office Pup) 3.01 final available for download
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 10 of 10 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10
Author Message
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Tue 08 Apr 2008, 17:07    Post_subject:  

Thanks, Gray,

If I understand, what we just did used the menu cache, and was a way to change the appearance of the existing menu, removing items from displaying, or moving their display, but not adding new ones. Do I have that right?

So I have reverted to the original menu.xml. The menu editor remains one of the few minor disappointments in Xfce.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2008, 00:29    Post_subject: NOP becomes OP
Sub_title: Why not?
 

Greetings, Gray,

I have been using puppy for a couple of years and specifically NOP since available. This is solid and polished in my configuration - the best Linux I have seen.

I have tried to use puppy in my work but it means awkwardly booting back and forth with windows for those windows programs I cannot do without. Until linux can run these it will be stay "nearly office pup." The close ones don't count!

Wine is inevitably flakey even when it "almost works" and it doesn't work at all with some of the needed programs (which are not exotic and easily run in win98se). Wine is not a contender. Virtualization seems to be the only hope. From what little I know I would like to run NOP as host with windows as guest. I already have my super small 98Lite installed on the hard disk (also on a ghost image backup CD)

So here is the suggestion/request/challenge for you - Make NOP into "OP" by creating a QEMU enabled version that regular people like me could use with a small windows guest. You would be famous and appreciated even more than you are now!

Henry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gray


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 313
Location: Adelaide - South Australia

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2008, 06:57    Post_subject: menu ?  

Henry: I didnt mention the update menu question as a sly comment - I genuinley dont know if replacing the menu file with the cache menu will still work for updates. It will be neat if it does. ( may try myself if I get time - but it is rugby season and I have three teenage son rugby players/supporters that eat my time at this point of the year - go the Tahs !!).

Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2008, 11:40    Post_subject: Menu editor, Virtualisation  

Gray,

I have not tested this thoroughly either. I did install a new petget. It did not automatically appear in the menu, but was easy to add with the new menu editor, so I'll keep that for the present.

Re virtualisation: Please keep in mind for the future a simplified path to Qemu, or possibly Virtualbox (but it should work with 98se).

Anyone else with suggestions on this?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Fri 11 Apr 2008, 13:36    Post_subject: QtEmu  

Gray and all, I posted a question on virtualisation at

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=189348#189348

Henry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
setecio

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 326
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 15 Apr 2008, 08:11    Post_subject:  

As updated versions of Opera are released, is there an easy way to update to them without having to wait for a new release of NOP ?

eg update Opera 9.26 to 9.27

........

mmm, I just updated a laptop from NOP3.01r1 to r6 by changing the pup_301.sfs file. The fonts in Opera have gone horribly small, and I think I made changes originally to make it all look good. Only problem is I can't remeber what tweaks I did ... I guess it's back to searching the forum to find out how i did it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Tue 15 Apr 2008, 21:56    Post_subject: Let's make NOP into OP!  

Hi, Gray,

The report of my collaboration with Bruce on Qemu is at
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=28048&start=75

If Qemu could be added by a petget the result would be a real breakthrough Linux. And I bet you could facilitate it. (Maybe you're waiting for 4.0 :-)

Henry

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Turpin


Joined: 16 May 2007
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2008, 01:08    Post_subject: Re: Menu  

gray wrote:
Henry & Turpin : I hadn't thought about using the cache menu as the actual menu. When you add a new package does the menu update or do you have to manually edit the menu to add the new item now ?

I think doing that procedure does disable the automatic menu updating, but I'm not sure. I'm trying to get XFCE in DIngo right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 May 2008, 03:30    Post_subject:  

Hello

I made a pet package for pencil, This one NOP user has a class of students that would like to use it, They are using Nop r1, I've been trying for hours to get this fixed. Basically it runs fine but at the most important stage it crashes. When you export to swf
here's the link http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=28513
heres the error
pencil: /usr/lib/libpng12.so.0: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libQtGui.so.4) error
I am still left with the segmentation error on trying to export.

I've tried to change a to few different versions of libpng without any luck

to get it going you need 2 files
QT4 http://www.puppylinux.ca/pet4/qt4-4.3.2.pet
Pencil http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=9317
Any help would be great Smile
thanks ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
kevin-isca


Joined: 20 Apr 2008
Posts: 13
Location: Exeter, Devon

PostPosted: Sat 10 May 2008, 15:44    Post_subject:  

Quote:
This one NOP user Smile
says thanks to ttuuxx for trying to get this to work and adds to his request for help
I reckon animation is a really good tool for education. Suddenly static ideas become a movement that can explain process!
I use NOP as my main system at home and would like to develop it more in the classroom with my 10-11 year olds.
Animation and video editing are the main gaps in the toolkit along with a user friendly logo type software for simple programming. Any ideas welcome!

Thanks for all the inspiration and support!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
charlie4727

Joined: 25 May 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jun 2008, 15:26    Post_subject:  

hi all, could anyone tell me a good easy way to incorporate new programs/packages into the desktop menus in xFce. Thanks Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
GodsDead

Joined: 19 Aug 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed 20 Aug 2008, 06:47    Post_subject:  

WOW, i just got informaed about this THANKS!
im downloading now from;
http://puppylinux.org/wiki/archives/old-wikka-wikki/everything-else/downloadnop


Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dave_One

Joined: 22 Nov 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 14 Dec 2008, 21:11    Post_subject:  

I really like XCFE, Thunar and Opera, so obviously I really like NOP. But for some reason the fonts in Opera don't look as good as they should. It's like it isn't correctly anti-aliasing them or something, as they look OK in the rest of the UI.

It can make text quite hard to read in Opera at high resolutions. Does anyone else notice this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Mon 15 Dec 2008, 08:06    Post_subject:  

I'd reccomend you to try NOP based on puppy 4.1 where opera is a dynamic package.

this problem is discussed in Boxpup thread also

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
madscientist

Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun 22 Feb 2009, 09:50    Post_subject: Problem with USB wireless mouse  

I was running NOP for a few weeks, and now my usb mouse stoped working. Sometimes after a re-boot it will work again, but only until I start moving it. Any ideas what is causing this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 10 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0827s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]