Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Aug 2014, 05:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
NOP (Nearly Office Pup) 3.01 final available for download
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 10 [150 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2008, 15:23    Post subject:  

I was wondering if there is any difference between puppy301 initrd and NOPs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
richhard

Joined: 22 Jul 2007
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2008, 06:31    Post subject:  

Hi Gray,
you tell me:
"I am surprised xine does not play DVD for you. It works really well for me -
even full screen. Did you use the CD/DVD drive wizard so that the
DVD:/ link is activated for xine ?"

Perhaps this is the important hint: how can I use the CD/DVD drive wizard ??
Sorry, I have no idea what this is and how to do it. Wink
Any more detailed instruction would be greatly appreciated!

Btw: just downloading NOP-r5 Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gray


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 313
Location: Adelaide - South Australia

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2008, 20:08    Post subject: NOPs  

The change from r4 to r5 only involves the pup301 file, though both the initrd and 301 file are different to the base 301 puppy.

richhard:

With every puppy you need to run the CD/CVD drive wizard at least once. In NOP go to the Puppy Setup menu, select CD/DVD drive wizard and then choose which drives you want to assign as "CD" or "DVD" readers and of course burner drive. Even if you only have one such drive you still need to run the wizard so that vital symlinks are created that the likes of xine use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2008, 21:50    Post subject: Re: NOPs  

I used r5 as the basis for Tmxxine Vision
which makes it holy / demonic or just the same as usual
dependent on your mindset . . . Very Happy

I have been using this remaster . . .
http://tmxxine.com/wik/wikka.php?wakka=LinuxTmxxineVision
(it is just NOP 3.01 with a piece of software autostarting))

. . . the autostarting did not work until I rebooted
but now the main program - NAP - is coming up Smile

Opera however seems very slow (which is odd) Confused
Twice it has crashed Crying or Very sad

I am running with 512MB of Ram - that should be OK?

Any clues Question
No doubt I have done something clueless again . . . Embarassed

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
richhard

Joined: 22 Jul 2007
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2008, 04:23    Post subject:  

Hi Gray,

thanks a lot, Gparted is back again!!

I ran the CD/DVD drive wizard (which I did not knew)
but with xine I still have problems:
in principle it is working perfect now, Smile
but there is still some kind of black magic behind Sad

after click to play DVD, I never know in advance, if it will stop with the message:
--> the source can't be read ....
with "more..." --> audio_decoder. error, unknown buffertype .....
or if it will do the job.
but sometimes it really works perfect !!

==> any idea, how to tweak this would be welcome Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GrantsV

Joined: 16 May 2007
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Fri 29 Feb 2008, 08:53    Post subject:  

Amazing looking distro, really almost perfect!

When I add any new printer via. CUPS I get:
server-error-internal-error

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GrantsV

Joined: 16 May 2007
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Fri 29 Feb 2008, 09:50    Post subject:  

Another thing to do with CUPS. I just noticed it is a different version than 1.2.11 CUPS that is included with standard 3.01 Pup. The standard 3.01 version of CUPS has many more drivers including Canon IP4300 I require!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
setecio

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 326
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2008, 08:58    Post subject:  

Can I get Thunar to show picture thumbnails as I browse folders full of photographs ? They all just display the same generic 'sky' icon .

EDIT : I should have tried the obvious first ! Found it in settings manager - file manager - show thumbnails.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oblivious

Joined: 14 Apr 2007
Posts: 304
Location: Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 02 Mar 2008, 08:36    Post subject: NOP is a very lovable mutt  

I've downloaded NOP 301r5 to have a look at it and it is a winner Very Happy. It is just what I like - it looks good, it makes sense, doing things with xfce is straightforward, no extra stuff that I don't use or even know what it is..... I'm hoping our initial friendship continues for quite a while before I mess everything up Laughing .

Thanks very much, Gray.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
setecio

Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 326
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 03 Mar 2008, 18:08    Post subject:  

Is there a setting that will cause photographs to open at screen size rather than at their natural resolution ?

Unfortunately they all seem to open at their natural resolution as gigantic photos which causes alot of extra work when viewing alot of them.

Is there a setting somewhere which would cause them to open to display the whole photo within the screen ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Turpin


Joined: 16 May 2007
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sun 06 Apr 2008, 23:25    Post subject:  

I could use a little extra instruction on how to maintain a long-term NOP live cd...(cut short by me so people don't waste their time reading it)

Update: Oops never mind. Did you know there's a whole guide already for this? Lol yes I should have searched Puppy's home page better. I have some reading to do.

Thanks

_________________
Oh dear, another BSOD. That just makes me so angry; so very angry indeed..

Last edited by Turpin on Tue 08 Apr 2008, 03:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Tue 08 Apr 2008, 01:05    Post subject: Menu Editor - Solved
Subject description: So it seems?
 

Well, Gray, I thought we had given up on this when I saw this discussion.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=26273

After following these brief instructions:

I renamed /root/.config/xfce4/desktop/menu.xml to ,,,menu.old(in case something screwed up) Then copied /root/.cache/xfce4/desktop/menu-cache--root-.config-xfce4-desktop-menu.xml.xml to /root/.config/xfce4/desktop and then renamed it to menu.xml

I immediately have a full working menu editor ! Now to see if it survives a reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Turpin


Joined: 16 May 2007
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Tue 08 Apr 2008, 03:21    Post subject:    

It does. Smile I did it yesterday and it worked and survived reboot.
I wonder if a guru will come along and know exactly where in Linux history this problem sprang up and how to fix it for all future releases. It may be a minor fix when a semi-pro user runs into it. It's a serious pain for a novice. I'm not telling which I am.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Turpin


Joined: 16 May 2007
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Tue 08 Apr 2008, 03:42    Post subject:  

I wonder why the main Puppy release isn't already switched over to XFCE. It's so much more fun and usable. And it's not much bigger than the window manager in the standard Puppy, is it? I'm not complaining. I have NOP to keep me happy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gray


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 313
Location: Adelaide - South Australia

PostPosted: Tue 08 Apr 2008, 06:43    Post subject: Menu  

Henry & Turpin : The menu was set up deliberately that way so that new packages would be automatically addedd into the menu via the .desktop files. The menu was effectively a template, which Xfce then fills in as the file in the cache. I hadn't thought about using the cache menu as the actual menu. When you add a new package does the menu update or do you have to manually edit the menu to add the new item now ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 10 [150 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0782s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0074s) ][ GZIP on ]