Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 10:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
SOLVED - [kind of] 3.0 Shared Key Wireless Error
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 5 [64 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5275
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 02 Nov 2007, 23:32    Post subject:  

Sure, but normally you would try each command one at a time until you know they all work.
Once you know the sequence works, create a new text document (in Geany, for example) with this at the top
Code:
#!/bin/sh

Then add your commands, and save the file. Let's say we call it "myscript.sh"
Now we just need to make this script executable -
Code:
chmod 775 myscript.sh

myscript.sh is then an executable script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5275
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 03 Nov 2007, 07:37    Post subject:  

Let me add some extra information before you spend too much time fruitlessly.

Forget about the iwpriv command. That is supposed to work around an incompatibility problem between the ath_pci driver and wpa_supplicant, but since we know that you can establish a connection using the Wizard, this problem should not be affecting you.

By examining the wpa_supplicant code in the Wizard (which was written by rarsa) I just remembered an important configuration parameter: ap_scan
You will see that the default ap_scan value in /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf is 2. But the value can also be 0 or 1, and I remember that this can be a critical setting. I seem to remember that it relates to scanning by the driver / scanning by wpa_supplicant / no scanning.
rarsa's code has some clever way of working out the optimum value for your driver, but you can just experiment with using 0 and 1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
laptopnewbee

Joined: 19 Aug 2006
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2007, 16:47    Post subject:  

having read the bulk of this thread, and seeing that some seem to still be having trouble, i will add a 'for what it's worth' here.

in 2.13 i was able to use wpa with the atheros chipset using the network wizard (version 2.14.8 ). i also got best connection results using the win98 drivers and ndiswrapper. there is one thing that i had to do before ndiawrapper would work though, and i don't know if it was due to the netgear driver package, or if it is the same with all atheros driver packages. this one thing is that i had to open xterm and use the source command on the .cat file in the package.
Code:

# source <filename>.cat

i was able to do this by mounting the cd for the card, and navigating to the win98 folder then opening the xterm window there. this put usable .inf and .sys files in my puppy partition which would have to be the ones used when i inserted them in ndiswrapper for use from the wizard. this also gave me a single blinky using the interface name 'wlan0'.

since my pcmcia slot went south before 2.17 came out i can't test any of this with the newer kernel myself, but i offer this info so that someone with working equipment can test it all out. i do understand that there may be components of that version of the wizard which are not compatable with the new kernel, but maybe such things can be overcome with a little recompiling.

_________________
so much to learn, so late a start.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
friedsonjm

Joined: 10 Mar 2007
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Mon 05 Nov 2007, 19:57    Post subject:
Subject description: Success... sort of...
 

After way too much experimentation, I'm up on WPA. Here is what I found with my Atheros-based Dlink G630 card:

1. Can't use an 8-digit key, must be at least 9, or you get the "must be between 8 and 63 digits" error. I'm not talking about using wpa_passphrase, I'm referring to the number of digits in the pre-shared key entry you make in the wizard.

2. WPS-TKIP, sometimes known as WPA personal, does not work. Has to be WPA2. I'm using the 'personal' version, not the 'enterprise' version.

3. The Linux driver in Puppy works at the office.. but not at home! This, despite both routers being Linksys, both on WPA2, etc.

4. Using ndiswrapper, the windoze driver does work with my system at home, in WPA2 mode, with at least a 9-digit key, etc. Note, the .inf file is CVN3AB.inf 16K 08:19:00 13 May 2005.

I'm going to have to see if the Windoze driver will work at work; switching back and forth is more trouble than I want to go through!

YMMV, of course...

jf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 5 [64 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0536s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]