Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 14:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to configure wifi from the commandline
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 13 [182 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 23 Dec 2009, 01:41    Post subject:  

OK, it appears you have a miniPCI wifi device -
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/IBM_High_Rate_Wireless_LAN_Mini-PCI_Adapter_with_Modem_II

That script should work fine.

To clarify; at bootup Puppy should automatically load the hostap_pci driver for this device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
QBall2U


Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 65
Location: Somewhere, USA

PostPosted: Wed 23 Dec 2009, 02:34    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
OK, it appears you have a miniPCI wifi device -
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/IBM_High_Rate_Wireless_LAN_Mini-PCI_Adapter_with_Modem_II

That script should work fine.

To clarify; at bootup Puppy should automatically load the hostap_pci driver for this device.


That was a quick reply! Surprised

Yep, that looks like the critter, alright!

How do I know if it is loading the hostap_pci driver at bootup ... I mean, is there some config file or script that I can take a look thru and check to be sure that it is (and that I haven't messed something up somewhere along the lines)?

Thanks tempestuous for your help!

QBall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 23 Dec 2009, 02:37    Post subject:  

Run "lspci" at the commandline to list all loaded modules (drivers).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
QBall2U


Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 65
Location: Somewhere, USA

PostPosted: Wed 23 Dec 2009, 02:52    Post subject:  

All I get when I do that is:
Code:
00:00.0 Class 0600: 8086:1a30 (rev 04)


and a bunch more stuff pretty much like that ... what is it sposed to signify?

Thanks,
QBall[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 23 Dec 2009, 03:43    Post subject:  

Oops, sorry. The command is "lsmod".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stevesr0

Joined: 24 Jun 2007
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Sun 27 Dec 2009, 00:11    Post subject: Got WPA2 connection after adding file named .WPA2.conf to
Subject description: the /etc/network-wizard/wireless...
 

I was able to connect with the network wizard ("Connect" app) only after I copied the contents of the wpa_supplicant2.conf file to a file named .WPA2.conf in the same directory (/etc/network-wizard/wireless/wpa_profiles.

The reason I created this file is that the program gave me an error message saying there was no supplicant file named .WPA2.conf.

I didn't notice a mention of this file in this thread, so I posted this.

I am running puppy 4.2.1.

Thanks for this thread.

Steve

:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Spaccafumo


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Sulmona - Italy

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jan 2010, 03:45    Post subject: Suddenly happens.
Subject description: Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
 

My wireless module is: ath_pci
On the same pc i have 2 puppy 4.30 (old kernel), one for each hard disk (full installation).
All went well during last months. Yesterday, suddenly, wifi connection of puppy installed in hda1 failed whereas the other one in hdb1 is still perfect (I am using it now).
Network-wizard reported:
-----------------
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
-----------------
I went to /var/run , made a "wpa_supplicant" directory but
it was erased as soon as i attempted to restart the connection (by Network wizard).

Is there any file in hdb1 (where connection is OK) to copy in hda1 (where connection fails) to solve the problem by a file-transfusion?
Saluti.
I downgraded to wep-128. So i solved. Embarassed

_________________
Qui si usa Linux
http://www.puppylinux.org
Sulmona - Italy

Last edited by Spaccafumo on Wed 21 Dec 2011, 09:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cortezthekiller

Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 14 Feb 2010, 19:45    Post subject:  

Excellent post, it really helped me .
thanks a lot!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jcinpv

Joined: 26 Feb 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 26 Feb 2010, 21:22    Post subject: Puppy and WiFi setup
Subject description: Setting up WiFi for hidden ESSID
 

I quote: Puppy's Network Wizard is one of the best in the business.

I got this out of the very first forum entries in this thread.

I spent the better part of several hours trying to get Puppy to connect to my hidden SSID. Finally, I enabled broadcasting the SSID and I was able to connect using the same setup as before.

So where in that is "one of the best in the business"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11157
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 26 Feb 2010, 23:51    Post subject:  

You should see the worst. Laughing

Seriously, we appreciate the detailed feedback. It should be very helpful in improving Puppy's network wizard. In addition we will gladly refund your purchase price, and you can keep your Puppy. Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 27 Feb 2010, 20:37    Post subject:  

When forum member rarsa announced the initial development of the wifi component of the Network Wizard approximately 3 years ago, I warned him that it was near-impossible to accommodate the configuration differences of all wifi adaptors and access points, and that he would probably receive no thanks from the majority of users whose configurations work perfectly, but more likely abuse from the minority whose configurations don't work perfectly.
The earlier post is a sad confirmation of this prediction.

It needs to be noted, at the outset, that we're talking about an individual instance here.
It should also be noted that hidden SSID's can be a problem in Linux usually with WPA encryption (even though the poster failed to indicate the type of encryption being used). This is a shortcoming of wpa_supplicant, the application running behind the Network Wizard, and this will be the case (obviously) with all Linux distributions. But more fairly, it's also a shortcoming of certain Linux drivers which fail to interact with wpa_supplicant in a standardised manner.
So again, success or failure will often depend on the nuances of the particular combination of wifi device and router.
Forum member JustGreg did some thorough testing with hidden SSID's here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=29205

You will see that some wifi devices (and their Linux drivers) work fine, some don't.

Windows XP contains very few, if any, wifi drivers. Most are provided by the individual vendors, and the only reason opensource drivers and utilities need to be used in Linux is because of the discriminatory practice of many wifi vendors in not providing Linux drivers, themselves.
Ultimately, any "failure" under Linux is directly the fault of the wifi device manuafacturers.

And in this particular instance, the wifi connection failure was actually due to the user setting their router for hidden SSID (which is not the default setting on a wifi router) ...
which is not such a bad thing, because hiding your router's SSID, ironically, makes your wifi network less secure.
This has been discussed in technical detail on the forum before
"HOW-TO have a more secure wireless network"
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=207892#207892
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 11 Mar 2010, 18:41    Post subject:  

Confession: I've not read every post all the way through this topic, but my rapid scan did not see my problem mentioned.
EDIT: I've read it all now, so...

I'm trying to set up wifi on Puppy 4.3.1 on an Acer Aspire One. Wizard does not work, but the command line method does. Hurrah!! But the configuration does not survive a reboot.

I'm running live usb stick, with a save file on the hard drive.

One odd thing is that all those files that we delete in the config process do not appear afterwards. Should they? Do I need to provide empty directories/files?

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ddubois

Joined: 29 Jul 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat 14 Aug 2010, 04:41    Post subject:  

The network wizard works great for me, except for the bit about saving a profile and automatically using it on the next boot. I have to re-run the network wizard every boot. Before I resort to trying to trying to determine all the correct parameters for a command line script to leave on my desktop, does anyone have any suggestions for me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SimpleWater

Joined: 19 Apr 2011
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed 27 Apr 2011, 00:32    Post subject:  

i used Vettephil's simple script on the first page. Works nicely Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Spaccafumo


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Sulmona - Italy

PostPosted: Wed 21 Dec 2011, 09:09    Post subject: Replacing wpa to wep in iwconfig.
Subject description: How to.
 

How to replace this wep-128 (ascii) command:
iwconfig eth0 key s:asciipassword
with a wpa2 analogous command?
Can you write any example-text?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 13 [182 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0854s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0062s) ][ GZIP on ]