Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 07:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Creating a buttonbar for use in PuppyLinux
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [43 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Boo2themoon


Joined: 15 Aug 2007
Posts: 54
Location: West Country UK

PostPosted: Wed 23 Apr 2008, 18:32    Post subject:  

nutts4life

Glad my idea wasn't too silly Very Happy

Being a non technical bloke, I'm never too sure whether to post in these high flying forums!

Anyway having gotten away with that one, I'll suggest another lol.

Would it be possible to add multiple menu/start buttons to the taskbar, dock or Xfce panel? Each with its own title, ie internet, work, play etc?

Linux Mints menu even uses columns.

Just another idea from a non techie Smile

I like your idea very much and will keep an eye on your progression.

All the best,

Boo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nutts4life


Joined: 15 Feb 2008
Posts: 263
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 24 Apr 2008, 06:39    Post subject:  

Boo2themoon,

Yes that can be done on both Icewm and XFCE, without much hassle at all.

And i've thought about that idea. It's just the flexibilty of the solution. You can only have the icons going vertically and however you try the xfce panel can never look as cool as something like awn.

It is a good thought and it will provide a good interface for a touchpad screen. but i'm not sure it would make the user interface easier for a newbie.

Good thought, sounds like you're on a role!

n4l
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1696
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 24 Apr 2008, 07:36    Post subject:  

cheers to all,

to my opinion, you're all right, buttonbars help, to make things clearer.

but i think, puppy with jwm has enough 'features' to do so in a very minimal way.

as mentioned before, making a buttonbar is simple (as i'm able to Wink ). and also mentioned before, jwm is able to have 2 panels. in combination of this, one is able to have a fully configured panel with buttons to launch the self-created buttonbars.

the advantage of this way: you don't need additional apps, just some icons and some ideas, which groups/apps should be started with the buttons from the panel.

as an example, i've attached a picture of my desktop. there are 2 buttonbars, the shutdown (adapted from the ice-wm-shutdown)is started by the poweroff-button from the upper panel, the other one for my gmpc/mpd is started from the menu.

what do i want to say??? Everything is build in.

aragon
desktop.png
 Description   
 Filesize   48.37 KB
 Viewed   736 Time(s)

desktop.png


_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nutts4life


Joined: 15 Feb 2008
Posts: 263
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 24 Apr 2008, 10:13    Post subject:  

aragon,

First of all, nice cans.

There's no doubt that jwm can produce a set of buttons on a dialog, but i'm talking about a complete user experience. Were the desktop is simplified with a iconified desktop.

Basically allowing the user only ONE choice of how to do one task.

n4l
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1431
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 24 Apr 2008, 18:07    Post subject:  

Hi All

Dont know if you have seen this: JWM with flyout tray menus

I have been using it for quite a while now, in puppy 216.
Keeps the desktop very uncluttered. Cool Cool

Just thought i would bring it up, somebody may like to use it.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 01:53    Post subject:  

CatDude
I'm glad you like the flyout trays. I didn't realise anybody was actually using it. One thing to note is that it uses jwm 1.8 which requires slightly different configuration tags to 2.01. I did look yesterday at porting the patch to 2.01 but it is going to take a couple more hours than I have free at the moment. I did write a script which parses your .jwmrc and creates a set of trays for all the menus items.
Code:
#!/bin/sh
if [ -e /root/.jwmrc-tray2 ] ; then
echo I will not overwrite existing .jwmrc-tray2 please delete it before rerunning
exit
fi
grep -E '<Menu|<Program' '.jwmrc' | grep -Ev '<MenuStyle|<!--' > /tmp/dotjwmrc-tray
sed -i 's/<Program label=/<TrayButton popup=/' /tmp/dotjwmrc-tray
sed -i 's/>/>exec:/;s/exec:$//' /tmp/dotjwmrc-tray
sed -i 's/<\/Program>/<\/TrayButton>/' /tmp/dotjwmrc-tray

Y=2
:>/tmp/tray-bottom
echo '<Tray  autohide="true"  x="0" y="0" border="1" width="34" layout="vertical">' > /tmp/tray-top
while read LINE ;do
if [ "$(echo $LINE | grep '<Menu')" ];then
echo $LINE | sed 's/<Menu label=/<TrayButton popup=/;s/>/>exec:<\/TrayButton>/' >> /tmp/tray-top
[ $Y -gt 2 ] && echo '</Tray' >> /tmp/tray-bottom
echo '
<Tray autohide="true"  x="0" y="'$Y'" border="1" height="30" layout="horizontal_flyout">
' >> /tmp/tray-bottom
let "Y += 32"
else
echo $LINE >> /tmp/tray-bottom
fi
done < dotjwmrc-tray
echo '</Tray' >> /tmp/tray-bottom
echo '</Tray>' >> /tmp/tray-top
echo '<JWM>' > /root/.jwmrc-tray2
cat /tmp/tray-top >> /root/.jwmrc-tray2
cat /tmp/tray-bottom >> /root/.jwmrc-tray2
echo '</JWM>' >> /root/.jwmrc-tray2
if [ ! "$(grep '<Include>/root/.jwmrc-tray2</Include>' /root/.jwmrc)" ]; then
sed -i 's/<\/JWM>/<Include>\/root\/.jwmrc-tray2<\/Include>\n<\/JWM>/' /root/.jwmrc
fi
jwm -p

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1696
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 04:21    Post subject:  

Hi Will, hi CatDude,

no, i haven't seen that one, looks great. I'm looking forward to see the jwm 2.01-version to test it with 3.01.

Or did i go wrong and i'm able to use this one with 301?

cheers
aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nutts4life


Joined: 15 Feb 2008
Posts: 263
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 05:54    Post subject:  

HairyWill,

Your strikes of genius all over this forum never cease to amaze me. Great work.

These are all good suggestions, but i'm really looking to create an entire environment on the desktop, rather than use the taskbar. I'm not saying stop using the taskbar, i'm saying bring the menu items onto the desktop in a well formatted Linpus / eeePC like fashion. I guess i'm looking to replace the ROX pinboard with a tabbed interface.

So HairyWill, how would you go about creating an app like the eeePC's UI or Linpus Lite's, that just sits on top of the desktop (leaving the taskbar still there, but without a menu)? Obviously it might need a bit of bling , so i guess it will be more gtk / qt / fltk toolkit stuff?

Thanks,

n4l
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 07:25    Post subject:  

nutts4life wrote:
Your strikes of genius all over this forum never cease to amaze me.
no I'm not going to build one Wink

I think the choice of toolkit makes no difference to the application, though it would seem silly to require users to install extra libraries. On that basis gtk or raw xlib would be sensible choices. Well written xlib is I believe much less costly in terms of resources.

Richards gtkdialog bars could get very close to what you are looking for. It depends on how import bling is to you. It is easy to remove the window manager decorations for specific apps in your jwm config and you can vary the button size. Instead of one program consider 4 of them each with the same row of main buttons at the top to select the category and exactly the same size. Under this is a set of buttons that applies to the current category. When you hit a particular category button it kills the current window and loads the new one in exactly the same place. You could use one program to generate the different windows dynamically.

I think the design questions are more interesting.
Should the panels/buttons be user editable?
Do you want the panel to die when it loses focus?
Should it be running permanently on a lower z level to all the other windows?
Would it be better for it to be launched from a great big drop down button at the top of the screen.

There are lots of ways of redesigning your environment to make it more efficient for you. It is more difficult to ensure that these methods are intuitive and work for others, especially if all they are used to is windows. linux abounds with all sorts of weird and wonderful window managers which work really well if you know ow to use them

Personally I don't have a big screen. Many of my applications are running full screen so I don't see the desktop very often. That is why I liked the flyout trays because all they needed to start a new app was a fairly linear mouse movement and a single click.

good luck

Aragon
All of the current 3 and 4 series puppies use jwm 2.01. You can replace jwm in them with mine or a conventional jwm 1.8. It will still work but the windows will all have red borders and titlebars and you will not get gradient colours. On the plus side you will be able to resize your windows from the top. There are a few other minor functional differences. I'm not sure if 2.01 squashed any major bugs.
Instead of overwriting the jwm at /usr/X11R7/bin/jwm you could just copy the modified one to /usr/bin where it will get found first. When you have had enough just delete it and the original will get used.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1431
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 09:49    Post subject:  

Hi HairyWill

HairyWill wrote:
CatDude
I'm glad you like the flyout trays. I didn't realise anybody was actually using it.


Im not the only one who likes it, the missus is also using them.
She loves them.

Also thankyou for the script, ill give that a try later

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1696
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 11:08    Post subject:  

hi nuts,

one idea: have you looked at wbar? i used it with fluxbox, i think it's very nice.

if !?! wbar has the ability to start with different config-files (what i don't know), you could use will's idea with wbar (little bling).

wbar 1: the groups
wbar 2: audio
wbar 3: office
wbar 4: ...

if you choose audio wbar 1 closes and wbar 2 opens in the same place. if you start f.e. xmms from audio it closes wbar 2, starts wbar 1 and then starts xmms. in every "group"-wbar you will also need a back button which closes the "group"-wbar and starts wbar 1 again.

cheers
aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
richard.a


Joined: 15 Aug 2006
Posts: 510
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 Apr 2008, 18:22    Post subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
Personally I don't have a big screen. Many of my applications are running full screen so I don't see the desktop very often. That is why I liked the flyout trays because all they needed to start a new app was a fairly linear mouse movement and a single click.
Mate those fly-out trays are also a feature of Gnome and I've used them to great advantage. Been around a long time, Sun's Java Desktop System was the earliest system I saw them on and that's design era was about 2002 from memory, though I think they were part of Gnome before then.

They are really a sort of dynamic version of what this article was originally written about, and will work from horizontal or vertical panels (taskbars). Great for moving everything off the desktop except then you have more than one click needed to launch something which makes it less attractive ergonomically. (I used to customise AutoCAD menus with productivity in mind).

You can also add fly-out trays to fly-out trays - which sounds strange, but this can be useful to group associated products together. Very Happy

Off Topic
Just a thought too. You can free up memory if you need to, by making your desktop bare, particularly of busy wallpaper of many colours. This is an old tip from Windows 3.1 days with (if you were unlucky) only 16 Megs of slow RAM.

Richard

_________________
Have you noticed editing is always needed for the inevitable typos that weren't there when you hit the "post" button?


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 30 Apr 2008, 06:24    Post subject:  

richard.a wrote:
Mate those fly-out trays are also a feature of Gnome and I've used them to great advantage.
I didn't realise that, though I think I got the inspiration from something I saw in enlightenment.
richard.a wrote:
Great for moving everything off the desktop except then you have more than one click needed to launch something which makes it less attractive ergonomically.
what I have written is strictly one-click. It works in the same way as other jwm auto hidden trays. There is a one pixel border at the edge of the screen that enables the tray when you mouse over it. The flyout trays have small gaps in between them so that if you slide your mouse along the edge of the screen it also launches a conventional hidden tray. This sits underneath the flyouts and can be used to provide a first level menu to find the other trays. The buttons on the first level menu don't have any action associated with them they just provide a visual clue.
richard.a wrote:
You can also add fly-out trays to fly-out trays - which sounds strange, but this can be useful to group associated products together
I think this would be hard to do with jwm

I have upgraded my mods to be compatible wth jwm 2.01 jwm flyout trays. At the moment I am running it with 50 pixel high buttons. These aren't particularly pretty as they use the icons in the jwm menu which are only 16 pixels high but this could be fixed by a pack of icons in $HOME/.icons. Before writing this I did try an icon launcher written by MU but it did require the extra click and was a bit slow, these babies are like $^!t off a shovel. Smile

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
richard.a


Joined: 15 Aug 2006
Posts: 510
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

PostPosted: Thu 01 May 2008, 20:17    Post subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
I didn't realise that, though I think I got the inspiration from something I saw in enlightenment.

I notice that Mint (which is a green tinged ubuntu with Gnome and many goodies) has it too; was playing with panels in a Mint I managed to install on one older computer (usually a no-no, ubuntu 5 is about the latest I've got going in most of them). The usual right click to add apps, menus, whatever and the trays are a choice of what you can add in the menu. In Gnome you can simply change icons for the trays by using the properties right-click, so it's all straight forward and integrated.

I rather like trays because you can still do a single click, albeit a long duration one Very Happy by holding the button down and sliding over the functions you don't wish to use and releasing the button over the one you want.

The rest of your post is very interesting; however with older machines, I haven't explored recent JWM and the recent puppy versions that use it because recent puppies won't work on many older boxes.

Wondering if it possible to retro-fit later JWM versions.

And completely off topic, I dislike the XDG menu concept. Nobody ever needs more than one menu system at a time, surely? Let's face it, nobody complains about the plain looking bars and menu in ubuntu... and if you have to have KDE, then you get the K version - Kubuntu.

I've been working on several adaptions of the bars for specific purposes, and I suppose it's what you become familiar with really... but I think it is such a simple way to do things, and so easy to modify on-the-fly if you need to change something.

_________________
Have you noticed editing is always needed for the inevitable typos that weren't there when you hit the "post" button?


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2727

PostPosted: Thu 01 May 2008, 22:52    Post subject:  

richard.a wrote:
That thread is here

Can't access the link?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [43 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0908s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]