Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Sep 2014, 17:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 3.00 bug reports here
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2007, 10:28    Post subject:  

new bug ?
in /var/log/messages
Code:
(none) auth.debug pidgin: looking for plugins in '/usr/lib/sasl2', failed to open directory, error: No such file or directory

Last edited by linuxcbon on Sun 07 Oct 2007, 16:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2007, 16:23    Post subject:  

Hello,

I have not been able to get my usb speakers to be retained as the working sound device on reboot. Puppy 3.0.
I've been looking into it, and it is not so straight forward, as on the surface and looking at how things interact, it should have been retained.
When I set the usb speakers as the sound device with the wizard they work great. But they are not a pci sound card, so there is no 'alias snd-card-X' line in /etc/modprobe.conf, only an 'alias sound-slot-0 snd-usb-audio', and the snd-cmipci is omitted from /etc/modprobe.conf.
Then when I reboot, the motherboards snd-cmipci driver gets loaded at 'alias snd-card-0' position in /etc/modprobe.conf, This is done by some automatic hardware detect script? (I have not found this one yet).
Motherboard BIOS does not let me disable the onboard sound card.
When the snd-cmipci gets loaded, the usb audio does not work.
When I blacklist the snd-cmipci it is still loaded.
When I manage to get everything into a non conflicting configuration, and reboot, and settings are retained, snd-usb-audio is still reported as 'default sound device' from "cat /proc/asound/cards", the usb-audio still does not work.

Can someone think of what else i could try?

Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2007, 16:41    Post subject:  

In /tmp/xerrs.log
I got :
Code:
(EE) Failed to load module "glx" (module does not exist, 0)

so I removed glx from xorg.conf

I also got :
Code:

(ROX-Filer:2905): Gtk-WARNING **: Could not find the icon 'mime-application:x-squashfs-image'. The 'hicolor' theme
was not found either, perhaps you need to install it.
You can get a copy from:
   http://icon-theme.freedesktop.org/releases
Welcome to Xproc 1.2 (for Linux 2.2.x)... Loading information from your system...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PhilCoo

Joined: 24 Mar 2007
Posts: 39
Location: Staffordshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2007, 16:57    Post subject:  

Not sure if you can count as a bug or minor inconvenience ? When exiting from live-cd and saving session to cd,previous versions showed the progress as the data was written,now you just get a warning to make sure the drive tray is closed.

Is there any way to re-start Gxine after using "kill" to close when it stops responding when trying to open internet radio ? I have now installed streamtuner which helps a lot but ended up deleting all the default media marks in Gxine and replacing them with my own choices.

Great work otherwise on ease of use.

Thanks

Phil Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2007, 18:06    Post subject: Re: Favourite Install Goes MIssing with 3.00
Subject description: ...not really a bug, but ...
 

BarryK wrote:
WhoDo wrote:
I have noticed there is no longer an option to install Puppy as Frugal with data saved to the partition rather than a pup_save.2fs file.

That was my preferred install for most machines, as it gave all the benefits of a Frugal install in terms of upgrading, but didn't restrict my data to a single bag file that could become corrupt.

Was this a considered decision, Barry? Or did the option just fall by the wayside? Maybe I missed while I was absent moving house and jobs, or something.

Um, I thought save to full partition is still there.

Nope. I get the option to choose a partition where I want the save file to go, and a choice of private extension for the file name, but no option to just save directly to the partition without creating a pup_save.2fs file. I guess it must have slipped by the wayside in the process of getting customised save files running.

Thanks for taking the time to answer, Barry. Much appreciated.

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2007, 22:27    Post subject: gxine
Subject description: Restarting
 

Hi all

This is what I have done when gxine has failed and I use the kill option. menu/system/KP running processes. Look down the list and find gxine there will be entires kill the one that just says gxine and then you can start as normal.

_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2007, 00:51    Post subject:  

So that means it is jwm that is at fault? The right click on the taskbar, and selecting "kill" is a jwm thing, right?

Back in my old unix days I would have known how to kill from the command line almost without thinking. The command line was all there was. Mostly gone from my brain now... Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
andrei

Joined: 31 May 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2007, 03:18    Post subject: gsview does not work (solved)  

For some reason which I dont understand, gsview refused to show ps files in 3.00 and complained of the wrong version of gs_init.ps
I solved this problem by deleting the folder /usr/share/ghostscript/8.15/lib/ and replacing it with /usr/share/ghostscript/8.15/lib/ from the old pup_221.sfs

Gsview with ghostscript-8.15 is the best available postscript viewer in terms of the quality of text image. For some reason the later versions of ghostscript, for example 8.54 or 8.57 are worse in terms of quality than 8.15. I don't understand why, but I can demonstrate it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2007, 05:02    Post subject:  

Jesse wrote:
Hello,

I have not been able to get my usb speakers to be retained as the working sound device on reboot. Puppy 3.0.
I've been looking into it, and it is not so straight forward, as on the surface and looking at how things interact, it should have been retained.
When I set the usb speakers as the sound device with the wizard they work great. But they are not a pci sound card, so there is no 'alias snd-card-X' line in /etc/modprobe.conf, only an 'alias sound-slot-0 snd-usb-audio', and the snd-cmipci is omitted from /etc/modprobe.conf.
Then when I reboot, the motherboards snd-cmipci driver gets loaded at 'alias snd-card-0' position in /etc/modprobe.conf, This is done by some automatic hardware detect script? (I have not found this one yet).
Motherboard BIOS does not let me disable the onboard sound card.
When the snd-cmipci gets loaded, the usb audio does not work.
When I blacklist the snd-cmipci it is still loaded.
When I manage to get everything into a non conflicting configuration, and reboot, and settings are retained, snd-usb-audio is still reported as 'default sound device' from "cat /proc/asound/cards", the usb-audio still does not work.

Can someone think of what else i could try?

Jesse

Jesse, maybe these code areas would be helpful to examine:
/etc/rc.d/rc.local0, from line 368
/etc/rc.d/rc.modules, from line 76
/etc/rc.d/rc.modules2 <<<particularly this one.

Note, you can also blacklist any module.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2007, 05:05    Post subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:
In /tmp/xerrs.log
I got :
Code:
(EE) Failed to load module "glx" (module does not exist, 0)

so I removed glx from xorg.conf

I also got :
Code:

(ROX-Filer:2905): Gtk-WARNING **: Could not find the icon 'mime-application:x-squashfs-image'. The 'hicolor' theme
was not found either, perhaps you need to install it.
You can get a copy from:
   http://icon-theme.freedesktop.org/releases
Welcome to Xproc 1.2 (for Linux 2.2.x)... Loading information from your system...

These are non-fatal errors.
The glx module is specified in xorg.conf just in case the extra xorg modules package is installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Redvamp128

Joined: 20 Jul 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2007, 08:26    Post subject: MS VIRTUAL PC 2007
Subject description: RETRO WORKED
 

Thanks Barry... The 3.00retro worked. It allows me to click in windows to choose the video using xvesa. I guess the new kernal may have something to do with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
laptopnewbee

Joined: 19 Aug 2006
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2007, 09:12    Post subject:  

am i the only one who has gotten the issue i reported in my post http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=145037#145037
or did it just get missed in the rush of other things?

i can't try to get wifi working in 3.00 final unless i can enter commands through xterm (by whatever name it's called) without characters being changed from the ones i input.

_________________
so much to learn, so late a start.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11066
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2007, 10:31    Post subject:  

PhilCoo wrote:
...Is there any way to re-start Gxine after using "kill" to close when it stops responding when trying to open internet radio?...

Thanks

Phil Smile

The problem seems to be that the older version of Gxine in 3.00 doesn't actually die when you kill it. I discovered that after I close or kill Gxine from the desktop, I have to open Menu > System > KP manage running processes, find the running instance of gxine, highlight it and then kill it. Then I can restart Gxine.

I also found that the version of Gxine in 3.00 won't play a DVD, at least on the computer I usually use. I haven't tried it on another computer. I only discovered last night that the Gxine in 3.00 freezes after a while when I try to play a DVD, while the Gxine in 2.17 plays the DVD just fine.

I see that Paulbx1 reports the same problems with gxine..

_________________
Puppy Help 101 - an interactive tutorial for Lupu 5.25
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2007, 12:44    Post subject:  

Same happened to me with gxine : hangs very often, quite unstable but didnt find the origin of the bug...
It wont play some commercial dvds ?
And cannot kill it from desktop, must be killed with command line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PhilCoo

Joined: 24 Mar 2007
Posts: 39
Location: Staffordshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2007, 13:02    Post subject: Gxine "kill" problem  

Hi All, thanks to Grumpy Wolfe & Flash for feedback,will try this later on with internet radio on Gxine.

Phil Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1954s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0818s) ][ GZIP on ]