Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 06:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 3.00 bug reports here
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 16:46    Post subject: Pbackup  

Zigbert,

As per my note above I was quit impressed by the gui pf the latest Pbackup. But I have noted a problem, which reproducibly happens after I have used it to burn a cd of, say, pup_save.2fs. Emelfm2 then no longer runs!

Incidentally, I like emelfm2 a lot. Roxfiler of course is essential for several reasons, not least the thumbnail display. But emelfm2 is so convenient for example, for copying and renaming versions of pup_save.2fs back and forth between home and the folder I keep them in. Feels a little more secure than dragging between Rox windows, which tend to overlap and jump in a startling way.

Henry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
wingruntled

Joined: 20 Feb 2007
Posts: 287
Location: Great Lakes

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 16:47    Post subject:  

I finally got to download 3.0. I had a few odd issues with it. To start I did a full HD install.
Like puppy 2.17.1 I had no sound with the onboard sound in the SIS 630 chipset on this Hitachi Deskview machine. No problem though, I just installed the snd-trident module with boot manager and that fixed that. I had to do the same with puppy 2.17.1 so it was easy this time. Everything seemed to work good except Gxine would not play full screen DVD's in any video mode. Now here is the odd thing. I installed EZpup 2.17R2 and I thought it fail because it never went beyond the checking dependentcies window. But after closing the window by clicking on it I noticed my desktop icons started changing after doing a mouse-over, so I rebooted the machine and I ended up with Icewm and everything worked. And for some odd reason Gxine now will play DVD's full screen.
Luck or what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Leon

Joined: 22 Jun 2005
Posts: 228
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 16:59    Post subject: Re: Pbackup  

Henry wrote:
Incidentally, I like emelfm2 a lot. Roxfiler of course is essential for several reasons, not least the thumbnail display. But emelfm2 is so convenient for example, for copying and renaming versions of pup_save.2fs back and forth between home and the folder I keep them in. Feels a little more secure than dragging between Rox windows, which tend to overlap and jump in a startling way.

I fully agree. I use it a lot too. It would be fine to have it with Rox in Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4367
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 17:44    Post subject: Re: ethernet driver forcedeth fails to load.  

Leon wrote:


I'm no Grub expert, but it is my understanding that Grub should always be in the \boot\grub directory (or /boot/grub depending on how you look at it).

I always use frugal install with manually extracting files from iso and modifying my menu.lst file.

This Puppy-3.00 boot section from my menu.lst file works for me:

# Boot Puppy Linux
title Puppy-3.00, idehd, /p300
rootnoverify (hd0,4)
kernel /p300/vmlinuz PMEDIA=idehd
initrd /p300/initrd.gz
boot

All files from puppy-3.00-seamonkey.iso are in /p300 directory on vfat32 partition.


Is there a location or GRUB code difference when using NTFS instead of VFAT32?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 17:59    Post subject:  Re: ethernet driver forcedeth fails to load.  

Leon wrote:
Jesse wrote:
Hi,

My ethernet driver does not load under Puppy 3.0. Even when I choose it from the wizard list and click 'load'.
<snip>

When Puppy 3.00 was released Barry mentioned this in the announcement and release notes:

“A note for frugal installers -- there is still a little quirk. When do a frugal install to a subdirectory, using the 'psubdir' boot parameter, at first boot Puppy cannot find the 'zdrv_300.sfs' file. It is found after the pup_save file is created.
Another quirk is that the zdrv file cannot be found if, when presented with a list of pup_save files, you choose '0' (none).
I decided that these and some other issues are small enough not to hold up release of 3.00 final.”

<snip>


Hi Leon,

Thanks for the pointers. Yes I did a frugal install to a subdirectory, but I found that the ethernet driver would not load no matter how many times I rebooted.
Its annoying to get a message "could not load driver" rather than "could not find zdrv222...". Not a helpful message.
I copied the zdrv file to / and rebooted and that has sorted it out for me for the moment.

Hi Barry!
I think having to have two copies of the zdrv file on the hard disk is unnecessary bloat... I think you'll agree.

Other Puppy users will undoubtedly have this problem, and not know enough to be able to check what the problem is, or know enough about how to report the problem online considering it is their ethernet driver that is not working. Mad
The Frugal install is a fairly major part of how Puppy operates, surely the basics should all be worked out by now?

Theres a lot of nice aspects to Puppy 3, but the basics are very important!

Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 18:12    Post subject: 3.00 memory usage  

Not really a bug, but I noted that Puppy 3.00 does not load to ram on a 192MB machine. A quick comparison of memory usage on that machine shows:
Code:
                 Used       Free     Buffers
2.01             138784     52320    12400
2.16             159076     31920    20464
3.00             171436     16520    21552

Results are from the free command before any application is run. There is a swap partition but no swap was used until applications were loaded by 3.00.
On a (different) 256MB machine, used memory was 213MB under similar conditions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 22:16    Post subject: Favourite Install Goes MIssing with 3.00
Subject description: ...not really a bug, but ...
 

I have noticed there is no longer an option to install Puppy as Frugal with data saved to the partition rather than a pup_save.2fs file.

That was my preferred install for most machines, as it gave all the benefits of a Frugal install in terms of upgrading, but didn't restrict my data to a single bag file that could become corrupt.

Was this a considered decision, Barry? Or did the option just fall by the wayside? Maybe I missed while I was absent moving house and jobs, or something.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
klasterson

Joined: 07 Oct 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2007, 05:07    Post subject:  

My problem:

this setting in xorg.conf doesn't make effect at all:

Section "Modes"
Identifier "Modes0"
ModeLine "1280x1024" 108.00 1280 1344 1456 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync #modes0modeline0
EndSection

I have to set it manually with xvidtune on every bootup. In spite of click on Show button in Xvidtune it doesn't work...

In Xorg.0.log are this errors:
(WW) Open ACPI failed (/var/run/acpid.socket) (No such file or directory)
(WW) Warning, couldn't open module glx
(EE) Failed to load module "glx" (module does not exist, 0)

Other settings are saved correct so far.

I have GeForce FX 5200 and LG L1752 LCD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2007, 06:35    Post subject: Re: zygo  

zygo wrote:
makesquashfs-lzma is missing. How can I compress my remastered pup_222.sfs using lzma?

zygo, you can't. I have dropped support for lzma in squashfs. It's so darn complicated to compile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Leon

Joined: 22 Jun 2005
Posts: 228
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2007, 07:02    Post subject:  

klasterson wrote:
My problem:

this setting in xorg.conf doesn't make effect at all:

Section "Modes"
Identifier "Modes0"
ModeLine "1280x1024" 108.00 1280 1344 1456 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync #modes0modeline0
EndSection

I have to set it manually with xvidtune on every bootup. In spite of click on Show button in Xvidtune it doesn't work...

I noticed the same problem when changed and saved HSyncStart and HSyncEnd display settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2007, 07:23    Post subject: Re: Live cd boot issues  

cell_dude5 wrote:
I have been trying to revive an older laptop, and have a few issues with trying to get it to boot the 3.0 Puppy live cd.

Right after the Perform a 'switch_root' to the new Unionfs filesystem is done, it starts this:

modprobe: FATAL: Error running install command for binfmt_0000 and it just repeats that error forever until I ctl-alt-del.

I found a copy of puppy 2.13 and it boots just fine.

Any help is appreciated.
Thanks
Richard

ps. Its a Compaq Armada E500 laptop with PIII 500 and 128meg. PCMCIA D-link wireless adapter installed.

Can you try with the boot parameter 'puppy loglevel=7' and see if any other error msg appears.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2007, 07:27    Post subject:  

alienjeff wrote:
@RickyVaio

Try "PMEDIA=satahd" instead of "pmedia=satahd" in your menu.lst kernel line

Upper-case or lower-case both work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2007, 07:37    Post subject:  

Quote:
Hi Barry!
I think having to have two copies of the zdrv file on the hard disk is unnecessary bloat... I think you'll agree.

Jesse, yes, I expect to have this sorted out for 3.01.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2007, 07:40    Post subject: Re: Favourite Install Goes MIssing with 3.00
Subject description: ...not really a bug, but ...
 

WhoDo wrote:
I have noticed there is no longer an option to install Puppy as Frugal with data saved to the partition rather than a pup_save.2fs file.

That was my preferred install for most machines, as it gave all the benefits of a Frugal install in terms of upgrading, but didn't restrict my data to a single bag file that could become corrupt.

Was this a considered decision, Barry? Or did the option just fall by the wayside? Maybe I missed while I was absent moving house and jobs, or something.

Um, I thought save to full partition is still there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2007, 09:35    Post subject:  

A little more info on gxine. I was comparing playing a DVD in 2.16 and 3.00. In 3.00, I can resize the window, then play OK (except once it hung with no provocation), but if I play the video and resize while playing, it is a guaranteed hang of gxine. It does not help to kill gxine, you can't restart it again. I have to exit X altogether and restart it, then I can start gxine again. Same deal if I take the little progress indicator and move it forward or back; if I fool around with that enough 3.00 gxine hangs. 2.16 gxine does not have problems with these things. I tried in 3.00 to start gxine from a console window, hoping to see some message before it dies, but no luck. Bottom line, 3.00 gxine appears less robust than 2.16.

BTW, if I click the "USB interfaces" button of pupscan, it exits or hangs, and like gxine above cannot be restarted even after a kill. Kill may have a problem in this kernel...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1054s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0146s) ][ GZIP on ]