Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 23:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 3.00 bug reports here
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
alienjeff


Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 2291
Location: Winsted, CT - USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2007, 13:30    Post subject:  

@RickyVaio

Try "PMEDIA=satahd" instead of "pmedia=satahd" in your menu.lst kernel line

_________________
hangout: ##b0rked on irc.freenode.net
diversion: http://alienjeff.net - visit The Fringe
quote: "The foundation of authority is based upon the consent of the people." - Thomas Hooker

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
iandel

Joined: 28 Sep 2005
Posts: 30
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2007, 14:35    Post subject:  

G'day,

alienjeff, no I didn't try any of the Beta's.

SirDuncan, Once it has been loaded to a hard drive then it doesn't seem to matter whether it is a Frugal or a Full install. I have two partitions (on separate physical drives) and have tried upgrading an older version (2.14), frugal install, and full install on a hard drive with everything deleted and freshly formatted. It still doesn't recognize the ethernet or USB. In fact, /proc/bus/usb is empty. This is probably part of the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
barker

Joined: 10 Jun 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2007, 14:42    Post subject: universal installer failure on usb flash
Subject description: universal installer cannot install to pendrive
 

Hi I've used puppy's universal installer several times before, and never had problems- but with 3.0 it does not seem to work.
however my pendrive is formatted (fat16, ext2, ext3, fat32, one partition, two partitions, bootable flag, no flag - formatted in windows, formatted with linux, partitioned with gparted, or fdisk, or cfdisk (you see I've tried a few options Wink) it is only recognised as 'superfloppy formatted with ext3 - no files are copied across (although the operation takes some time and uses both the CD-drive and hard disk (swap?)). No options to install a boot loader or make the disk bootable appear afterwards.

Has anyone else had this problem?
Installing on ATA hard-drive no problem.

barker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
flagman

Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Location: Flagstaff, AZ

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2007, 14:48    Post subject: Reboot occassionally restores stock desktop icons
Subject description: Pup 3.0 sometimes replaces my custom desktop icons
 

Puppy 3.0 employs 48 pixel desktop icons. I prefer 32 pixel icons at 1024x768x24 video resolution. I carefully changed each of Pups stock icons with a 32 pixel alternative from /usr...

Pup 3 appears to randomly remove custom desktop icons, replacing them with Barry's stock icons. It does not necessarily restore all of them. "Home", "Browser", "Calc" and "Drives" revert most often.

Anyone have any thoughts?

I am booting Puppy 3 from a ext3 partition on flash stick and have encountered few other problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RickyVaio

Joined: 12 May 2007
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2007, 15:05    Post subject:  

alienjeff wrote:
@RickyVaio

Try "PMEDIA=satahd" instead of "pmedia=satahd" in your menu.lst kernel line


Nope, no luck, same tty thing.

It IS picking up the kernel and the compressed distro, though; if I do "ls" it shows a directory structure...

If it helps, I'm trying to run frugal in a HP Evo DC5100 (P4, 512 MB RAM, 40 GB SATA drive) with four partitions: sda1 is Win XP, sda2 should be Puppy (300 MB FAT32), sda3 is swap, sda4 is Ubuntu 7.04 (running fine)...

Here someone who explains (sort of) what is the error message:

Quote:

Job control will be turned off since your shell can not obtain a controlling terminal. This typically happens when you run your shell on /dev/console. The kernel will not provide a controlling terminal on the /dev/console device. Your should run your shell on a normal tty such as tty1 or ttyS0 and everything will work perfectly. If you REALLY want your shell to run on /dev/console, then you can hack your kernel (if you are into that sortof thing) by changing drivers/char/tty_io.c to change the lines where it sets "noctty = 1;" to instead set it to "0".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
justauser

Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2007, 16:06    Post subject: Universal installer problems  

I had an experience similar to what others described. I had one of the betas installed and then did a frugal install and rebooted. I got updating messages and started running and saved and rebooted. It was like no upgeade was done and I'd just done a clean install.

I did a new mkfs to the partiion and did a frugal install. Saved my stuff on shutdown, but after reboot, it was like I never did the save. Shitdown and saved and rebooted and this time it worked.

Lots of small quirks with the installer and also with upgrade.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
laptopnewbee

Joined: 19 Aug 2006
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2007, 22:12    Post subject:  

i find this xterm issue in 3.00, but not in 3.00 retro.

Code:

# modprobe ieee80211_crypt-rtl
FATAL: Module ieee80211_crypt_rtl not found.
# modprobe ieee80211_crypt-rtl
FATAL: Module ieee80211_crypt_rtl not found.
# modprobe ieee80211_crypt-rtl
FATAL: Module ieee80211_crypt_rtl not found.


notice the dash gets changed to an underscore.

i tried it that many times to be sure.

_________________
so much to learn, so late a start.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4386
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2007, 22:33    Post subject:
Subject description: Seamonkey Doesn't Pick Up Existing SM Settings
 

Tried to do a Frugal load on a laptop with a Full HDD load of
TeenPup (2.14).

Seamonkey failed to detect the prior load of SM and pick up anything,
settings, address book, bookmarks, folders.

It was like a clean load on a new computer.

Someone suggested a newer version of Seamonkey.

Perhaps I just need to follow a different load process?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4386
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2007, 23:02    Post subject:
Subject description: Loading 3.00 on a Win2000Pro machine?
 

Where should the /boot folder and menu.list text file for GRUB be
located, please?

C:\ ?

C:\puppy300 ?

C:\bdisk ?

Other?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Crash


Joined: 09 Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Location: Garland, TX

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 00:21    Post subject:  

Regarding Puppy Universal Installer:

I used it to install Puppy 3.00 on a USB stick with no problem. Before I did the install, I used GParted to remove all the partitions on it and created one big (1 GB) FAT16 partition. I then turned on the boot flag. Then I did the install to the "\" directory. It boots up fine, either directly on power-up for computers that support USB booting, or through 3.00's Wakepup2 floppy on a computer that doesn't support USB boot-up.

I moved the USB flash stick's Puppy files to a subdirectory ( I called it p300usb ) and it boots up fine using Wakepup2. It also boots up fine from power-up when I change syslinux.cfg to:

default p300usb\vmlinuz initrd=p300usb\initrd.gz pmedia=usbflash psubdir=p300usb

I have not yet tried using Universal Installer to explicitly put Puppy in a subdirectory, but I know it works in a subdirectory using this manual process.

I also installed Puppy OK on my hard drive in a FAT32 partition by simply copying the four Puppy files to it plus the "idehd" marker. It booted fine using Wakepup2. I then then moved it to a subdirectory. I can boot to it in the subdirectory either from Wakepup2 or just by going into FreeDOS and executing a file that says:

LINLD.COM image=C:\p300\vmlinuz initrd=C:\p300\initrd.gz "cl=root=/dev/ram0 PMEDIA=idehd acpi=on psubdir=p300"

I realize that this forum is for bugs and I am not really reporting any bug, but I thought that if you try from an established point that you know works, maybe you can determine the source of a bug easier.

The only minor bug that I still see is that an EXT2 Partition is not locked when I boot into a full install. This gets me into trouble if I accidently try to mount it using MUT. This is not an issue with frugal installs.

///

edoc-

I'm no Grub expert, but it is my understanding that Grub should always be in the \boot\grub directory (or /boot/grub depending on how you look at it).

///

(Second edit Oct 7):

I just tried Puppy's Universal Installer do an installation in a subdirectory on the hard drive. That works too.

///

Last edited by Crash on Mon 08 Oct 2007, 01:20; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 01:41    Post subject: Thanks, not a bug report  

After griping above about sundry I want to say also that -

Puppy 3 is impressively smooth and advanced, seen even in the brief and fast boot scroll.

Zigbert's Pbackup is very elegant!

A tip - If like me you have a lot of email to keep, keep it out of pup_save.2fs by specifying Local Folders in Seamonkey mail something like /mnt/home/Mail/Local Folders. This way it won't get lost if you switch to a new or different pup_save.2fs, and you won't need such a large one. Not so good if you want to carry your email with you, but you won't need such a large pup_save. (This is just an excuse to say it would be nice if someone did a pet.get of the official Seamonkey 1.1.4 for those of us challenged in that area.)

Similarly I keep a copy of the bookmark file elsewhere. Always good to store data separate from the OS, especially if one has been recently frightened by the big red error report re superblock and magic number! Another reason to think of Pbackup, maybe.

Henry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 03:22    Post subject: ethernet driver forcedeth fails to load.  

Hi,

My ethernet driver does not load under Puppy 3.0. Even when I choose it from the wizard list and click 'load'.

On the good old Puppy 2.13 that is still working great for me:
sh-3.00# elspci -l | grep forcedeth
00:0a.0 068000 10DE:0057 <forcedeth>

With all the updated scripts in Puppy 3.0 its pretty confusing for me to find what script does what. Can someone help me out?

Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 06:47    Post subject: Re: Small Bugs  

RMP wrote:
The dialog states it is not possible to use WPA with the 1211rw module.

The network-wiz-update-Oct5.pet will fix that. Get it here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=144292#144292

This problem is due to the fact that in older versions of Puppy the zd1211rw module did not work very well, so WPA support in the Network Wizard was written only to recognise the alternative zd1211/zd1211b modules.

zd1211rw apparently now works better with Puppy 3.00's 2.6.21x kernel.

Barry, this means another update to /usr/sbin/wag-profiles.sh
Sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Leon

Joined: 22 Jun 2005
Posts: 236
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 09:19    Post subject: Re: ethernet driver forcedeth fails to load.  

Jesse wrote:
Hi,

My ethernet driver does not load under Puppy 3.0. Even when I choose it from the wizard list and click 'load'.

On the good old Puppy 2.13 that is still working great for me:
sh-3.00# elspci -l | grep forcedeth
00:0a.0 068000 10DE:0057 <forcedeth>

With all the updated scripts in Puppy 3.0 its pretty confusing for me to find what script does what. Can someone help me out?

Jesse

I wondered why all Puppy 3.xx versions failed to autodetect 'eth0' although I hadn't this problem with any of previous versions.

When Puppy 3.00 was released Barry mentioned this in the announcement and release notes:

“A note for frugal installers -- there is still a little quirk. When do a frugal install to a subdirectory, using the 'psubdir' boot parameter, at first boot Puppy cannot find the 'zdrv_300.sfs' file. It is found after the pup_save file is created.
Another quirk is that the zdrv file cannot be found if, when presented with a list of pup_save files, you choose '0' (none).
I decided that these and some other issues are small enough not to hold up release of 3.00 final.”

I always use frugal install with manually extracting files from iso and modifying my menu.lst file.

This Puppy-3.00 boot section from my menu.lst file works for me:

# Boot Puppy Linux
title Puppy-3.00, idehd, /p300
rootnoverify (hd0,4)
kernel /p300/vmlinuz PMEDIA=idehd
initrd /p300/initrd.gz
boot

All files from puppy-3.00-seamonkey.iso are in /p300 directory on vfat32 partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eccentric

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 139
Location: Khon Kaen Thailand.....NOW back in the UK

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 11:05    Post subject: Puppy 3.00 seamonkey
Subject description: now working
 

Barry Sir,
Just to let you know i followed Leon,s advice for pppoe.
and Wolf pup for pidgin and now they both work.
Michael.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1072s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0119s) ][ GZIP on ]