Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Sep 2014, 20:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Online with QEMU Puppy ?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
Whelp

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 30 Sep 2007, 10:24    Post subject:  Online with QEMU Puppy ?
Subject description: How to go online from within QEMU Puppy ?
 

(Sorry if I am repeating a question answered somewhere already, but my search in the forums did not turn up a thread about this topic. If any exist, please simply let me know.)

Currently playing around with QEMU Puppy which I would like to take along on an upcoming vacation, I still fail to understand how to go online, download mail, browse the internet etc. from within QEMU Puppy.
My assumption is that it uses the host PC's connection to the internet (via modem, cable or whatever), so the host has to be online.
But it seems there is some step in between, because my attempts to reach a website from within QEMU Puppy have failed, even when a browser on the host PC could at the same time display this page. Sad
Is there any setup I need to to though first ?

Thanks for your interest and help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11108
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Mon 01 Oct 2007, 00:53    Post subject:  

It's in the command line. If the command line is right and the host computer is connected, all you have to do is run Puppy's connect wizard 1x.

So what are the requisite commands? Potentially there could be many, but this will do:

Code:
-net user -net nic,model=rtl8139


IF and this is a BIG IF - if your host is Linux, which it probably is not. Regarding windows host, I don't know.

If the command line arguments I shared won't work, check your user manual at http://fabrice.bellard.free.fr/qemu/qemu-doc.html section 3.7

Let me know, if how it goes okay?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Whelp

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed 17 Oct 2007, 17:56    Post subject:  

Bruce,

thank you for your help in this - the commandline parameters you recommended did indeed work: I am posting this message from QEMU Puppy 2.17.1, running under openSuSE 10.2 on my PC, which is connected to the net by analog modem using the "Bongosurfer" dialin program. Smile
So now I will again follow your excellent advice and take another close look at the manual to hopefully understand how to work this miracle under Windows OS, since that is what most machines I will have access to during my vacation will probably run (suffer under ? Wink).
Keeping my fingers crossed ... Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0508s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0121s) ][ GZIP on ]