Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Dec 2014, 17:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Puppy doesn't recognize BCM V.90 56k modem
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
DICKROUNDS

Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun 23 Sep 2007, 08:15    Post_subject:  Puppy doesn't recognize BCM V.90 56k modem  

After months of telling my friend about the virtues of Linux over Windows, he agreed to give it a try.

I downloaded Seamonkey with full drivers and burned a CD. It installed without a hitch except that it did not recognize his modem! Needless to say, I was embarrased. Does anyone have a fix for this problem or know of a different distribution which might work?

Dick
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sun 23 Sep 2007, 08:56    Post_subject:  

if it's one of the one's from this page:

http://modemsite.com/56k/bcm.asp

then it appears to be a winmodem. unfortunately the links on that page to the dell linux driver seem to be dead. you could try running the modem-wizard to try some of the different winmodem options, as i've no idea what the chipset is. (for pup2.17 just type modem-wizard in a console).

maybe scanModem could ID the chipset. you can download it here:

http://132.68.73.235/linmodems/packages/scanModem.gz

ungzip it & give it executable permission, then move it to /usr/bin, & type scanModem .it saves it's results in /root/Modem
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DICKROUNDS

Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun 23 Sep 2007, 10:18    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the prompt response. I'll give it a shot.

I have several standard type modems which I no longer need so, if all else fails, I might be able to convince my friend to install one.

Dick
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5292
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 23 Sep 2007, 11:52    Post_subject:  

Broadcom winmodems are supported by the SmartLink daemon "slmodemd" plus ALSA driver, but ONLY if the motherboard has an Intel Southbridge chipset. The relevant ALSA driver will be "snd-intel8x0m" (not "snd-intel8x0").

Barry has provided a modem wizard which should detect and setup these types of modems, but if the wizard doesn't work you can try to set up the modem manually referring to "PART 2" of these instructions -
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Internet/Winmodem-drivers-for-Puppy-2.00-and-2.01/SLmodem_README.txt
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DICKROUNDS

Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue 25 Sep 2007, 12:44    Post_subject:  

tempestuous.

Wow!

I'm afraid these instructions are a bit beyond my understanding. I think we'll install a standard Hayes compatible modem and see if that works.

Thanks for your input.

Dick
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0447s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]