Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 09:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 3.00BETA bug reports here
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 8 [117 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
dgi

Joined: 20 Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2007, 12:05    Post subject:  

PaulBx1 wrote:
The link in the old forum was http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=11848 I believe, but I don't know how to translate that into the new forum.

This? http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=11848
Just replace ".org/%7E" with "-linux.com/" in the URL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dsj

Joined: 19 Apr 2007
Posts: 23
Location: India

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2007, 17:36    Post subject:  

Installed (frugal) Beta 3 on a laptop as well as a desktop & there are two issues noted with seamonkey on both computers, If try to get a theme for seamonkey or an add on it ends up with unexpected error 201, I can add themes & add ons to Firefox.

While playing videofiles in the browser (Seamonkey & Firefox) i can not adjust the volume, pause or restart the video as the buttons do not respond.

wmpower gives the message No power management subsystem detected. I boot with the irqpoll & acpi=force options (on the same computers, wmpower runs in Grafpup 2).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7060
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2007, 19:55    Post subject:  

[quote="PaulBx1"]
Quote:
I could back this stuff out, if I knew what was supposed to be there. Just delete all the pango stuff in the /initrd/pup_rw/usr/lib directory I suppose?

UPDATE: There doesn't appear to be any, except that non-attached link I just created. Embarassed All there is is what was under root which I guess doesn't do anything. I can clean that out too...

Well, it depends how Puppy is installed. You might find the Pango files in /initrd/pup_ro1. Delete them, then reboot. Make sure 'show hidden files' is on, so there are no whiteout files related to the pango files, either in /initrd/pup_rw or /initrd/pup_ro1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7060
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 20 Sep 2007, 19:57    Post subject:  

dsj wrote:
While playing videofiles in the browser (Seamonkey & Firefox) i can not adjust the volume, pause or restart the video as the buttons do not respond.

This is fixed, please read the Developer News Blog.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2007, 00:10    Post subject:  

Thanks dgi, yes that is the right thread.

OK I deleted all that extraneous pango stuff.

In the process I intentionally deleted a directory /root/214upgradefiles (which is where I keep the versioncleanup stuff in an upgrade - OK I'm a packrat!) Anyway this of course only existed in my pupsave, not on the CD, so I was surprised to see my deletion generating a whiteout file, /initrd/pup_rw/root/.wh.214upgradefiles. I was hoping the new unionfs didn't do that.

I also get a few whiteout files like this every time I boot:
Code:
/ >find .  -type f -name ".wh.*"|grep -v opaque
./initrd/pup_rw/var/lib/pcmcia/.wh.cm-2378-0
./initrd/pup_rw/var/lib/pcmcia/.wh.cm-2378-1
./initrd/pup_rw/var/lib/pcmcia/.wh.cm-2378-2
./initrd/pup_rw/var/lib/pcmcia/.wh.cm-2381-0

They tend to pile up after a while. These too are apparently files in my pupsave so don't need whiteouts. Maybe I should just clear them out with a command in rc.local! Rolling Eyes

Seems like this bug should have been dealt with by the unionfs folks by now. It's pretty blatant. And it doesn't seem like the sort of thing it would be hard to fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2007, 02:52    Post subject: I too can't connect to the internet through external dialup  

Philh,

I too can't connect to the internet through external dialup modem. Using pupdial, I get the same lines in var/log/messages as you. I can't connect with eznet niether.

I have tried only pupdial in 3.00 old kernel and that failed too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Firefox

Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 171
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2007, 04:58    Post subject: Dial up  

There may be some shared library files missing, I generally download wvdial and gnome-ppp and use that combination but it doesnt work in V3.00 . just complains about missing libcrypto.09.so or something. Worked ok in 2.16. Please could they be replaced.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2007, 09:29    Post subject:  

I looked in /usr/lib in both 2.16 and 3.00, and found 2.16 has a link that 3.00 does not have. Try booting 3.00 and going to /usr/lib (in a console window) and doing this command:

ln -s libcrypto.so.0.9.8 libcrypto.so.0.9.7

See if that fixes it...

There should also be a link there of libcrypto.so.0.

As to the unionfs thing, I figured out a possible reason for .wh files to be created even for deleting files in the writable layer: in case there is another file of the same name in a layer that is not mounted at the time. If you later mount it, you don't want the file to reappear. Yeah, it sounds lame, but that's all I can figure...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Firefox

Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 171
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2007, 10:23    Post subject:  

Thanks for the tip.
I tried your linking method and yes it worked, but then the modem went down, but at least I know its part of the problem.
Ther is libcrypto.so and libcrypto.so.0.9.7 links to libcrypto 0.9.8 in /usr/lib.
I removed wvdial and gnome with petget and found i couldnt get the desktop connect icon to run.reverted to gkdial which i`m using now.I really dont understand why things work in one distro and fail to work in another!.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Firefox

Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 171
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2007, 10:46    Post subject:  

I just tried reinstalling wvdial153 and gnome-ppp and guess what - everything works with no dropout of modem???. Dont ask how cause i dont know unless the previuos links are still active because i didnt relink the libcrypto files.
Anyway thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2007, 18:22    Post subject:  

Glad I could help; usually I'm the one asking for it! Rolling Eyes

Here is a snapshot of the revised Partview on top of the old one (in the usual position, partially obscured by the task bar).



I have set the width of the mini windows to default at 6 (the 2nd executable "label" statement). Seems big enough.

One other thing about Partview. In 2.16 only hda1, the pup_save and unionfs (with the same sizes as the pup_save) is visible. With 3.00 we now have 3 new things, two ramdisks and something called shmfs. Wonder what these are... Maybe there needs to be a little more filtering to get rid of extraneous devices that most folks won't be interested in. I can do that if I know what people want to see and what they don't want to see.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1425
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2007, 22:26    Post subject:  

Tried the Network wizard in 3.00 with WPA/TKIP. It said "unable to establish WPA connection", but it did. I was connected to the network. So I tried it again with Rutilt running so I could see when it got connected. As soon as I clicked "OK" on the "unable to establish WPA connection" dialog it connected and I was able to use DHCP. It did work fine in 2.17. Unfortunately I didn't have much time to work with it. Not there a lot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
willhunt


Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 495

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2007, 22:27    Post subject:  

I would be more curious about the shared memory file system myself
anyone ?

_________________
176 Icewm Themes Exclamation
vlc-0.8.6c-i586.pet
vlc-0.8.6c-i586.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2007, 22:52    Post subject:  

I tried the Universal Installer, putting Puppy and my pupsave on a flash drive. Also tried Wakepup2 since this computer can't boot off USB directly. (USB 1.1)

1) The first screen of Wakepup is not exactly clear. Not sure what is being asked. Worse, while you are sitting there reading it, trying to figure it out, it times out and continues on. I don't think there should be a timeout here. Fortunately it did (almost, see next item) complete the boot. I was a bit surprised it did not give me a choice of pupsaves since I had a couple on the top directory of the hard drive, but it simply used only the one on the flash drive instead.

2) The above boot dumped me at the prompt (with no warning message or anything, just the prompt). I had to type "xwin" twice to get fully up. After typing it the first time I got another prompt with the usual warning about not shutting down correctly.

3) I was just searching on one of these web pages for a word (Seamonkey: Edit>Find in This Page) when I discovered the find gives the "not found" message even if I am looking right at the word the find dialog is searching for. I tried this many times. However I just tried it again on this "Post a reply" page and now it works. Anyway, there appears to be something intermittently wrong with Seamonkey "find".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2007, 02:56    Post subject:  

PaulBx1 wrote:
The first screen of Wakepup is not exactly clear. Not sure what is being asked.


thanks. i'll review the text for the next image.

PaulBx1 wrote:
Worse...it times out and continues on.


agreed. i'll check if there is a menu option to stop that.

PaulBx1 wrote:
The above boot dumped me at the prompt (with no warning message or anything, just the prompt). I had to type "xwin" twice to get fully up.


perhaps your boot used the last linld file to boot. i should make it normal in the next image. on my test machine i normally use pfix=ram,nox (that would perhaps result in the behavior you mention). the last linld file could have been something else that was really strange.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 8 [117 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0880s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]