Puppy Freezes after 'reboot' from Terminal session window

Please post any bugs you have found
Post Reply
Message
Author
halfmeg
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat 04 Aug 2007, 06:19

Puppy Freezes after 'reboot' from Terminal session window

#1 Post by halfmeg »

Open a terminal session window and enter the reboot command. You get a couple of lines about killing things and then Puppy freezes. You have to power off the computer to regain control.

This happens in 2.17 & 2.20.

Phil

User avatar
HairyWill
Posts: 2928
Joined: Fri 26 May 2006, 23:29
Location: Southampton, UK

#2 Post by HairyWill »

this is known about use wmreboot or wmpoweroff instead
Last edited by HairyWill on Fri 14 Sep 2007, 05:10, edited 1 time in total.
Will
contribute: [url=http://www.puppylinux.org]community website[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6c3nm6]screenshots[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/6j2gbz]puplets[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/57gykn]wiki[/url], [url=http://tinyurl.com/5dgr83]rss[/url]

halfmeg
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat 04 Aug 2007, 06:19

#3 Post by halfmeg »

Thanks, but the command line instruction should work without having to:

Oh yea, I'm on xyz distro now and it needs 'x^2-Y^3=4-reboot' before it works or otherwise freezes when using the standard command.

Perhaps a script change or two would get it working correctly. Like:

'xwin'

if [ "$WMEXITMODE" = "reboot" ];then
exec /sbin/reboot
fi

could become:

if [ "$WMEXITMODE" = "reboot" ];then
exec /sbin/reboot GUImode
fi

and 'reboot'

#!/bin/sh
/etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown
exec /bin/busybox reboot
could become:

#!/bin/sh
if arg(1) = 'GUImode'
/etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown
exec /bin/busybox reboot
else
wmreboot

or something similiar. This might not be the correct place or method to do this and it might not be the only place the GUImode argument would need to be added. It would permit native command line statements to work and hidden GUI commands to have the unique command formats.

Phil

halfmeg
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat 04 Aug 2007, 06:19

#4 Post by halfmeg »

And after a nap and a new look at it. The below substitution for reboot seems to work without changing anything else.

#!/bin/sh
if [ $0 <> "xwin" ]
then
wmreboot
fi
/etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown

exec /bin/busybox reboot

Phil

halfmeg
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat 04 Aug 2007, 06:19

#5 Post by halfmeg »

halfmeg wrote:And after a nap and a new look at it. The below substitution for reboot seems to work without changing anything else.
Ignore this last script as $0 will always be 'reboot' instead of the calling program. I was thinking about another system where we could determine the calling program.

Perhaps implementation of 'runlevel' in the next BusyBox for Puppy would provide a suficient check to see what to execute for proper shutdown.

Phil - gone until I'm off the meds

Post Reply