Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 23:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy Freezes after 'reboot' from Terminal session window
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
halfmeg

Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 13 Sep 2007, 04:16    Post_subject:  Puppy Freezes after 'reboot' from Terminal session window  

Open a terminal session window and enter the reboot command. You get a couple of lines about killing things and then Puppy freezes. You have to power off the computer to regain control.

This happens in 2.17 & 2.20.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Thu 13 Sep 2007, 04:38    Post_subject:  

this is known about use wmreboot or wmpoweroff instead
_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
halfmeg

Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 13 Sep 2007, 17:01    Post_subject:  

Thanks, but the command line instruction should work without having to:

Oh yea, I'm on xyz distro now and it needs 'x^2-Y^3=4-reboot' before it works or otherwise freezes when using the standard command.

Perhaps a script change or two would get it working correctly. Like:

'xwin'

if [ "$WMEXITMODE" = "reboot" ];then
exec /sbin/reboot
fi

could become:

if [ "$WMEXITMODE" = "reboot" ];then
exec /sbin/reboot GUImode
fi

and 'reboot'

#!/bin/sh
/etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown
exec /bin/busybox reboot
could become:

#!/bin/sh
if arg(1) = 'GUImode'
/etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown
exec /bin/busybox reboot
else
wmreboot

or something similiar. This might not be the correct place or method to do this and it might not be the only place the GUImode argument would need to be added. It would permit native command line statements to work and hidden GUI commands to have the unique command formats.

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
halfmeg

Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 13 Sep 2007, 20:23    Post_subject:  

And after a nap and a new look at it. The below substitution for reboot seems to work without changing anything else.

#!/bin/sh
if [ $0 <> "xwin" ]
then
wmreboot
fi
/etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown

exec /bin/busybox reboot

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
halfmeg

Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 14 Sep 2007, 17:53    Post_subject:  

halfmeg wrote:
And after a nap and a new look at it. The below substitution for reboot seems to work without changing anything else.

Ignore this last script as $0 will always be 'reboot' instead of the calling program. I was thinking about another system where we could determine the calling program.

Perhaps implementation of 'runlevel' in the next BusyBox for Puppy would provide a suficient check to see what to execute for proper shutdown.

Phil - gone until I'm off the meds
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0472s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]