TabletPC Digitizer Pen - how to make it work with Puppy?

Under development: PCMCIA, wireless, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
mdd
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri 03 Jun 2005, 00:16

Re: How about a dotpup?

#31 Post by mdd »

mdd wrote:Does anybody intend to do a tablet PC dotpup? I've got a Fujitsu Lifebook P1510, running Puppy 2.14, and would love to get the touchscreen working.
I just realized that my Lifebook is a touchscreen, not a wacom. Any clues on how to proceed for a touchscreen?

--MDD

User avatar
mdd
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri 03 Jun 2005, 00:16

Re: How about a dotpup?

#32 Post by mdd »

mdd wrote:
mdd wrote:Does anybody intend to do a tablet PC dotpup? I've got a Fujitsu Lifebook P1510, running Puppy 2.14, and would love to get the touchscreen working.
I just realized that my Lifebook is a touchscreen, not a wacom. Any clues on how to proceed for a touchscreen?
Never mind. I've solved it, and it was ridiculously easy. Just go to the following link, and follow the directions:

http://stz-softwaretechnik.com/~ke/touc ... eries.html

My touchscreen is now working like a dream!

--MDD

boklanio
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon 20 Aug 2007, 19:23

#33 Post by boklanio »

Hello all,

I installed Puppy 2.17 yesterday (It is actually my first Linux experience) on my Fujitsu Lifebook p1032 and I can't get the touchpanel working with it. I tried both variants (the easy one of yours and the difficult one with perl) but had no success so far.

Concerning the 1st one, I added all the parameters listed in the instruction at http://stz-softwaretechnik.com/~ke/touc ... eries.html and completed all the instructions except the last one. It's posted that it works only in Debian, so I wonder how to run it on Puppy if it's necessary...

Concerning the second one (perl method) I kept getting messages that X11GUITest module is missing in @INC so the script aborted after line 4 :(

I'm a complete newbie in Linux, so I apologize if I told something stupid :lol: In any case, can anyone please help me with diagnosing and solving it? Thank you in advance ;)

mogen317
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu 27 Dec 2007, 16:43

#34 Post by mogen317 »

Hey just giving this thread a bump because these instructions posted by lickthefrog2 worked for my fujitsu stylistic 4110 tablet computer.

I think somebody should add these instructions to one of the wiki's ive seen for pupppy linux

wilsonkins
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue 30 May 2006, 15:09

Making screen rotation work on Tablet PC's

#35 Post by wilsonkins »

Below are the scripts that I use to rotate the screen on my Toshiba Portege 400. The pen does not follow currently, but I think that is just because I do not have xsetwacom setup correctly.


Laptopmode
!/bin/sh

# Laptop Mode Script laptopmode.sh
# Made for the Toshiba Sattelite R15-S822
# Running Ubuntu Edgy Eft 6.10
#
# Last Updated: 11-18-2006
# Maintained by Justin "Linuturk" Phelps
# linuturk@gmail.com
#
# Move this script to /usr/local/bin
# Run 'sudo chmod +x laptop.sh'
# Reverses the effects of tabletpcmode.sh


xrandr -o normal && xsetwacom set stylus Rotate none
for dev in `xsetwacom list dev | sed -r {s/ +[a-z]*//}`; do
xsetwacom set $dev Rotate NONE
xsetwacom set $dev TopX 0
xsetwacom set $dev TopY 000
xsetwacom set $dev BottomX 24500
xsetwacom set $dev BottomY 18500
done
killall gok

Tabletmode
#!/bin/sh

# Tablet PC Mode Script tabletpcmode.sh
# Made for the Toshiba Sattelite R15-S822
# Running Ubuntu Edgy Eft 6.10
#
# Last Updated: 11-18-2006
# Maintained by Justin "Linuturk" Phelps
# linuturk@gmail.com
#
# Move this script to /usr/local/bin
# Run 'sudo chmod +x tabletpcmode.sh'
# Be sure laptopmode.sh is installed as well


xrandr -o right && xsetwacom set stylus Rotate CW
for dev in `xsetwacom list dev | sed -r {s/ +[a-z]*//}`; do
xsetwacom set $dev Rotate CW
xsetwacom set $dev TopX 0
xsetwacom set $dev TopY 0
xsetwacom set $dev BottomX 18500
xsetwacom set $dev BottomY 24500
done
#gok

Reversemode
#!/bin/bash

# Laptop Mode Script laptopmode.sh
# Made for the Toshiba Sattelite R15-S822
# Running Ubuntu Edgy Eft 6.10
#
# Last Updated: 11-18-2006
# Maintained by Justin "Linuturk" Phelps
# linuturk@gmail.com
#
# Move this script to /usr/local/bin
# Run 'sudo chmod +x laptop.sh'
# Reverses the effects of tabletpcmode.sh


xrandr -o inverted && xsetwacom set stylus Rotate half
for dev in `xsetwacom list dev | sed -r {s/ +[a-z]*//}`; do
xsetwacom set $dev Rotate HALF
xsetwacom set $dev TopX 000
xsetwacom set $dev TopY 000
xsetwacom set $dev BottomX 24500
xsetwacom set $dev BottomY 18500
done
killall gok

Hope the above helps. Willl let you know if I get the pen to follow.

CanisiusCanine

wilsonkins
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue 30 May 2006, 15:09

Pen works (fort of)

#36 Post by wilsonkins »

I downloaded the linuxwacom package from the previously mentioned site and installed from the prebuilt directory. Now the pen tracks when I rotate the display, however the "doubletap-leftclick" function doesn't work. Again, I think it is just a couple of settings with xsetwacom. I also need to get it so that the pen tracks properly when i use other than my default screen resolution.

CanisiusCanine

User avatar
lwill
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri 13 Jun 2008, 04:00
Location: City Of Lights
Contact:

#37 Post by lwill »

I have a "Progear" tablet with Puppy 2.17 and wanted a way of "left clicking" when using the stylus (no buttons). I hacked up a button (very ugly but works) starting with freememapplet, click on it and it swaps the left and right buttons on the "mouse" (buttons 1 and 3) If you try to use it with a mouse, you right click on it to switch, and left click on it to switch back (since the buttons are switched, left is now right)
I have no idea if it will work with other puppies. (use at own risk)
I'll post the modified source if anyone wants it.


Maybe someone else will find it useful?
Attachments
click2.gz
Mouse button switching applet.
(6.22 KiB) Downloaded 837 times
If it ain't broke, fix it till it is!

User avatar
DanYHKim
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon 15 Sep 2008, 01:51

Mobile M1300 tablet with Puppy - making the tablet work

#38 Post by DanYHKim »

lickthefrog2 wrote on Tue 20 Feb 2007"
In my case the preconfigured driver is in the 32 directory because my computer is 32-bit. Because my version of Puppy uses X11R7, all I had to do is copy the preconfigured driver, wacom_drv.so into the following directory: /usr/X11R7/lib/xorg/modules/input
Then he added some stuff to xorg.conf, restarted X, and everything worked.

I'm confused. I realize I'm getting here late, but I'd appreciate some help. I get confused by references to the Wacom Digitizer, because sometimes this seems to refer to an external tablet device and not a tablet PC.

So, what I think I know is
1. The M1300 tablet PC uses a Wacom device as its digitizer
2. This digitizer is a serial device using COM1
3. The digitizer does not just show up as a serial mouse for Puppy to use
4. The Linux driver for this device is conveniently available from the linuxwacom project's package
5. Installing this device driver involves copying a file or files to appropriate location(s) in the Puppy Linux filesystem
- The file is wacom_drv.so
- The location is /usr/X11R7/lib/xorg/modules/input
6. To let Puppy load up this driver on start, some text must be added to the xorg.conf file

So, is that right?

I tried this, as described in the post by lickthefrog2, and my mouse cursor occasionally moves at random over the screen when I tap it, but there's no pattern to it.

I noticed that the linuxwacom package, in the prebuilt "32" directory, has a bunch of files and folders in addition to the wacom_drv.so file. Should I put all these into /usr/X11R7/lib/xorg/modules/input ?

When I look at xorg.conf later on, I can't find my edits

Finally, to show how little I understand, what's "modprobe" do?

Thanks. On those occasions when I actually have made something work, I try to post an exhaustively detailed and organized set of instructions that bore people. I am pretty good with VMware and Puppy, for instance. This stuff is a mystery to me, and I can't get it to work using the steps that I am seeing in this thread. It's probably that I am missing something that normally "goes without saying" among people familiar with Linux. Just figure that I'm stupid, and give all the details.

Thank you

User avatar
DanYHKim
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon 15 Sep 2008, 01:51

M1300 Pen and Puppy

#39 Post by DanYHKim »

Posted about this at
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 030#599030

I haven't tried to do this from a clean installation of Puppy, so I am suddenly wondering if previous modifications of xorg.conf and rc.local may be involved as well. I'll see what I can do about making a clean install and trying again.

Environment:
Motion Computing M1300, "1000 MHz", 512 Mb RAM
Running Lucid Puppy 5.2.5 from a SD to IDE adapter

Key points are:

Download and install a wacom driver .pet package from:
http://www.browserloadofcoolness.com/so ... 6.30.5.pet

From terminal, type the commands:

Code: Select all

depmod
modprobe wacom_w8001 
This loads the appropriate driver.

Edit the xorg.conf file per iteration69's description, adding the three "Input Device" sections pertaining to wacom and the two "Server Layout" lines for "stylus" and "eraser".

Restart X server.

If I messed this up, I will post corrections after doing it all from scratch from a new install. I'm pretty sure this is an accurate description.

[EDIT Jan 25] I can now confirm that this works from a "clean" install of Lucid Pup 5.2.5

User avatar
greengeek
Posts: 5789
Joined: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 09:34
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

#40 Post by greengeek »

lwill wrote:I have a "Progear" tablet with Puppy 2.17 and wanted a way of "left clicking" when using the stylus (no buttons). I hacked up a button (very ugly but works) starting with freememapplet, click on it and it swaps the left and right buttons on the "mouse"
Thanks Iwill - just getting this thread on my watchlist as I have been intending to develop a method for handling multiple button emulation on a non-multitouch touchscreen. I hope to give your applet a try.

I know it's an old thread but this has become a pressing issue for Puppy. (no pun intended :-) )

Pelo

Medor could help about the subject

#41 Post by Pelo »

what i can tell here is that our french Linux expert has his Fujitsu Siemens running every day with Slaxen (Slacko 6.3.2). He added RAM for that (256MB was not enough)
I think he has a 'stylet ' to type on the screen. He uses XVkbd virtual Keyboard too.
Slacko 6.9.6.4 has drivers for on screen typing.

Post Reply